Originally posted by Fatum:Ooooo ! ... that is still there ! ... all abandoned of course ... but sometimes units laager over night there
so beautiful at night ! ... one of my fav spots in tekong ...
Yeh, I heard it's still there but now it's some resting points for route march. The view on changi airport is definitely beautiful at night, it's a view you'll not get from mainland Singapore.Btw these bunks all pretty cold at night. Also u do not need alarm as well because there's cock the crowed at about 0530. The bunk is used to be known as camp 1 and further in there are flatted bunks which is camp 3. Rumour always had it that recruits always jump down from there when they cannot take the training. Camp 1 recruits seldom go to camp 3. During my times only went there for a number of times one the time was just using the field for log PT. Guess the only saving grace for doing BMT in Tekong was booking out on Fri night.
POP during my times, done it Selarang Camp as sending parents to Tekong can quite be troublesome. So all of us booked out 1 wk earlier to rehearse for our POP parade.
Later posted to SMM, now SMTC? Then we were the last batch that went through the full combat medic training.
Posted to Seletar Camp, SADA unit...then suddenly I got stay out as the medical centre is stay out. Hooray....
Originally posted by tarutaru:Yeh, I heard it's still there but now it's some resting points for route march. The view on changi airport is definitely beautiful at night, it's a view you'll not get from mainland Singapore.Btw these bunks all pretty cold at night. Also u do not need alarm as well because there's cock the crowed at about 0530. The bunk is used to be known as camp 1 and further in there are flatted bunks which is camp 3. Rumour always had it that recruits always jump down from there when they cannot take the training. Camp 1 recruits seldom go to camp 3. During my times only went there for a number of times one the time was just using the field for log PT.
ah .... remember the U-shaped SOC ? ... nevermind, let's not digress and turn this into a ghost story thread ...
but yeah ... the view's beautiful from there .... especially 2-3 am on a calm night and you see the moon shining above and the sea shimmering silver below ... and the lights of changi airport in the distance ...
those were the days....SG rank and above, just go cook house, sit down, wait to be serve, eat and go off. no need to wash plates. those cooks have to do all these too
last time CPL is big f*ck liao leh
LTA is almost 神
MAJ and above are rare sights!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:last time CPL is big f*ck liao leh
LTA is almost 神
MAJ and above are rare sights!
no need to be have any ranks lah.....my MOPA even asked the recruit to drop 20 when the recruit did not greet the MO, and he was just a PTE not even LCP yet....
huh, must greet MO meh?
i normally just go in and say hello
oh.. here's something other than food...
not sure how things are now, my BMT OC did a few SOC, a few log PT, a few rifle PT, most of the runs and all the route marches with us.. he also showed us the Leopard Crawl up Botak Hill and then ran down.. told us to do what he did...
led by example.. we had to do all that since OC showed us already...
for my medic course at SAFTI-SMM, stretcher bearing week, we had to go through the SOC and AOC with a goddamned person strapped to a stretcher...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:2005 food terrible meh?
food hasn't been terrible ever since they phased out cooks, hahahahaha!
but the navy cooks damn solid lah
LST cooks mostly damn good. The same cannot be said for some other unfortunate ships like mine, whose cooks past/present either had allergy to soap and hence could not wash up, or could make porridge chao dah or damn good at turning pork into rork!
for my BMT, the SGTs and PC also led by example
they did all the stuff with us
rather than make it into a tekan session, they always tell us "exercise, its exercise!"
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
LST cooks mostly damn good. The same cannot be said for some other unfortunate ships like mine, whose cooks past/present either had allergy to soap and hence could not wash up, or could make porridge chao dah or damn good at turning pork into rork!
LST cooks sibeh pride leh, the cook will ask if the food is nice...
and for military food, it is quite tasty
soft and moist.
oh yah..
the most classic one.. the cook was in our sick bay.. we got the food and we were eating..
unable to figure out what the hell we were chewing away at, i asked the cook.. "oei.. cook ah? this one, pork or mutton?"
the answer was.. "fish"
Originally posted by kopiosatu:LST cooks sibeh pride leh, the cook will ask if the food is nice...
and for military food, it is quite tasty
soft and moist.
Definitely.....my ship once had this chief cook from an LST.
Wah, heavenly his food.
And best of all, for once no one said anything when we pinched milo from the pantry.
Too bad he was only attached to us for a couple of months.
The current one locks the milo in the cabinet to prevent pinching.
Originally posted by the Bear:oh yah..
the most classic one.. the cook was in our sick bay.. we got the food and we were eating..
unable to figure out what the hell we were chewing away at, i asked the cook.. "oei.. cook ah? this one, pork or mutton?"
the answer was.. "fish"
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA~
Originally posted by the Bear:oh yah..
the answer was.. "fish"
My cook-house IC guess it cannot be worse...a NUSAF SSG. Always go to medical centre for Ventolin inhaler when cooking time.....
i remember there was chocolate in the combat ration too. Van Houten Bitter Chocolate
Originally posted by SevenEleven:i remember there was chocolate in the combat ration too. Van Houten Bitter Chocolate
The combat ration? My fav was always the desserts....
Hey no army ghost stories meh? I though old bird should have more hehe..
Anyway orded 2001
TS is trying to prevent to turn this into a ghost stories thread
my time, PT shoes are the canvas type and underwear is crocodile brand too
mine times was pt shoes new balance liao...but the blue and white one....
mines time no underwear given...
The combat ration was no longer the can style but the packet style but the dog biscuit still there.
When i was in oversea exercise, I heard stories about a reservist that AWOL from their platoon while road march. After a whole combing the area, they found him at one of the local pub drinking. Dun ask me why he wants to go drinking
Originally posted by SevenEleven:my time, PT shoes are the canvas type and underwear is crocodile brand too
oh.. the PT shoes are all black and fell apart after you put them on..
the underwear they gave us? i think if anyone wear, the genitals will fall off.. the bloody thing was full of yellow mildew spots
Originally posted by the Bear:oh.. the PT shoes are all black and fell apart after you put them on..
the underwear they gave us? i think if anyone wear, the genitals will fall off.. the bloody thing was full of yellow mildew spots
true