I hope this is relevant. But I am 18 this yr and enlisting next year.
I am several queries regarding life in NS.
I heard BMT is only 2 weeks now, and after that we are allowed to book out every day after 5pm? I've also heard from seniors, or see some people who recently enlisted into NS being quite slack/free after half a year (or maybe several months). They are able to take stuff like driving etc..
Basically I'm asking this because my parents has allowed me to start learning cello after my Alevels. Which means, I learn for one month and then enter NS. Will I still have ample time to practice in this case? do I get to book out to practice? I'm not learning for leisure and I hope to achieve competitiveness as soon as possible. Though I am not aiming to be a musician in future and never will be, I hope to achieve grade 5-6 and above in one year. And grade 8 by the 2nd year. I will need about 1 hour of practice daily at least.
Also, I am also one of the freak cases who is taking grade 8 piano after one year of study in the instrument. I am preparing for my gr8 right now, along with my diploma repertoire which I intend to take the year I ROD from NS (2 years from now) and in my first year, I am taking my grade 8 exam. (2nd half of the year). I require about 2 hours per day at least.
So mainly my questions are 1) is booking out at a consistent basis possible? Like say after 5-6 Pm everyday? And after when do I get to go home daily? 2) do leaves for exams normally get approved?
Assume that I have enough interest to get me going. Basically I have been practicing 4 hours on the piano even with workload from school and alevels. Will I be fine with the work load in NS?
Originally posted by Scape_Goat_Token:I hope this is relevant. But I am 18 this yr and enlisting next year.
I heard BMT is only 2 weeks now, and after that we are allowed to book out every day after 5pm? I've also heard from seniors, or see some people who recently enlisted into NS being quite slack/free after half a year (or maybe several months). They are able to take stuff like driving etc..
Basically I'm asking this because my parents has allowed me to start learning cello after my Alevels. Which means, I learn for one month and then enter NS. Will I still have ample time to practice in this case? do I get to book out to practice? I'm not learning for leisure and I hope to achieve competitiveness as soon as possible. Though I am not aiming to be a musician in future and never will be, I hope to achieve grade 5-6 and above in one year. And grade 8 by the 2nd year. I will need about 1 hour of practice daily at least.
Also, I am also one of the freak cases who is taking grade 8 piano after one year of study in the instrument. I am preparing for my gr8 right now, along with my diploma repertoire which I intend to take the year I ROD from NS (2 years from now) and in my first year, I am taking my grade 8 exam. (2nd half of the year). I require about 2 hours per day at least.
So mainly my questions are 1) is booking out at a consistent basis possible? Like say after 5-6 Pm everyday? And after when do I get to go home daily? 2) do leaves for exams normally get approved?
Assume that I have enough interest to get me going. Basically I have been practicing 4 hours on the piano even with workload from school and alevels. Will I be fine with the work load in NS?
You what PES grade...?
BMT 2 weeks only? u wait long long long also dont have...
1st 2 weeks is deemed as confinement period.
it means no book out during the 1st 2 weeks. read here <- click
since u r clueless abt NSF and BMT, go to http://www.army.gov.sg/ 1st and then http://www.ns.sg/.
Pre-Enlistees: http://www.ns.sg/iPrepNS
BMT / SISPEC / OCS / vocational courses are stay-in camp for the weekdays. BMTC, being a training school is on 5.5 workweek basis. 5 days workweek is only when u get posted to a permanent unit after ur vocational course training.
So, as usual for anything off duties, the answer is "please wait till u go unit."
And even so, when u get posted to a permanent unit, must see ur vocation / camp is a stay-in or stay-out. if stay-in, must apply for permission of approval from the unit's chief clerk / s1 manpower branch. if stay-out, u r free to do anything during off-duty hours.
Combat Fit
PES A/B
9-week BMT (Silver & Gold award for NAPFA)
13-week BMT (Bronze award and below)
PES BP
15 or 26 week BMT (depending on BMI)
Non-combat fit
PES C1/C2/C9 - 7 week Modified BMT
PES E - 5.5 days Residential Induction programme
First 2 weeks of enlistment no book out, after that book out either on every fri evening or sat afternoon, depending on your company
Post BMT
If you are super fit and show leadership potential, you will go to OCS or SISPEC. If not, you will go for vocational courses before being posted to your permanent unit
Originally posted by Scape_Goat_Token:I hope this is relevant. But I am 18 this yr and enlisting next year.
LOL! This post should be in the Jokes Forum
Hey Scape_Goat_Token, please enjoy urselves more, cause going to NS and coming out will make you a wussy, so enjoy the time you have left with your GF...
This is one of the very few times I agree with you. Like I said, NS turns Singapore males into wusses.
So now you know why sg girls are all going for confident and manly white guys. Heck, even a fat white pasty nerd is more manly than any of the pieces of crap in the commandos or even NDU.
u think ur father army ijjit???
biggest joke..how could a guy be so clueless bout NS..
The truth is that.. even if you're a PES E personnel, there's no guarantee you'd be staying out..
If you want something, fight for it yourself... No one's going to fight for your welfare.. Welcome to the SAF
Originally posted by stellazio:biggest joke..how could a guy be so clueless bout NS..
More a case of being grossly misinformed and hearing opinions from only a small grp of people.
Scape_Goat_Token,I suggest you read the stickies in this forum,especially those on BMT.Follow Redano's guidlines too.No,bmt is not 2 weeks only unless you happen to be PES E then you go for a one week air-con induction programme.
There is no fast and hard answers to your questions like what redano said.
In short:
1)If you only count booking out on the weekends as consistent,then yes it is possible unless you are on guard duty or major exercise.If you mean consistent as in everyday,then it is VERY subjective as it depends on things like your vocation,superiors and unit's policy.BMT wise,you can forget about booking out everyday.In fact,you can consider yourself lucky if you manage to book out on Friday in BMT,I always book out on Saturday 1.00pm and book in Sunday 7.30pm during my batch.One important point to remember.....staying out is a PRIVILEGE not a RIGHT.
2)Another very subjective matter.If you do your job well and have a good working relationship with your bosses,they might even let you take off to go for the exam.In the end,it is up to your superiors as going for such things is NOT A RIGHT but a PRIVILEGE. They do not have to care if a person has studied hard for a particular exam as the servicemen is supposed to be serving full time.
I remember got one clerk study some kind of accountancy course part time,his boss usually allowed him to go off earlier everyday to go for lessons but he did not allow him to go for final exam is it fell during a major exercise period and he needed manpower.Actually I think his boss might have let him go in the end if he had not said this to him "But Sir,I already told you I had exam during that time wa,even before you told me that there would be an exercise during that time.It is not fair,you should let me go."
His boss face turned next.
One more thing,unless you are PES E,you don't ROD after that 2 years,it's ORD.
Originally posted by john_doe161:LOL! This post should be in the Jokes Forum
Haha i agree too.... wat a big joke sia... 2 weeks leh... might as well say 2 days..
oh sorry my bad. i mean i heard that 2 weeks not allowed to come out.
I have no idea what BMT is, don't intend to find out until the time draws closer.
But I read a few of the links, I'm getting a better picture. Thanks.
I think I'll be mentally prepared to let go of all outside commitments first before entering.
I'm Pes A btw. (though I don't know how it affects it).
I think it's understandable not to know about NS. I mean, not yet. There are more important tasks at hand and all the info I have is from seniors or stuff that I have heard. Perhaps maybe I have some wrong information (maybe heard wrongly or something). but thats a different story.
Originally posted by Scape_Goat_Token:oh sorry my bad. i mean i heard that 2 weeks not allowed to come out.
I have no idea what BMT is, don't intend to find out until the time draws closer.
I think I'll be mentally prepared to let go of all outside commitments first before entering.
I'm Pes A btw. (though I don't know how it affects it).I think it's understandable not to know about NS. I mean, not yet. There are more important tasks at hand and all the info I have is from seniors or stuff that I have heard. Perhaps maybe I have some wrong information (maybe heard wrongly or something). but thats a different story.
u should talked / listened to advices from ORD reservist NSmen...
and not some "seniors" pre-enlistees...
Originally posted by Rednano:
u should talked / listened to advices from ORD reservist NSmen...
and not some "seniors" pre-enlistees...
Well said...
Service BMT for Females is 2 weeks.
Originally posted by Man!x:
hahahahhahahahahahaa
If a job’s worth doing, it’s worth dying for!
wah pws A...u better pray dun kenna combat unit...else ur dream of stay out....will be gone....lol
Originally posted by Scape_Goat_Token:oh sorry my bad. i mean i heard that 2 weeks not allowed to come out.
I'm Pes A btw. (though I don't know how it affects it).I think it's understandable not to know about NS. I mean, not yet. There are more important tasks at hand and all the info I have is from seniors or stuff that I have heard. Perhaps maybe I have some wrong information (maybe heard wrongly or something). but thats a different story.
HUAT THE FUG! have you been living in the well for the past 18 years of your life
Originally posted by Ponders:Service BMT for Females is 2 weeks.
we forget to rule out possibilty that TS is a girl! or maybe he wants to change his sex!
anyway TS, don't give us crap that u got more impt things to do than to find out more about how u gonna spend the next 2 years of your life.
sad to say, your sources are either out to cheat u or they are also as clueless as u. it's about time to wake up and have a look at the real world.
i droped my PR status, a great escape from the boring days in that green uniform...LOLXX
aye...give the guy a break...most of us also like him b4 NS, got better things to do than think about wearing green. TS better get prepared carryin a weapon rather than a musical instrument for 2 yrs
(scape goat token)
I heard BMT is only 2 weeks now, and after that we are allowed to book out every day after 5pm?
where got BMT 2 weeks one......only PES E is 5.5 days.
I've also heard from seniors, or see some people who recently enlisted into NS being quite slack/free after half a year (or maybe several months). They are able to take stuff like driving etc..
actually, after your BMT and you get post to unit, after like 8 months or so when you become lao-jiao, generally will be quite slack and free most of the time, unless your camp is those super-garang camps everyday training non-stop etc.....
and those people who take stuff like driving do it in their spare time, and these guys are usually those stay-out ones.
Basically I'm asking this because my parents has allowed me to start learning cello after my Alevels. Which means, I learn for one month and then enter NS. Will I still have ample time to practice in this case? do I get to book out to practice?
after you first enter NS, which is the 2 - 3 months BMT, you will rarely get the chance to practice. Sure, you can practice after you book out (Sat), but the time is short, because u need to book in Sun.
plus, the training will already tire you out.
if you wanna practice, the only time would be after your BMT, where hopefully u get to stay-out.
I will need about 1 hour of practice daily at least.
not very possible to me, at least during your BMT.
but if you get posted to stay-out camp, u can go home practice every night.
1) it's possible only if you get posted to stay-out units after BMT. For such units, you get to go home everyday like office hours, unless you got guard duty where you need to stay overnight.
2) leaves for exams usually get approved, unless you always give OCs or superiors a lot of problem, but even then, it has a very high chance of getting approved.
Will I be fine with the work load in NS?
i doubt you can even stay awake while practicing cello during weekeneds after all the BMT crap. it's way more tiring than any school workload and after all, NS is NOT school!!!!!
basically, for your case, just hope that you get posted to stay-out camp.
actually, you should have kenged a bit during CMPB check-up.......see lah......now get PES A, god also cannot save you.
PES A usually is get posted to combat units, and combat units 99.999999% always stay-in.
of course there's a chance you might get posted to stay-out units, but it may not be very high.
the stay-out units are mainly the logistics units (supply and transport, ammo etc).
anyway, also cannot blame TS lah.......before i enter NS, i don't even know sergeants got different ranks and i didn't even know there's officers in the army......all i knew was sergeant, corporal, private, recruit......
it was only after i got posted to my unit that i started to know what is 2LT, LTA, CPT etc.....
if TS is good enough, he can apply for this......errr.......SAF Drama and Dance Company (if i remember the name correctly).
that COY can excuse marching and everything and all they need to do during NS is perform on stage. :D
good luck.
Originally posted by Man!x:aye...give the guy a break...most of us also like him b4 NS, got better things to do than think about wearing green. TS better get prepared carryin a weapon rather than a musical instrument for 2 yrs
well, it pays to be prepared. TS, since u so enthu, request to be posted to music and drama company aka MDC. stay out. and can practise all u want till u sick of it.
Originally posted by Unknown_X:
well, it pays to be prepared. TS, since u so enthu, request to be posted to music and drama company aka MDC. stay out. and can practise all u want till u sick of it.
yup... show interest in MDC... got audition interview during BMT if u express interest during the PC private 1-1 interview.