http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/367702/1/.html
frankly speaking, e officer i/c should also be held accountable
Investigations ongoing in case of NS man who left camp with pyrotechnics
By Imelda Saad, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 13 August 2008 2042 hrs
SINGAPORE : The 18-year-old youth caught carrying military drill pyrotechnics or thunderflashes outside the army camp may face a charge of "dishonest misappropriation of Singapore Armed Forces property".
Under the SAF Act, this carries a penalty of up to 7 years in jail.
Police arrested the full-time National Service man at Boat Quay while conducting anti-crime rounds in the early hours of National Day.
When ignited, thunderflashes mimic battlefield blasts, and can cause injuries if exploded near a person.
It is not known how the youth had smuggled the thunderflashes out of camp and what he planned to do with them.
The police and Ministry of Defence are investigating the incident. - CNA /ls
My friend kp to me about having to return to camp on NDP day with his ticket.
he can make friends with dave teo liao!
hmmm, poor guy.
did something wrong and got caught.
gg.
will anyone be caught with a 84 at taka one day?
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):will anyone be caught with a 84 at taka one day?
that one a bit the difficult to smuggle out of camp leh ....
crazy sia... 84..
anyway the officer should have ensure all the firing cap get accounted for..
Originally posted by cuddles:crazy sia... 84..
tat's why
he or she is e one tat signed off... even though it's not as serious as e one who got caught, it's still negliance for just signing it off
Originally posted by cuddles:crazy sia... 84..
thunderflashes ... a bit difficult to count lor ...
Okay.... what did this stupid moron plan to do with the thunderflashes?
Originally posted by Fatum:thunderflashes ... a bit difficult to count lor ...
though so, still gotta conduct checks ma
Originally posted by Fatum:that one a bit the difficult to smuggle out of camp leh ....
hmmm.. try try lah.... wear full SBO gear.. then carry it... like going out for exercise like that lor...... if guard ask where u going.. just say encik tekan u lor.. ask u to carry 84 for route march lor..... get another siao kia to carry GPMG also lor..
Originally posted by sbst275:
though so, still gotta conduct checks ma
short of strip searching everyone after an exercise, there is NOTHING to prevent someone determined to smuggle something out ! .....
it's farking ridiculous that other chaps will have to go down with this little fark through no fault of their own ....
I think it's an unhealthy blame culture ....
Originally posted by Fatum:thunderflashes ... a bit difficult to count lor ...
can one.. last time my unit.. lose the cap, after exercise all go find. the person who lost it sign extras..
so we seldom have this problem.. lol
Originally posted by Fatum:short of strip searching everyone after an exercise, there is NOTHING to prevent someone determined to smuggle something out ! .....
it's farking ridiculous that other chaps will have to go down with this little fark through no fault of their own ....
Still at least you've done your part on searching + giving a verbal warning if anyone is caught found w/ restricted items
I've heard of cases where e officer i/c just signed off and left for home
Originally posted by sbst275:
Still at least you've done your part on searching + giving a verbal warning if anyone is caught found w/ restricted itemsI've heard of cases where e officer i/c just signed off and left for home
Thunderflash, like blanks, are expendible..
you light, you throw.. kablooey!!
check what?
anyway, the guy who smuggled them out is a dimwit..
you want something like that, you can make them easily...
His NS period extended by another few years.
Feel like it is a bit over parionoid. To recall everyone back for search etc. Thunderflash and blanks used to be those ammo that can be used in exercises outside live firing area. Remember last time when the news on Sunday would announce certain areas would have SAF activities for the week, they always include: "Blanks and Thunderflashes may be used". Those areas announced includes rural areas that still have functioning villages and open to the general public. Yup, it is wrong to take it out on your own, sort of like stealing SAF property. But to say till like taking out very dangerous explosive seems more like a case of over sensationising by the press.
Originally posted by Fatum:short of strip searching everyone after an exercise, there is NOTHING to prevent someone determined to smuggle something out ! .....
Originally posted by cairocks:Feel like it is a bit over parionoid. To recall everyone back for search etc. Thunderflash and blanks used to be those ammo that can be used in exercises outside live firing area. Remember last time when the news on Sunday would announce certain areas would have SAF activities for the week, they always include: "Blanks and Thunderflashes may be used". Those areas announced includes rural areas that still have functioning villages and open to the general public. Yup, it is wrong to take it out on your own, sort of like stealing SAF property. But to say till like taking out very dangerous explosive seems more like a case of over sensationising by the press.
btw.. when i was doing my NS, the maniac regulars in my unit used to modify the blanks they pick up at the exercise area.. and the shot at things.. one of them shot and killed a crow...
MG blanks, or the dinky little plastic blanks ? ...
the plastic blanks are so bad, they sound like a little wet fart sometimes ....
Originally posted by storywolf:
The only deterrent is heavy punishment if he is caught !!! - send this sucker to jail for a few years ...after that no more idiots will even dare to try it.
7 years not long enough?or the 18 year old not smart enough?
Originally posted by Xcert:7 years not long enough?or the 18 year old not smart enough?
Another case of testing water
he'll nvr get to see his pink i/c for a much longer period of time..
Originally posted by Fatum:MG blanks, or the dinky little plastic blanks ? ...
the plastic blanks are so bad, they sound like a little wet fart sometimes ....
both types..
they got yelled at by the PC and BC before for brandishing the GPMG and using the bloody thing to shoot their modified blanks
some of the regulars were mad..
these guys used to charter a boat then go to the live-firing areas for fishing, only getting out when chased away by the PCG or navy