and IIRC, all new SAF uniforms r pre-soaked with Permethrin
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permethrin
because when my ns time last time, when i 1st posted to the unit, csm gave us a concentrated solution of this and asked us to soak all our uniforms for a couple of hours, and air-dry them....
he said after several washing during bmt time, the effect had gone away... like a temporary hair dye thing...
i challenge you to apply SAF insect repellent on your skin like you would with a commercial insect repellent.
it is so strong that i was taught to apply it on the openings of your clothing like your collar, sleeve etc etc...
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:If there's any comfort, on the first night of my field camp, I woke up to a hell of a pain on my toe.
Turns out there was a monster ant tugging at my bleeding blister.
I flicked it out of my sight, turned out the torch and went back to sleep.
An hour or 2 later, I woke up with a weight on my leg, I switched on my torch and found a toad sitting on my leg.
I said WTF and went back to sleep.
you sleep without your boots?
i slept with my boots sticking out of the basha and hugging my rifle.
juz be worry when u go to an area near lim chu kang cemetry there and opp tengah airbase, the place is swarm with tiny fuc king ants espeically when u sleep above the dead leaves. tekong doesnt have much of these insects and the most u will see is when u dig ur own hole and sleep in it
WTF...which coy u in? I more worried about being fucked by my commanders and not performing well den insects. Worse...i scared of the blur cocks in my platoon...sure HONG KAN one.Next Wed grenade throw...I sure hope my commanders gt enuff insurance for putting their lives at stake for those few cocksters.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:you sleep without your boots?
I would have been risking infection from that blister mah....
Originally posted by kopiosatu:you sleep without your boots?
it would be better if u change socks 1st, then wear back boots to sleep.
but take out, insect like to go inside boots because got moisture, warmth, and dark. even so take out to sleep, morning, remember to shake it upside down for safety.
Think of them as butterflies or hamsters when u see one.
- violated the core value of 'care for soldiers' -
Originally posted by eac:and IIRC, all new SAF uniforms r pre-soaked with Permethrin
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permethrin
because when my ns time last time, when i 1st posted to the unit, csm gave us a concentrated solution of this and asked us to soak all our uniforms for a couple of hours, and air-dry them....he said after several washing during bmt time, the effect had gone away... like a temporary hair dye thing...
We also had Permethrin to soak our clothes. In fact, even before we had a pail which we share to dip our clothes in for 2mins each, I already bought a bottle of Permethrin on my own. I was already so worry about my field camp many weeks before because I know I have this problem and had began to research on what could help to prevent these. I also bought a 100% concentrated DEET solution insect repellent at a freaking expensive price.
Unfortunately, this Friday before my book out when I asked my PC if I could bring my own insect repellent, he told me that I could only bring the SAF insect repellent. I told him that my skin might be sensitive to the SAF insect repellent but was told again that I will need a doctor's letter to prove, which I don't and couldn't get it so quickly.
The other thing which disappoints me is that permethrin actually is only more effective to prevent mosquitoes. For other insects, it is not going to work as effective. Moreover, I read that many insects have gradually grow to be immune to permethrin.
I have thought of telling honestly to my PC that I have this problem but feel quite embrassing to do so and I remember he ever told us that in field camp if he ask us to take cover at a place even with a big spider, we cannot say we scare and must just go. So I decided to keep it to myself for the past few weeks.
Originally posted by rey619:- violated the core value of 'care for soldiers' -
Though the moderator has edited your message, I happened to read it just a few mins before it was edited.
I understand what you were trying to say and I do feel totally stupid and failure as a soldier for have such silly thing call entomophobia. Seriously, I knew I have this problem during my secondary school days and realised myself gradually becoming more crazy along the years when I see creepy crawlers flying into my room. During my CMPB check up all the way until the interview with PC, I didn't mention this at all because I thought first, it would be totally silly to tell the MO that I am afraid of insects. He is going to think I am a retard. Second, I didn't tell because I thought that isn't anything big deal as I don't know there is a field camp like this. Third, it is very very embarassing, for me at least, to tell people that a man is scare of insects.
Of course I hope I could overcome it. But I think what I worried most is I might get that overeaction again when I see or get near to those insects and do something wrong like misfire or hurt the people around me or myself. I don't want myself to go to jail, hurt my friends or myself just because of one small insect. It is just somehow or another, I will overact and don't even know what the hell I am doing until everything is over, and I will begin to tell myself "WTF do I have to behave that way?!".
lol..field camp u issued blanks can misfire n kill ppl ah? lol...
Originally posted by vEr5e:Though the moderator has edited your message, I happened to read it just a few mins before it was edited.
I understand what you were trying to say and I do feel totally stupid and failure as a soldier for have such silly thing call entomophobia. Seriously, I knew I have this problem during my secondary school days and realised myself gradually becoming more crazy along the years when I see creepy crawlers flying into my room. During my CMPB check up all the way until the interview with PC, I didn't mention this at all because I thought first, it would be totally silly to tell the MO that I am afraid of insects. He is going to think I am a retard. Second, I didn't tell because I thought that isn't anything big deal as I don't know there is a field camp like this. Third, it is very very embarassing, for me at least, to tell people that a man is scare of insects.
Of course I hope I could overcome it. But I think what I worried most is I might get that overeaction again when I see or get near to those insects and do something wrong like misfire or hurt the people around me or myself. I don't want myself to go to jail, hurt my friends or myself just because of one small insect. It is just somehow or another, I will overact and don't even know what the hell I am doing until everything is over, and I will begin to tell myself "WTF do I have to behave that way?!".
that guy is just another farming regular, and a toad in the well...
there are lots of phobias to be named of... u might want to see here: http://www.ojohaven.com/fun/phobias.html
Originally posted by kopiosatu:SAF insect repellant it very powerful leh
sure or not, the repellant doesn't seems to scare off mozzies.
Originally posted by FBI:
sure or not, the repellant doesn't seems to scare off mozzies.
I think the mosquitoes and insects at Tekong are already immune to many of our insect repellents. I have tried applying the SAF insect repellent before during my first few weeks. My skin feels a bit itchy after applying it and I still get a one or two stings from the mosquitoes. But of course it is better than not applying it.
I will be booking in today and will not get to book out anymore in the next 2 weeks until my field camp is over. I hope I won't get any extra confinements or what so ever punishments through out the field camp for overacting over an insect. And I hope it doesn't rain too much and there will be no centipedes especially. The shellscrape thing is one thing that worries me a lot because I am sure digging the ground inside is going to have a lot of insects there and worst, I have to sleep in it. I hope those insects won't go into my shirt or shoes or just any way closer to me. How I wish I could bring pesticide there...But can't because we are not allowed to bring any commercial products for field camp.
Anyways, I hope I'll survive through and stay alive from the insects. I will update this thread when I get to book out again in 2 weeks time. Thanks everyone for their comments.
if u really wan to bring then smuggle ur way in...juz make sure u dun get caught...got lots of ways one la...hidden pouches in lbv...strap to somewhere on ur lbv using black tape...field packs..hidden in ur 10 pack or something...in a coy size of 200 it is nearly impossible to do a 100% check on everyone...but at ur own risk la...
I have already asked my PC about it and was not allowed. If I still smuggle my way in and got found out, I think I will be in serious trouble because it is not as if I didn't know I can't bring it.
And I wouldn't want to do a re-field camp thing because it might really drive me crazy. This one time field camp is already driving me crazy enough even though it is still one week away from it. I am like buying many tubes of SAF insect repellents and hopefully they let me bring in more than one tube. Otherwise, I am wasting even more money and making me more worried than ever.
Hi there fellow soldier,dun be afraid,ure nt alone.
i also had phobia to worms ( yea only worms,caterpillar/millipedes ) however im ok wid spiders.i also had aquaphobia ( scare of water ).but as a infantry rifleman,i lan lan had to do rivercrossing,coastal hooking,jumping off m113 into river,swimming.until now im still afraid of water but my platoon mates noes so its still quite safe,althou i had trouble breathing normally and will panic when im in water,but still i manage to complete all the stupid water stuff.
as for insects,i dun tink u will see much except ants and mosquito.the rest i dun tink singapore have everywhere like giant spider,big worms.unless ure talking about brunei,ants the size of 50 cent coin,super long millipede around 20cm and flying noisy but cute cicada.
dun worry too much,i use to had the same tinking as u,but over time i grew out of the gear,but now im still afraid of water and worms,but nt as bad as last time
dont worry lah. what can they REALLY do? most to most ask u to give it to them. or u can apply tons of it on you before you move out for field camp. just a suggestion.
Originally posted by vEr5e:I think the mosquitoes and insects at Tekong are already immune to many of our insect repellents. I have tried applying the SAF insect repellent before during my first few weeks. My skin feels a bit itchy after applying it and I still get a one or two stings from the mosquitoes. But of course it is better than not applying it.
I will be booking in today and will not get to book out anymore in the next 2 weeks until my field camp is over. I hope I won't get any extra confinements or what so ever punishments through out the field camp for overacting over an insect. And I hope it doesn't rain too much and there will be no centipedes especially. The shellscrape thing is one thing that worries me a lot because I am sure digging the ground inside is going to have a lot of insects there and worst, I have to sleep in it. I hope those insects won't go into my shirt or shoes or just any way closer to me. How I wish I could bring pesticide there...But can't because we are not allowed to bring any commercial products for field camp.
Anyways, I hope I'll survive through and stay alive from the insects. I will update this thread when I get to book out again in 2 weeks time. Thanks everyone for their comments.
jus fuk it and slp in it.. the only way to overcome. u won;t relaly get confinement unless u misfire and such.
day 2 of field camp i remember opening my fieldpack to see a spider the size of my palm.. no kidding.. i chua sai.. me and my buddy kick my fieldpack down den the spider tried to escape den we trampled it to death..lol..
anw the waiting and the stuff all will tire u out so much i think u wun be bothered by such stuff liao..
oh ya.. why not put powder ard ur basha? i rmb my platoon two malay bois damn funny.. they also abit scared insect or sth i think.. they sprinkled one round of powder ard their basha.. maybe thats y the spider came to my side..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:day 2 of field camp i remember opening my fieldpack to see a spider the size of my palm.. no kidding.. i chua sai.. me and my buddy kick my fieldpack down den the spider tried to escape den we trampled it to death..lol..
anw the waiting and the stuff all will tire u out so much i think u wun be bothered by such stuff liao..
oh ya.. why not put powder ard ur basha? i rmb my platoon two malay bois damn funny.. they also abit scared insect or sth i think.. they sprinkled one round of powder ard their basha.. maybe thats y the spider came to my side..
like trying to ward off evil or smth..
well TS is trying to ward off "evil" here wat.. but TS must make sure there's no creatures inside the area of the basha before pouring the "powder circle" if not everything will be stuck inside the circle LOL..
Originally posted by vEr5e:I think the mosquitoes and insects at Tekong are already immune to many of our insect repellents. I have tried applying the SAF insect repellent before during my first few weeks. My skin feels a bit itchy after applying it and I still get a one or two stings from the mosquitoes. But of course it is better than not applying it.
Just to keep those people who responded to this thread, I have just completed my 6 days field camp and 3 days SIT test outfield training. So this will kind of be the only two outfield training I will have in BMT(I hope so...).
I would consider myself very lucky throughout my 6 days field camp because I didn't get a single drop of rain throughout the 6 days. The sun was scotching and it was very hot. During my shell scrape days, my position was very lucky because my location had not much creepy crawlers. I see a lot of ants and some small insects that looked a bit like roaches but it is not. I just use my ET stick to flip the entire soil with the insect away. One of my friends, he saw a one palm big dead green lizard under the ground while digging. I was like WTF. Many of my friends had earthworms all around their shell scrape and they had to sleep with those worms. I could remember my worst one would be a bee flying loudly beside me for the whole of my sand two. I was so stupidly annoyed that I secretly move one of my hands to my grenade pouch and took out my insect repellent and start squeezing to the air while my other hand is holding to my rifle. The bee is just not scare of the SAF insect repellent. haha...
During SIT test, it rained heavily on the second night. My basha tent was flooded and I was quite traumatize when I go back to see my tent after the rain. That night, I didn't sleep well at all because all my stuff are wet. Apparently, during SIT test, there were more creepy crawlers in the area. Many of my friends were bitten by centipedes while sleeping.
Throughout the outfield training, I applied the SAF insect repellent and found that it doesn't seem to work at all. I still get a lot of mosquitoes bites and I still see insects. The SAF insect repellent is only spoiling my things. I applied on areas like my socks and my hands. But in the end, because my socks are near to my boots, it somewhat made the top part of my boots to melt and because it is some kind of rubber leather material, it is very sticky. As for my hands, the repellent got some on my watch and I realise the texture of my watch is very rough after that.
All in all, I think I didn't regret going through the field camp though I was very worried previously and was very tired throughout the field camp. But of course if you were to ask me to do it again, I would definitely say NO. haha!
And thanks for those who had encouraged and took your time to reply to this thread. Thanks!
hoorah, locked and loaded