Originally posted by Macarto.chan:Cant u Look at above Post i have simple questions in one sentence, u cant understand? Like what is the role of a C3-Navigator? You dont understand Simpe english? Or u cant even read what i am posting at the moment?
C3 is C3. navigator is navigator. C3-navigator, i have no idea what you are talking about.
navigator role, being a navigator, helps the pilot in the navigational work, like plotting, the routing of the aircraft, taking into consideration the wind. They deal with both instrument flying and also VFR flying.
WSO Fighter operates the in flight weapon systems.
what they do is poles apart. and they are not pilots. they have no flying experience, although i understand that wso fighter does go through a little bit of flying practice, but not in a F16 platform.
i have no idea whether being a wso fighter or navigator will aid in your cross over to civil aviation, but i am sure with your attitude, it would be a bit difficult.
i am sure a little bit of politeness will get you a long way. cheers. =)
Originally posted by Macarto.chan:Cant u Look at above Post i have simple questions in one sentence, u cant understand? Like what is the role of a C3-Navigator? You dont understand Simpe english? Or u cant even read what i am posting at the moment?
This is by no means simple english. Simple english does not involve the using of caps on every other word. And I find it odd that for a person who is asking the question, you are the aggressive one. If u are looking for a fight, go other threads and do it. Not here.
And regarding your question, I have read somewhere that being a WSO (Fighter) helps a teeny weeny bit if your going over to commercial flying cos some of the stuff that they do is relevant. But as I said, its very little. Might as well try ur luck as a pilot.
There's no such thing as a C3-navigator.
It's called WSO(C3) and WSO(Nav) separately. WSO(C3) are air traffic controllers and WSO(Nav) are more like your flight engineers (not ground engineers though).
WSO(Fighter) is like your co-pilot on a 2-seater fighter and you are mainly responsible for launching the weapon package. (Correct me if I am wrong)
A WSO (Nav), as the name suggests, does the navigation and planning of flight routes aboard the C-130 and KC-135. I dunno if they operate aboard the helis. The WSO (Ftr) is the person who sits behind the pilot in the dual seater fighters like the F-16D or F-15SG. He's not exactly a co-pilot, but rather the one who controls most of the A2G weapons and some other stuff while the pilot flies the plane. He's also the overall mission commander, the one who plans the route and stuff.
As the saying goes, the WSO (Ftr) is the one doing all the work, while the pilot acts as the chauffeur. haha. Not exactly true, but u get the idea.
Hey guys...the thing is...i'm NOW a spec, got my 3 stripes in aug and recently i received a stunning call saying i passed my compass test which i took during bmt which is ard like jan-feb(how efficiency =.=) and ask me to go for pilot interview... some Qns:
Wat izzit that they ask during the interview? Cause to be honest...i know nuts abt flying and aircrafts
chopping rate high during interview?
chopping rate high during medical review?
If i got in but fail my AGC...will i stay as OCT or go back to my old unit as spec?
err medical review see what your body says lo...
oh yea one question... saw around that only certain ranks and above can actually fly the real thing, true or false?
Originally posted by dragoncloud:Hey guys...the thing is...i'm NOW a spec, got my 3 stripes in aug and recently i received a stunning call saying i passed my compass test which i took during bmt which is ard like jan-feb(how efficiency =.=) and ask me to go for pilot interview... some Qns:
Wat izzit that they ask during the interview? Cause to be honest...i know nuts abt flying and aircrafts
If i got in but fail my AGC...will i stay as OCT or go back to my old unit as spec?
yeah. u need to know abt aircrafts. so u have to go read up.
they'll test your communication skills leadership skills etc.
Originally posted by dragoncloud:Hey guys...the thing is...i'm NOW a spec, got my 3 stripes in aug and recently i received a stunning call saying i passed my compass test which i took during bmt which is ard like jan-feb(how efficiency =.=) and ask me to go for pilot interview... some Qns:
Heartiest congrats mate, an opportunity to earn the wing.
Reckon recruitment centre contact you via phone? Could you share as to when did they inform you of your compass result and when is your interview?
Regards
Nicolas.
Originally posted by teraexa:There's no such thing as a C3-navigator.
It's called WSO(C3) and WSO(Nav) separately. WSO(C3) are air traffic controllers and WSO(Nav) are more like your flight engineers (not ground engineers though).
WSO(Fighter) is like your co-pilot on a 2-seater fighter and you are mainly responsible for launching the weapon package. (Correct me if I am wrong)
There is a C3-Nav.. just that their intake is very small and rare.
KC-135 doesn't always have a navigator in them unless they are going long haul. Navigators are considered obsolete soon as more glass cockpit upgrades are available. Like the c130J does not need a navigator. Obviously in the commercial world, navigators are not needed anymore.
Originally posted by cydus21:There is a C3-Nav.. just that their intake is very small and rare.
KC-135 doesn't always have a navigator in them unless they are going long haul. Navigators are considered obsolete soon as more glass cockpit upgrades are available. Like the c130J does not need a navigator. Obviously in the commercial world, navigators are not needed anymore.
there is no C3-navigator.
there is WSO(C3) and WSO (navigator). there is no C3-navigator.
one last time.
THERE IS NO C3-NAVIGATOR!
hah. okay. hope that point is taken.
C3 is C3.. but C3 officers are seperated into air traffic and weapons.
Originally posted by dragoncloud:Wat izzit that they ask during the interview? Cause to be honest...i know nuts abt flying and aircrafts
Hey man are u getting ur interview on oct 7? Cos initially mine was on Sept 12, then delay and delay and delay until oct 7. Haiz...
The interview is mainly to gauge ur interest in the career and also on some basic knowledge of rsaf as a whole. Pretty easy to read up. Just make sure that this is what u want. Cos the bond is very very long. If u halfway want to give up, good luck to u.
The interview 'chop rate' isnt high. It will weed out people who are not interested, or know nuts about the air force. Just dont go there unprepared and u will be fine. About the chope rate of the medical, theres no real percentage. If u are healthy, u are. If u are unfit to fly, then sad for u. Just dont go to medical after u just recovered from a sickness. I did that last time for my syfc medical and I almost failed. haha
Anyway, I think that if u fail agc, u will be going back to ur unit as a spec, unless they let u go to ocs. I am not very sure about this. Cos its impossible for u to serve ur unit as an OCT. U are either a spec or an officer. The OCT rank is not exactly recognised by saf.
Anyway, good luck for ur interview, whenever it is. If its on the same day as mine, then c u there.
Mate,
Delay caused by recruitment centre? When were you informed of the interview?
If you read mine naggy post, am currently waiting for both 'mapas' & 'compass' results, waiting in anticipation.
Cheers.
Originally posted by bloodsucker:Hey man are u getting ur interview on oct 7? Cos initially mine was on Sept 12, then delay and delay and delay until oct 7. Haiz...
The interview is mainly to gauge ur interest in the career and also on some basic knowledge of rsaf as a whole. Pretty easy to read up. Just make sure that this is what u want. Cos the bond is very very long. If u halfway want to give up, good luck to u.
The interview 'chop rate' isnt high. It will weed out people who are not interested, or know nuts about the air force. Just dont go there unprepared and u will be fine. About the chope rate of the medical, theres no real percentage. If u are healthy, u are. If u are unfit to fly, then sad for u. Just dont go to medical after u just recovered from a sickness. I did that last time for my syfc medical and I almost failed. haha
Anyway, I think that if u fail agc, u will be going back to ur unit as a spec, unless they let u go to ocs. I am not very sure about this. Cos its impossible for u to serve ur unit as an OCT. U are either a spec or an officer. The OCT rank is not exactly recognised by saf.
Anyway, good luck for ur interview, whenever it is. If its on the same day as mine, then c u there.
My initial interview was on Sept 12. Then cos I couldnt make it on that day I pushed it to the 19. Then they smsed me and told me that it was pushed to Sept 30, which thereafter another delay to Oct 7. Pretty screwed up, I should say.
Perhaps recruitment center wanted arrange for several interviews for the day instead of the mere few. Anyhow, best wishes mate, same goes to dragoncloud, keep the composure and all will go well. Perhaps we may be batch mates if I get through! Cheers.
Originally posted by bloodsucker:My initial interview was on Sept 12. Then cos I couldnt make it on that day I pushed it to the 19. Then they smsed me and told me that it was pushed to Sept 30, which thereafter another delay to Oct 7. Pretty screwed up, I should say.
Originally posted by aviator-alien:
there is no C3-navigator.
there is WSO(C3) and WSO (navigator). there is no C3-navigator.
one last time.
THERE IS NO C3-NAVIGATOR!
hah. okay. hope that point is taken.
ooppss.. now tat i read the post correctly. sorry bout that!
Originally posted by bloodsucker:My initial interview was on Sept 12. Then cos I couldnt make it on that day I pushed it to the 19. Then they smsed me and told me that it was pushed to Sept 30, which thereafter another delay to Oct 7. Pretty screwed up, I should say.
Haha...mine should be on the 13th oct ...but they push it back...to next month
Yupz hope to see you guys oso...as pilot trainees
Originally posted by dragoncloud:
Haha...mine should be on the 13th oct ...but they push it back...to next month
Yupz hope to see you guys oso...as pilot trainees
Ah well the pilot selection board people really like to purposely arrange contrasting schedules... They screw up their schedules, end up we all also kena.
Yea hope the whole bunch of us same course. Then can go pearce tour arnd ya?
Well, we have to accomodate to their schedule as they single out the 'elites'!
Best wishes goes out to you bloodS, keep us posted on your status.
DragonC, your slot is scheduled in November?
oooh. lots of ppl awaiting interview. im waiting for mine too! im gonna finish my 'A's and then schedule an interview!
Hi there guys,
Thanks for all the information given here, just out of curiousity though, during the 21 months of basic and advanced wings course overseas, will you be overseas for the whole of the 21 month period? Or will there be holidays where you are allowed to fly back to sunny Singapore?
Cheers
Nousernametouse; that is a long one =p.. sent mine buddy off for bwc (6months) and he did not mention of any vacation break so i reckon trainees will only enjoy one upon course completion
Been weeks since last heard from recruitment centre!
Bloodsucker/dragoncloud; do hope all is well at your end
Cheers!
Originally posted by Nico|as:Nousernametouse; that is a long one =p.. sent mine buddy off for bwc (6months) and he did not mention of any vacation break so i reckon trainees will only enjoy one upon course completion
Been weeks since last heard from recruitment centre!
Bloodsucker/dragoncloud; do hope all is well at your end
Cheers!
if u haven heard from them for weeks, be sure to call them and check your status!
..very much like to but same time don't wanna bother them and end up being a menace; last call was about two weeks back and NSF officer mentioned he sent a mail to check on mine results (MAPAS) - reckon am the only one having to sit two tests! Uncertain if the board is available for interview this month and I hope to be able to sit in if so
What about yourself mate, awaiting interview?