1) After Forfeit $75000 to Skip NS, Can i Still live in SG as PR ? (I am PR at the first place)
2) Can I still get My Citizenship in any other way if i skip NS?
you think you deserve that PR or citizenship?
i think u can.
if u are a PR now and liable for NS, just move to some other countries and return back to SG when u reach 25 or more.. and re-apply for PR and then citizenship.
Originally posted by fishbuff1:i think u can.
if u are a PR now and liable for NS, just move to some other countries and return back to SG when u reach 25 or more.. and re-apply for PR and then citizenship.
after all your tirades in SC, you give advice like this?
besides, wrong..
mostly, once you have renounced your PR status, you'll almost certainly never get it back again
When u apply PR it will depend if u got kena mark by any govt body or not lor. If u skip NS or refuse to do NS by paying off, you think there is no bad mark?
Originally posted by JTRSpade:1) After Forfeit $75000 to Skip NS, Can i Still live in SG as PR ? (I am PR at the first place)
y not just go back to your own country and be content with your lot instead of spending so much time and money to get pr or citizenship. or u wanna test each country's pr status, see which one has the most benefits before settling down at the one u like?
Originally posted by JTRSpade:1) After Forfeit $75000 to Skip NS, Can i Still live in SG as PR ? (I am PR at the first place)
yes you can .... and I can help you with it .... here ....
but personally, I think we have too many bakpos around at changi already, and need not import any more ....
Originally posted by Fatum:yes you can .... and I can help you with it .... here ....
but personally, I think we have too many bakpos around at changi already, and need not import any more ....
They dun seem to be around Changi anymore i think.. Or they got another hiding place alr? lol..
Originally posted by superlibra:
They dun seem to be around Changi anymore i think.. Or they got another hiding place alr? lol..
I dunno ... and I don't give a flying fark .... they used to like to kar chiau when we pass by around that area on our route marches .....
in anycase, anyone who doesn't wish to serve NS can PM me .....
I have the solution .... free ....
it's better than going to a surgeon and getting it removed for a few thousand dollars .....
grow your own breasts though ....
too bad. just do and fuck off. You will get those easy vocations
source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Service_in_Singapore
1)
Male children who take up permanent residency status through their permanent resident parent's sponsorship will be required to serve National Service like other Singaporean males (2nd Gen). However, foreigners who take up jobs in Singapore or become permanent residents of Singapore will not be required to serve National Service. (1st Gen)
PR status will be void and and forfeited.
2) If u do NS, there will be some sort of a "SG citizenship priority form" from the unit chief clerk whereby u r given better standing for SG citizen. (like the same for advanced standing for university entry.)
Male children who are granted Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) status under their parents' sponsorship are liable for national service (NS) upon reaching 16½ years old. NS-liable SPRs are expected to serve NS.
Renouncing SPR status without serving or completing NS may adversely impact future applications to work or study in Singapore.
After cancellation of SPR status, a Short Visit Pass valid for a month is usually granted. Former Singapore Permanent Residents who wish to continue to study or work in Singapore must apply for a student, work or employment pass from the appropriate authority. As noted above, the decision to renounce permanent residence may have an adverse impact on applications for work or student passes.
A former SPR may be granted entry to Singapore as an ordinary social visitor upon his / her return to Singapore, subject to Singapore's entry requirements, which include holding a valid passport with at least six months validity, entry visas (if applicable), confirmed return / onward tickets, sufficient funds for the period of stay in Singapore and entry facilities, including visas, to their onward destinations. Decision to admit the traveler is at the discretion of Immigration & Checkpoints Authority officers at the time of arrival at Singapore checkpoints.
I have sign up for NS after receiving the "Red letter", which seriously stated COMPULSORY. I have regretted for signing up after knowning that actually I can choose not to, which I was not informed at the first place.
I am choosing to migrate to other country where i can further my studies, instead of wasting my 2 yrs in NS. How do I cancel my registration now? It's ok even i have to give up my PR.
Please Reply according to the topic, dont try to mix up your emotions with the problem issue, which i found that many of the people here did. If the topic is too sensitive to you, please kindly keep your comments.
i have met afew chinese families here in oz; HKers, PRCs and MY... all had stayed in SG before between 7-10 years. upper middle income groups and all have PRs in SG.
They left SG when their sons turn 6, 12 or just in the nick of time.
we singaporeans still quite straight when come to obedience to laws. we are trained to obey; no if, buts or otherwise.
the emigrants on the other hand, think like lawyers, finding loopholes and backdoors in the clause to overcome the ruling. i must say that they are really street smart. that is something we singaporeans need to learn from them.
Originally posted by the Bear:
after all your tirades in SC, you give advice like this?besides, wrong..
mostly, once you have renounced your PR status, you'll almost certainly never get it back again
for people with other nationalities, yes you can. i have seen that several times in some companies that i had worked before; indians, PRCs etc.
but not for singaporeans. once surrendered, ICA wont accept u back.
u can confirm this with ICA if you want to,
Originally posted by JTRSpade:I have sign up for NS after receiving the "Red letter", which seriously stated COMPULSORY. I have regretted for signing up after knowning that actually I can choose not to, which I was not informed at the first place.
I am choosing to migrate to other country where i can further my studies, instead of wasting my 2 yrs in NS. How do I cancel my registration now? It's ok even i have to give up my PR.
Please Reply according to the topic, dont try to mix up your emotions with the problem issue, which i found that many of the people here did. If the topic is too sensitive to you, please kindly keep your comments.
And you do not for a moment imagine that it would be an emotive issue for other people ? ..... are you deluded ? .....
do you know why you pissed other people off, really ? ... it is NOT that you do not want to serve NS, .... BUT the fact that you are STILL looking for ways and means of enjoying the rights and privileges of being a PR and citizen here, without paying the price ....
you know what a parasite is ? .... I think you are one ....
and yes you can .... you can renounce your PR anytime .... please expedite the process as quick as possible, before you get into NS, I don't want my tax dollars to be wasted on your uniform, your allowance, and feeding you during your NS ....
and let us know again ... so we can wish you good riddance ...
TS,
1. PR once forfeited through such means, is unlikely to be reinstated as there is a mark against your record.
2. No, you may not. If you are a 2nd generation PR, citizenship is a process after completion of NS. Should you choose to leave and forfeit your bond, you may be arrested upon return if you are detected upon arrival, and that pretty much destroys any chance of citizenship.
If you want to get the citizenship, serve NS. There's no free lunch.
(Thread locked to prevent further emotive flaming.)