I think I have an undisclosed anxiety disorder. Undisclosed as in no past psychological history.
I've been facing issues with anxiety and worry even before army.
Generally I've been able to cope but even outside people know me as
'the very gan cheong one.' But now in army whenever I get anxious I
would sweat tremble and feel breathlesss.
My PC has also observed that I have this problem and added that my face
would go pale when I'm anxious. OC also once called me aside and told
me that he may not allow me to handle rifles as a safety precaution.
But in the end I managed to complete BMT though it was not as smooth
sailing as it was for others.
My main concern with declaring mental instability is that the record
will follow me and I may not be able to find work or go university in
the future.
Currently I'm getting scared and am losing sleep because I heard armour
was one of the xiong vocations in army. Still must do SOC. Of all
things I hate SOC. That's when the fear becomes really irrational.
Anyone has any advice? thanks.
think so much for what? just follow orders and do whatever shit they throw at you.
suck thumb sial. i have abit of your problem. i dun lose sleep over training though. i just get worried over SOC. its quite a psychological barrier when i think about how to clear the damn obstacles. i dunno why but i'm damn afraid of injuring myself after seeing how ppl got themselves OOT doing it.
and besides that, i get worried too about being fucked. and when there's a need to rush, and rush there cuz got no time...i feel damn sian. i go breathless like...only when i haf to run SOC and run around in SBO/FBO. i dunno if its anxiety or not. lol...but yeah i do actually get ANXIOUS a lot, but not as jialat as losing my breath. 1 thing about army is the mental + physical torturing trainings. whenever we have to chiong, like during SIT test, walao...i get damn breathless. i dunno if its a medical condition cuz i see people like never get breathless as easily as i do. a simple thing like standing up, i go dizzy and get numb already. shrugs. i went to an MO regarding this before and he said i'm just suffering from anxiety. like WTF. he told me he can't help me and i must overcome this issue myself. so from then on i just dun tink so much la. actually most of the problems like that start from thinking too much...but about the running and physical part...den i dunno.
Originally posted by issues:I think I have an undisclosed anxiety disorder. Undisclosed as in no past psychological history.
I've been facing issues with anxiety and worry even before army. Generally I've been able to cope but even outside people know me as 'the very gan cheong one.' But now in army whenever I get anxious I would sweat tremble and feel breathlesss.
My PC has also observed that I have this problem and added that my face would go pale when I'm anxious. OC also once called me aside and told me that he may not allow me to handle rifles as a safety precaution. But in the end I managed to complete BMT though it was not as smooth sailing as it was for others.
My main concern with declaring mental instability is that the record will follow me and I may not be able to find work or go university in the future.
Currently I'm getting scared and am losing sleep because I heard armour was one of the xiong vocations in army. Still must do SOC. Of all things I hate SOC. That's when the fear becomes really irrational. Anyone has any advice? thanks.
just report sick and declare to MO in medical centre.
the record is ONLY kept within SAF.
Hihi
How do I go about declaring this sort of thing to MO? Alr they get so many ppl daily who want to chao keng, how are they going to take me seriously when the problem is not even a physical injury? And also how am I going to report this to my superiors? Straight away on the first day? It doesn't give a good impression + how can go to new unit never try than want to say unable to cope.
I thnk I would report when the opportunity arises. Thanks! Hope u all can understand that it's not a good feeling knowing that you have a mental problem, so deciding whether to report is difficult.
Originally posted by issues:Hihi
How do I go about declaring this sort of thing to MO? Alr they get so many ppl daily who want to chao keng, how are they going to take me seriously when the problem is not even a physical injury? And also how am I going to report this to my superiors? Straight away on the first day? It doesn't give a good impression + how can go to new unit never try than want to say unable to cope.
I thnk I would report when the opportunity arises. Thanks! Hope u all can understand that it's not a good feeling knowing that you have a mental problem, so deciding whether to report is difficult.
Better report sick......to see MO. Unless u want to try.
Just describe exactly the way you feel to your MO when you have such "anxiety attacks".
They'll probably make an assessment and refer you to PCC, MMI for a psychiatric evauluation.
Should you really be diagnosed with Anxiety Disorder, they will either follow-up with you at PCC and/or refer you to SCC for counselling to deal with your anxiety issues.