Originally posted by Call4ljw:
I want to know how people get to that rank.
they work their arse off lor. there are 2 kinds, farmers and scholars. farmers = slowly work their way up thru real hard work and results. scholars = study and get promoted.
o.0
today in straits time, got one interview with this COL who got award.......36-year old become COL liao!!!!! wtf??!!!!!
must have been a super-ace scholar and promote around 1 rank every 2 - 3 years......last time my OC at age 30 still CPT, which is quite the norm.....
if people at age 36 already COL, that means around:
-20 yrs old, he sign-on as 2LT during NS
-22 yrs old promote to LTA
-24 yrs old become CPT
-26 yrs old become MAJ
-29 yrs old become LTC
-32 yrs old become COL
the only reason why he didn't become BG is probably cos' of the capacity and cannot anyhow promote to BG.
anyway, from my observations, you can easily tell which officer will rise to rank of COL or higher.
if you see those officers at 28 - 30+ yrs old still CPT, they will get stuck at MAJ rank even when they retire.
for those who already get MAJ at early 30, they have very high chance to get up to LTC during late 30s - early 40s, and become COs......
if they are lucky, at early-40s, will become COL and late 40s - early 50s, become BG.
anyway, i don't have any confidence in our generals.
in fact, i have more confidence in the lower ranking officers because they seem to be "on the ground" more. Those generals in SAF everyday see them get awards, give out awards, media photo shoots, glorious magazine interviews etc....haiz....
in other countries, like USA especially, their generals can be described as "grow up by eating wars".....Chi1 Zan4 Zhang3 Da4.
i think SG really focus too much on paper and academia liao.....i don't see how a studious nerd who scores 15 distinctions for his MBA degree is able to lead a country in war.
considering how fair and gentle they are, they really look more like doctors than rugged generals.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:today in straits time, got one interview with this COL who got award.......36-year old become COL liao!!!!! wtf??!!!!!
must have been a super-ace scholar and promote around 1 rank every 2 - 3 years......last time my OC at age 30 still CPT, which is quite the norm.....
if people at age 36 already COL, that means around:
-20 yrs old, he sign-on as 2LT during NS
-22 yrs old promote to LTA
-24 yrs old become CPT
-26 yrs old become MAJ
-29 yrs old become LTC
-32 yrs old become COL
the only reason why he didn't become BG is probably cos' of the capacity and cannot anyhow promote to BG.
anyway, from my observations, you can easily tell which officer will rise to rank of COL or higher.
if you see those officers at 28 - 30+ yrs old still CPT, they will get stuck at MAJ rank even when they retire.
for those who already get MAJ at early 30, they have very high chance to get up to LTC during late 30s - early 40s, and become COs......
if they are lucky, at early-40s, will become COL and late 40s - early 50s, become BG.
anyway, i don't have any confidence in our generals.
in fact, i have more confidence in the lower ranking officers because they seem to be "on the ground" more. Those generals in SAF everyday see them get awards, give out awards, media photo shoots, glorious magazine interviews etc....haiz....
in other countries, like USA especially, their generals can be described as "grow up by eating wars".....Chi1 Zan4 Zhang3 Da4.
i think SG really focus too much on paper and academia liao.....i don't see how a studious nerd who scores 15 distinctions for his MBA degree is able to lead a country in war.
considering how fair and gentle they are, they really look more like doctors than rugged generals.
depends on the plan they sign. if im not wrong, heard that can go up to min. LTC if u nv screw up.
depends on what generals u talking about. if u say scholars, i got nth to say. but i've seen some farmer generals. alot of ppl here will agree with me that there are some really good ones out there. like the ex 9 div and 2pdf commander. the next up and coming one is col lee wei cheng. very sure he can be next chief commando officer. col lee earn the respect of alot of ppl on the ground.
maybe u just didnt happen to meet a good general yet that's y u have such a thought. but trust me, those that i've named are really nice. the current 3 div(or is it 6 div) commander, col ishak also not bad.
Originally posted by Unknown_X:depends on the plan they sign. if im not wrong, heard that can go up to min. LTC if u nv screw up.
depends on what generals u talking about. if u say scholars, i got nth to say. but i've seen some farmer generals. alot of ppl here will agree with me that there are some really good ones out there. like the ex 9 div and 2pdf commander. the next up and coming one is col lee wei cheng. very sure he can be next chief commando officer. col lee earn the respect of alot of ppl on the ground.
maybe u just didnt happen to meet a good general yet that's y u have such a thought. but trust me, those that i've named are really nice. the current 3 div(or is it 6 div) commander, col ishak also not bad.
Which camp do you mean?
Originally posted by Call4ljw:Which camp do you mean?
i don't get u
Originally posted by Rednano:
to be appointed as appointment holders... got system one...
like some appointment cant find a 2LT to take over, find a 2WO...
thats y some bmt coys r warrant officer coys...
e.g. 2LT = 2WO, LTA = 1WO, CPT = MWO, MAJ = SWO.
non-commission warrant officers really can covert over to commission officers de meh?
got such a system in place ar?
Originally posted by the_fallen:non-commission warrant officers really can covert over to commission officers de meh?
got such a system in place ar?
yes
Originally posted by Unknown_X:
i don't get u
I mean which camp are you talking about?
Originally posted by fatone:yes
so does it means that only warrant officers who have reached Senior Warrant Position than can covert or 2WO already can covert?
Originally posted by the_fallen:
Originally posted by the_fallen:so does it means that only warrant officers who have reached Senior Warrant Position than can covert or 2WO already can covert?
2WO can convert to 2LT. 1WO convert to LTA... and so on for the rest corresponding... MWO and SWO r rarer, officers MAJ and above a plenty in ratio to WOs. so got more lau jiao face.
beside retire age, not forgetting the pay cut difference... in the long run, WOs r paid more than their corresponding commissioned officer rank counterparts...
2WO can convert to 2LT. 1WO convert to LTA... and so on for the rest corresponding...
beside retire age, not forgetting the pay cut difference... in the long run, WOs r paid more than their corresponding commissioned officer rank counterparts...
heard of it before but these days nobody does that due to the differences of retirement age between WO & Officers. Anyway who wants to be a 38/40/42yr old 2LT or LTA?
Originally posted by Man!x:heard of it before but these days nobody does that due to the differences of retirement age between WO & Officers. Anyway who wants to be a 38/40/42yr old 2LT or LTA?
the famous ones r last time in the early 90s, WO1 "Tiger Hong" converted to CPT upon retirement in honourary. and other WO also same as him...
Originally posted by Call4ljw:I mean which camp are you talking about?
i not talking abt camp, but units. u havent enlist?
Originally posted by Stucktoes:SWO can promote to MAJ, but seldom get to because commissioned officers end at 45yrs old, while SWO is like 55 years old, my superior told me something like that before. I forgot what is it but something to do with age.
Anyway, the BG in my camp is only 36yrs old.
yup, till 55. but provided u perform. and what camp are u in? very young bg leh.
the famous ones r last time in the early 90s, WO1 "Tiger Hong" converted to CPT upon retirement in honourary. and other WO also same as him...
samsudin?
Originally posted by Unknown_X:
Originally posted by Stucktoes:Anyway he is now the boss of ST electronics. Sometimes he happy he wear number 4 walk around, but seldom see him wear.
who is this person u talking about?
2WO can convert to 2LT. 1WO convert to LTA... and so on for the rest corresponding... MWO and SWO r rarer, officers MAJ and above a plenty in ratio to WOs. so got more lau jiao face.
If i remember correctly,last time 30sce got one warrant officer convert to Maj.
he became the b2ic. but don't think he is SWO
my ex unit CO is COL,which i tink he is around 40...
but for 4 stars general,oni SG bo leh !!!
Originally posted by Itedino:Wtf. Officer big fuck ah. I screw his career up if he lau lan.
I am civilian.
Put a live round in his personnal belonging.
Originally posted by shinkansen:
Put a live round in his personnal belonging.
You might get in trouble if discovered.
Civilian V.S Army = Civilian win
so only civilian can do something for NS guys.
Spam complains! ^^
civilian complain = that officer die ^^