hi guys, a fellow recruit here..hope u all can help me with this problem..
Firstly, i have a medical problem with my legs since birth, my right leg is longer than my left leg ( abt 1 cm ) and my knee cap dont look normal ( i duno how to describe) which causes me to walk and run awkwardly..people often ask me if im in pain while walking.. but its my normal walking style..however, doing the NS excercises like jumping causes me to feel pressure on one leg 1st.. i duno how can i handle SOC.
So i reported this to CMPB when i check up b4 enlist..they issued me pes B.. and said regarding this problem.. i just sound off if im tired ( is this applicable in NS at all ? )... so in my army days .. my PS enquired abt my prob.. and said i would have difficulty in NS. so he sent me for a medical review..but the MO say it is nothing at all..den okay i accepted it.. den i went back to tell my PS.. he say thats nonsense.. my seargents, the PTI said i shud be pes C , and fellow recruits said my prob is quite serious. So, the PS told the OC abt my prob, and sent me for the review again.. and i kana the same MO AGAIN, he didnt even bother reading my medical review fully, he just read the 1st sentence and he say he fed up that i came for this prob 2 times and once again said my prob is not serious.. cannot downgrade pes , i told him that a lot people said my prob is serious.. he just said they are not doctors. but im just following instructions of my PS and OC.. if its really nothing will they bother to sent me for review again?.. so i seriously told him i may not handle NS activities..and he unhappily gave me an OOT..and need to wait for specialist review, if its really nothing, i need to recourse.. but i feel unjust here, im just being told what im asked to, but im told by the MO its nothing, and if its seriously true, i have to recourse, which is a waste of time.. so i dont know what to do now. Any1 can advice me??
Remember way back in time time i had a fellow REC who got PES B but everyone in the company who learnt about his condition agreed that he should definitely not be PES B and blame CMPB MO for giving the wrong PES. That guy ended up OOT and if not wrong was rePES to E sometime later.
In army things often happen this way. A recourse is inevitable if the specialist does say that your problem is nothing. However recourse normally happens later in your NS life anyway and not directly after specialist certified you fit. Generally recourse you get slightly better treatment since you are no longer a REC and can return to tekong with any rank from PTE up to 3SG.
I don't really think theres much you can do but just wait for ur specialist review and see what he says since thats unfortunately how our army works.
Originally posted by lavastar:hi guys, a fellow recruit here..hope u all can help me with this problem..
Firstly, i have a medical problem with my legs since birth, my right leg is longer than my left leg ( abt 1 cm ) and my knee cap dont look normal ( i duno how to describe) which causes me to walk and run awkwardly..people often ask me if im in pain while walking.. but its my normal walking style..however, doing the NS excercises like jumping causes me to feel pressure on one leg 1st.. i duno how can i handle SOC.
So i reported this to CMPB when i check up b4 enlist..they issued me pes B.. and said regarding this problem.. i just sound off if im tired ( is this applicable in NS at all ? )... so in my army days .. my PS enquired abt my prob.. and said i would have difficulty in NS. so he sent me for a medical review..but the MO say it is nothing at all..den okay i accepted it.. den i went back to tell my PS.. he say thats nonsense.. my seargents, the PTI said i shud be pes C , and fellow recruits said my prob is quite serious. So, the PS told the OC abt my prob, and sent me for the review again.. and i kana the same MO AGAIN, he didnt even bother reading my medical review fully, he just read the 1st sentence and he say he fed up that i came for this prob 2 times and once again said my prob is not serious.. cannot downgrade pes , i told him that a lot people said my prob is serious.. he just said they are not doctors. but im just following instructions of my PS and OC.. if its really nothing will they bother to sent me for review again?.. so i seriously told him i may not handle NS activities..and he unhappily gave me an OOT..and need to wait for specialist review, if its really nothing, i need to recourse.. but i feel unjust here, im just being told what im asked to, but im told by the MO its nothing, and if its seriously true, i have to recourse, which is a waste of time.. so i dont know what to do now. Any1 can advice me??
left leg longer than right leg, overtime, the length will become the same.
just like people with a leg in a cast for some time will have that leg become a longer.
the knee cap thing i don't know. have you fell out of any of the training before? any problems for you? do you feel that you are unable to meet the physical demand?
the story of another guy who downgrade because everyone think he should be downgraded... doesn't apply to you. he is downgraded because of his medical conditions, not because everyone thinks he should be downgraded.
see an orthopedic specialist..
First, let me say one thing, as a NSF, anything done inside is not consider wasting time. Believe me, chow keng time also contribute in getting nearer to ORD.
So what if no problem need to recourse, then? Recourse lor! Now NS only 2 years, if I do 2 mths BMT and OOC and waste 1 more month lazing around for medical review, in the end need to recourse again for another 3 mths. That is a total 6 mths over! Which means u are now 1.5 years left to ORD.
So dun worry about the time thingy, remember ur aim is not getting through to POP it is to get nearer to ORD.
As for medical wise, trust me, now can say no problem, but a few months down the road? Who can confirmed? Trust me, alot of recruits focus too much on the army liao, that is wrong, your health come first, the training can go f**k itself later. You are responsible for your own health NOT SAF. I have friends who just close one eye on their medical problems and carry on with their training in the end make their condition worse and lagi affect their whole life.
NS only 2 years, no sense in making a condition which suppose to be no problem for life become a condition that you have to suffer to the day you die.
Lastly on MOs in SAF, sad to say, most MOs I come acrosss during my active days score a zero in professionalism. Even, if they say no problem and you must still seek a second opinion. Preferably with your own family doctor whom you know or get a buddy/parent/etc to accompany you to see another doctor outside.
I know getting someone to accompany u sounds abit ginnah but if you are the kind that don't know how to argue with ppl type then getting some accompany u sometimes can leverage and prevent the other doctors "putting their MO face" on and assume you are chow keng even before they diagnose you, YES, it happens outside also (because most male doctors outside are ususally MOs during their NS days also).
I am a fellow REC OOT. I OOT in Jan 08 and was posted to a unit in Feb 08 and has been stuck there since. Generally your BMT Recourse FFI will be scheduled 6 months after you OOT. In the interim period, dont bother seeing MOs (because they are inexperienced and will merely refer you to MMI). I suggest you go directly to any hospital A&E and seek treatment . Generally, they would refer you to a specialist. Once you have seen the specialist, show the SAF Memo to your MO who will rubber stamp it. Its far more efficient.
SAF will not downgrade you unless you can back up your claims with solid medical evidence - SAF Memos from external specialist, specialist diagnosis, x rays etc.
Dont overact and go see MP, call SAF hotline etc.
Originally posted by grandmaster89:I suggest you go directly to any hospital A&E and seek treatment . Generally, they would refer you to a specialist. Once you have seen the specialist, show the SAF Memo to your MO who will rubber stamp it. Its far more efficient.
SAF will not downgrade you unless you can back up your claims with solid medical evidence - SAF Memos from external specialist, specialist diagnosis, x rays etc.
8 Simple Rules to Medical Board (Genuine Medical Cases):
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
duplicate