Private (PTE) Foo Wei Rong Joe, a Full-time National Serviceman from 4th Battalion, Singapore Infantry Regiment, collapsed in Lim Chu Kang Camp at 6.05 am this morning while doing chin-ups. The chin-ups, as well as some push-ups which he had completed earlier, were part of the unit's daily basic exercise routine. He was given immediate medical attention and evacuated to Tengah Medical Centre by 6.40am, where the doctors tried to resuscitate him. PTE Foo was sent to National University Hospital at 7.15 am. The SAF doctor and medic continued their attempts to resuscitate him en route to the hospital, and he arrived at 7.45am. PTE Foo was pronounced dead at 8.28am
MINDEF and the SAF extend their deepest condolences to the family of the late PTE Foo, and will assist the family in their time of grief. MINDEF is investigating the incident.
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_events/nr/2008/sep/30sep08_nr.html
undetected cardiac? luckily i detectted mine, myself.
are they going to take away chin ups?!
Thats not a resolution.
is normal one
when someone up lorry
they will say look into it
never find problem with the mo in medical centre
very easy leh
the dead will never talk liao
so blame who
?
If did not hear wrongly in e Chinese news, he was medically graded PES A
I really don't get it....
Chin ups are not really a cardiovascular exercise. They're more for strength-training.
Will they suspend training again?
RIP to PTE Foo
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/379403/1/.html
SINGAPORE: A full-time National Serviceman collapsed while doing chin-ups at Lim Chu Kang camp on Tuesday morning. The Ministry of Defence said he was brought to hospital where he died several hours later. It's the first time a fatal incident has occurred during a daily non-strenuous exercise routine and it's the third military training death this year. The Defence Ministry said that at about 6.05am, Private Joe Foo Wei Rong, from the 4th Singapore Infantry Regiment, was in the midst of his seventh chin-up, being assisted by a buddy, when he collapsed. He had already completed six chin-ups without assistance and several other morning warm-exercises, including push-ups. The servicemen would usually go for breakfast after their morning warm-up exercises. The Defence Ministry said medical help was immediately given using cardiopulmonary resuscitation and an emergency defibrillator. At 6.40am, he was evacuated to Tengah Medical Centre in an ambulance about 10 minutes away where doctors continued medical attention. Private Foo was then taken to the National University Hospital and arrived at 7.45am. He was pronounced dead at 8.28am. The former Singapore Polytechnic student was enlisted in July 9, 2008 as PES A - the highest fitness grading. It's understood he had displayed no signs of difficulty or health problems and there were no strenuous exercises the night before. Private Foo had not complained of any medical condition prior to the exercise. Investigations are currently underway to find the true cause of the incident. A report is expected in about eight weeks. Mindef will convene a committee of inquiry. Two other servicemen died during training in June this year, recruit Andrew Cheah fainted during a 2-kilometre walk and Officer Cadet Clifton Lam collapsed during training in Brunei. - CNA/vmvery sad...he is PTE...
I wonder will recruit life be best or worst..
some mo damn sucky.. all mind is set to ppl just wanna keng mc.. seriously feel like fucking them sometime
mo earn how much?
i saw a mo parked a porsche outside medical centre b4
so much of tax payer money
to pay them~~~
Originally posted by hedgehog05:some mo damn sucky.. all mind is set to ppl just wanna keng mc.. seriously feel like fucking them sometime
Well sometimes cannot blame them, too many kengsters nowadays especially children are so well protected by their parents now.
Originally posted by tarutaru:Well sometimes cannot blame them, too many kengsters nowadays especially children are so well protected by their parents now.
cannot because of kengster
then they how any check leh
like that might as well said if got patient go to hospital
to fake and get mc
then those public dr also how any check liao
then like that still need dr for wat in the first case?
Originally posted by noahnoah:
cannot because of kengsterthen they how any check leh
like that might as well said if got patient go to hospital
to fake and get mc
then those public dr also how any check liao
then like that still need dr for wat in the first case?
Well u cannot blame the MO in the medical centre. All these heart problem should be check in CMPB when the person go for check up. Btw some of these heart problem are quite hard to detect without the right equipment. In this case, the personal had passed the BMT phase so it's assume that he's medically fit. To all those in BMT and going to BMT, please do take care of yourselves......report sick when necessary.
i agree
report sick when u really sick
maybe some recruits got nightmare of reporting sick
scare of being screw up lol
i agree
report sick when u really sick
maybe some recruits got nightmare of reporting sick
scare of being screw up lol
Btw if u see the amount of recruits reporting sick, especially the 1st of enlistment, sometimes I really feel sorry for MOs, and some of these recruits really nothing wrong with them, they report sick because the medical centre can smoke lah....
i think if really want to blame,must blame those kengsters.
keng mc and keng medical conditions.
make the mo dont know how to differentiate between real and fake liao.
those kengsters should really wake up and stop spoiling the market and making life diffcult for those with real problems.
dr bala from 4 sir is a good doctor.he goes to work earlier than other doctors.while others arrrive at 8am,he is always at the med ctr by 7am.the blame should not be his or any other doctor as 5bxs are conducted at 6,a time when all doctors are absent.5bxs are also considered a low risk activity that does not even warrant the presence of a medic.something must have whilst he was being transported.the board of enquiry will convene and investigate.as to his cardiac arrest,i think their 5bx must be more shiong than normal otherwise nothing would have caused it.my condolences to the boy's family.the only thing i can promise is that this incident will cause us,the members of the medical corp,to be even more vigilant,to prevent such accidents from happening again.
Originally posted by fudgester:I really don't get it....
Chin ups are not really a cardiovascular exercise. They're more for strength-training.
Chinups can be quite shiong really,I have felt light headed after doing chinups before...
The post mortem report will be issued in 8 WEEKS. Yeah theyre telling the truth, we belive them. Yes he died of cardiovascular arrest, we believe them. Sure why not? Its not their fault, he died of a natural cause.
last time blame on heat stroke
now blame on tis cardic arrest etc
wonder whats next
last time blame on heat stroke
now blame on tis cardic arrest etc
wonder whats next
Stomach-ache.
in the morning, the guys will ask...
"everybody water parade? 7 hours of sleep? anybody not feeling well? anybody want to report sick?"
than will carry on
but still got
carry on recruit!!!
You can make it!! finish the race!!!
damm it!!!