Just seeking some advice from those runners who can achieve 9.44, how do you go about training up for the 2.4 km run? What is your training regime like? How do you build up your 2.4km stamina from scratch? I'm trying to achieve 9.44 so I can get my gold but my stamina always fails me... :(
go search.. got lots of this topic...
Originally posted by -Wanderer-:Just seeking some advice from those runners who can achieve 9.44, how do you go about training up for the 2.4 km run? What is your training regime like? How do you build up your 2.4km stamina from scratch? I'm trying to achieve 9.44 so I can get my gold but my stamina always fails me... :(
jog long long -> build endurance, pace, boarden steps, breathing
(sprint 30secs, jog 60secs) x do 10 sets -> build stamina, sprint speed
open steps forward but dun lift ur legs too high -> fatigue fast. drink glucosin b4 run.
breathing style -> 2 short inhale via nose, 1 puff exhale via mouth -> maximise use of oxygen in each breath to lungs.
Secrets of passing your IPPT & NAPFA
Try to run maybe everyday? Or at least 3-4 times a week. Dont stop, dont give up. U can go running at night if it helps. I find it more useful cos its cooler and there's less pollution. And if it helps build the same amt of stamina but with better running conditions, y not? I find that running in the morning after raining also very shiok cos damn cooling.
But I'm not really super runner lah so I shldnt be giving too much comments haha.
running under 9.44 has nothing much to do with endurance. though endurance does play a part but not much. intensity is the word.
fartleks as rednano mentioned do help you to achieve your 9.44 aim. of course when you train you don't train 2.4. you train with 5km. this is to ensure should you be 'out of form' for that you you know you can still achieve the ideal timing.
if you can maintain and keep up with the intensity, congrats! you're on your way to break the 9.44 barrier. what i think you need is a pacer in front of you. someone who can definately run 9.44 and follow him
Since TS says you're weak at stamina, you should work in improving your mileage.
Mileage refers to the maximum distance your body can clock. For instance, if ur furthest distance at one run is 2.4km, then your body mileage is 2.4km.
To be able to ace a 2.4km, 10km, 21km or even marathon 42km, our body needs to clock the mileage of at least twice the actual race distance.
This is to ensure our optimal cadio capacity dont limit only at the race distance and as such allowing us to run with greater ease during the actual distance.
Increased mileage = Run with greater ease = Able to increase pace = Better timing
So, if you wanna do very well in 2.4km, you must have run 4.8kms at one go at least once a week. Filtering in 4-5 other sessions of easy runs, intervals etc. Since 2.4km is on track, u may wish to try running actual 6 rounds twice per week or more to stimulate the test day itself to prepare psychologically.
Chris1988 pointed out a good point.
After gaining sufficient mileage, running below 9.44 is not totally endurance but more of speed works.
To increase your speed for 2.4km, interval training helps.
eg: Simple Interval = 8X400 (with rest time btwn each set no longer than your previous set of 400m timing)
Also, if u reached 9.44 eventually, congrats but dont stop the momentum. Once a person stops running for 1 week, his Personal Best (PB) timing will drop drastically. So dont waste all the hard effort; even easy runs can help to maintain your timings.
Fundamentally, work on mileage first before gaining progress on speed.
All the best!
Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:Since TS says you're weak at stamina, you should work in improving your mileage.
Mileage refers to the maximum distance your body can clock. For instance, if ur furthest distance at one run is 2.4km, then your body mileage is 2.4km.
To be able to ace a 2.4km, 10km, 21km or even marathon 42km, our body needs to clock the mileage of at least twice the actual race distance.
This is to ensure our optimal cadio capacity dont limit only at the race distance and as such allowing us to run with greater ease during the actual distance.
Increased mileage = Run with greater ease = Able to increase pace = Better timing
So, if you wanna do very well in 2.4km, you must have run 4.8kms at one go at least once a week. Filtering in 4-5 other sessions of easy runs, intervals etc. Since 2.4km is on track, u may wish to try running actual 6 rounds twice per week or more to stimulate the test day itself to prepare psychologically.
Chris1988 pointed out a good point.
After gaining sufficient mileage, running below 9.44 is not totally endurance but more of speed works.
To increase your speed for 2.4km, interval training helps.
eg: Simple Interval = 8X400 (with rest time btwn each set no longer than your previous set of 400m timing)
Also, if u reached 9.44 eventually, congrats but dont stop the momentum. Once a person stops running for 1 week, his Personal Best (PB) timing will drop drastically. So dont waste all the hard effort; even easy runs can help to maintain your timings.
Fundamentally, work on mileage first before gaining progress on speed.All the best!
isnt this the same as my explainations...?
(my BMT last time trainings:
AGR - Ability Group Run and 30:60, 60:90 (Sprint:Jog))
but u work out the calculation details though...
Just trying to clarify things and help TS.
Cheers.
Thanks guys! Really appreciate the advice! :)
alamak. my personal best is only 9.45. hence i cant comment. lol.