TS
I understand how you feel. It's unfair, but hey, life is unfair in more ways than one. It ultimately depends on how we make of our situation. Whether we want to complain and complain or whether we want to move on and make the best of what we have.
I'm from a non combat unit. All I want to say is that sometimes things are not what you see on the surface. I have a chronic muscle problem which is for life. I dont know whether it is really a blessing to be down-pes, especially when it's due to a condition that will plague me for years to come.
Saying that one is from non-combat will always elicit the "wah..chaokeng king" response, whether explicit or implicit. I don't mind people saying because it's natural for people to assume that way. As long as we know our limits i.e what we can/cannot do, as long as we know how to take care of ourselves. No point being unfit and trying to chen qiang.
Of course, I also know of people who "keng". This kind of people will always exist. In army. In workplace. Everywhere.
Ultimately, it is how you see it. Combat toughens you up and gives you an immense sense of gratification. Admin, logistics or signals etc etc all have their own pros and cons. In one way or another, we are all serving NS, giving up our precious 2 years. We are all still losers ultimately. Just my opinion that down-pes people deserves the benefit of doubt, as there are always black sheep among us. Pes C people doesnt mean cannot walk or move around. He might look perfectly healthy, but some illnesses arent easily accessible by the human eye/superficial observation.
Originally posted by The man who was death:hmm...not really can openly sleep in bunk leh...if got sgt catch you then hong gan liao sign extra....
Aiyo when a company becomes operational ready, almost everyone is relax one although still got someone siao on one. This is from my own experience.
Infantry siong meh?
No Ged. Nothing is tougher than being an NSF commando.
Even that was quite thoroughly survivable. I can't see what this guy's complaining about.
Originally posted by Hellraiza:No Ged. Nothing is tougher than being an NSF commando.
A combat medic in the commandos will be super tough,i'm a combat medic from 46sar,i think back n rather be a rifleman,dun take MG oso ok
lol I kenna 3 guards recee commander also lan lan. Just do lor.
Oh well ... At the end of the day .. IF IF IF IF IF IF IF IF a war breaks out .. Its not a matter of who infantry , guards , Airforce , Driver , Clerk , storeman , Ammo man or whatsoever more siong ..
ITS WHOEVERS LEFT >> WHO IS WILLING TO DEFEND WHATS LEFT .. of us .. hahah .. I hope I made sense ..
If you wanna defend , your storeman , ammo man gone .. also like that. If you wanna defend .. your infantry, pilots , tankies disappear .. also like that ..
At the end of the day .. everyone is needed lor .. everyone has a role wat .. arbo do NS for what ? Just for comfort's sake .. If the person's role is to bring the whole family run away .. then its the Military police's role to catch lor ..
Originally posted by Gedanken:Infantry siong meh?
Everything is relative. Infantry rifleman is more siong than clerk, storeman but it's less siong than commando.
TS never say he go which unit....
Rifleman?
Originally posted by Gloater:Everything is relative. Infantry rifleman is more siong than clerk, storeman but it's less siong than commando.
Precisely. Siong is a matter of attitude, and anyone who's looking at his job as being siong is already setting himself up for failure.
although 1yr soldier le...yes, im still wondering why im a rifleman...still cant fully accept it...
Originally posted by codexboy:although 1yr soldier le...yes, im still wondering why im a rifleman...still cant fully accept it...
Well you have to accept it unless u want to have a miserable memory of NS....just to remind you, not only NS but reservist as well.