What rank is it any way? But I guess nobody will complaint if they can get more money.
ST -
The new Specialist Cadet (SCT) rank, which comes with a revised National Service (NS) allowance of $490, came into effect on 22 December. The rank was introduced to recognise the challenging roles and increased responsibilities of the Specialists Corps in the 3rd Generation SAF.
its a slanted CPT rank on the sleeve..slowly abolishing CFC..an equivalent i guess..looks crap though
but the peole wearing this rank wont wear it for long also.. cause its mainly for those in bslc right?
but then again after bslc they become cpls, isnt the cpl pay lower then this SCT?
Originally posted by stellazio:but the peole wearing this rank wont wear it for long also.. cause its mainly for those in bslc right?
but then again after bslc they become cpls, isnt the cpl pay lower then this SCT?
www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_events/nr/2008/dec/23dec08_nr/23dec08_fs.html
www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_events/nr/2008/dec/23dec08_nr.html
www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_events/nr/2008/dec/23dec08_nr/23dec08_photos.html
oh ok..so they bypass the cpl stage..wah rsaf coveralls also got SCT rank? hmmm.. but they never say the vocations involved that affected right?
Its only for SISPEC trainee, CFC will remain as it is for the other unit.
ayiah, OCT are second lowest scum
with this rank, the specialists will take that slot and OCT will push up to third lowest
cut cost on making ranks?
so the CPL rank is no longer given after BSLC?
I guess service specialists will still go through the traditional pte->cpl->3sg route.
great. next we will have the Recruit cadet rank.
tot its the end of chao corporal era...
btw, i have updated the BMT thread with the new rank.
http://sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/137692
lol -.- recruit cadet -.-"
Originally posted by kopiosatu:ayiah, OCT are second lowest scum
with this rank, the specialists will take that slot and OCT will push up to third lowest
I thought OCT are the lowest, and REC being the second lowest? I've seen LCP shouting at and pumping OCT but no LCP does that to REC.
So where in the rank heirarchy is SCT? Logic tells me that SCT will now be the lowest, followed by OCT and so on, but I could be wrong?
Originally posted by annoy-you-must:
I thought OCT are the lowest, and REC being the second lowest? I've seen LCP shouting at and pumping OCT but no LCP does that to REC.So where in the rank heirarchy is SCT? Logic tells me that SCT will now be the lowest, followed by OCT and so on, but I could be wrong?
(Image shown with reference to eac's reply)
Once a guy pass out from BMT, and goes on to become a men, this SCT rank will have nothing to do with him.
But if a guy goes on to SISPEC after passing out from BMT, then he becomes a SCT.
i don't understand how a new cadet rank will motivate the soldier. but the new revised allownance certianly will.
anyway i'm wondering is it Ok for a cadet to get more allowance than a fully trained CPL?
Originally posted by Gordonator:i don't understand how a new cadet rank will motivate the soldier. but the new revised allownance certianly will.
anyway i'm wondering is it Ok for a cadet to get more allowance than a fully trained CPL?
a OCT already does earn more than a PTE liao leh.
this is a stupid move! what stupid rank is this??
i dont get it!
Originally posted by Givach:this is a stupid move! what stupid rank is this??
i dont get it!
think should be a WITS project lah...
to 'compensate' the specs for compare to the officer cadets...
to give a bit little money for sispec trainees.
a small morale boost to sispec trainees on sergeant course but while on PTE/CPL allowance.
With PRIDE WE LEAVE (not lead) .. HooHaaa ..
Whats the point , I wonder .. Its all just marketing .. Its just like giving you a new job title and a whole load of same crap + additional .. or may i use the sensitive word "EXTRAS" sai-gang ( fatigue work ) to do ..
Like the older generation used to say .. Either be a Dragon ( "long" aka Officer ) .. or be a Worm ( "chong" aka man) .. never ever be an in-between like the Specialist .. always kena pressed in between the officers and men ..
Men misbehave .. You kena .. Officer Buay Song .. You kena .. Men low morale , You kena .. Officer arrow , you kena .. Just for $20 more .. Hahah
Originally posted by NewKidOnTheBlock:With PRIDE WE LEAVE (not lead) .. HooHaaa ..
Whats the point , I wonder .. Its all just marketing .. Its just like giving you a new job title and a whole load of same crap + additional .. or may i use the sensitive word "EXTRAS" sai-gang ( fatigue work ) to do ..
Like the older generation used to say .. Either be a Dragon ( "long" aka Officer ) .. or be a Worm ( "chong" aka man) .. never ever be an in-between like the Specialist .. always kena pressed in between the officers and men ..
Men misbehave .. You kena .. Officer Buay Song .. You kena .. Men low morale , You kena .. Officer arrow , you kena .. Just for $20 more .. Hahah
hehe that may be true on the ground but if everyone thinks like you who is going to be the specialists? you still need specialists expertise at section level for an effective platoon. I think the new rank is meant to give more recognition to specialists in general and to give them motivation and acknowledgement for their area of expertise. It is a FACT in some cases that men are closer to their sergeants than to their PC. As a SC you are in command of men too and feel closer to them than their PC will be, and that in itself is a form of leadership too, even if the numbers commanded is smaller. It's leadership at a micro-level.
Originally posted by Gordonator:i don't understand how a new cadet rank will motivate the soldier. but the new revised allownance certianly will.
cadet oso get more pay than a reservist service pay...
Gloater .. anyway .. I agree with what you said in general lah .. I was juz grumbling .. I still perform my duties as a SC lah haha just grumbling .. Yes it is a fact that many men closer to SC than PC .. and yes its leadership closer to "ground Zero" instead of just HOT AIR yadda yadda .. I wan this done .. I want that done ..
Hahha my point is just that we still get flak for many things from the top and bottom. and But for the record , I never had any Extras signed during my time served.