It's universally understood that a passport is the legal ID for any tourist.
However, I've not heard of this rule. Hmm, where did you hear it from?
11B not allowed to bring into Msia, seriously never heard before..
But I only know that you're not allowed to wear our uniform into Msia. Even if GOM doesn't state, it's common sense that by wearing our uniform into Msia, it's like macam show Singapore's military presence in Msia, gonna start a big hoo-haa if you do that..
Harlow... you think every country has got the identity card program meh? Passport is the universal ID document for travellers all over the world as Lazerlordz said.
I gib you tip hor ....
in many ang moh countries, they'd require two pieces of ID at the club doors .....
and 11b works wonders ... you flash it ... they'd peer and it, look at you, and wave you through ..... while the next asian chum behind you gets barred for wearing a shirt that's "too loose" .....
trust me, it works wonders .....
this works pretty well in thailand as well ...
Originally posted by Fatum:I gib you tip hor ....
in many ang moh countries, they'd require two pieces of ID at the club doors .....
and 11b works wonders ... you flash it ... they'd peer and it, look at you, and wave you through ..... while the next asian chum behind you gets barred for wearing a shirt that's "too loose" .....
trust me, it works wonders .....
this works pretty well in thailand as well ...
Hmm.. Soldiers considered atas in ang moh countries meh?
better not bring oversea
while oversea our ID is nothing
driving ID is much better
lost 11B how? kena charge?
Originally posted by superlibra:
Hmm.. Soldiers considered atas in ang moh countries meh?
I dunno about that, but flashing that, they'd think you're here on something other than a hol, and would be more inclined to be nicer to you .... and it's often made all the difference in my personal experience ....
some of the clubs are quite red neck and difficult to get into ... not like in singapore, where if you line up early enough, you're likely to get in ......
Originally posted by zaxis:better not bring oversea
while oversea our ID is nothing
driving ID is much better
lost 11B how? kena charge?
lost 11b, no worry 1... pay $50 to s1 branch to make replacement lor...
Originally posted by zaxis:lost 11B how? kena charge?
You are damn cute.
Originally posted by Fatum:I dunno about that, but flashing that, they'd think you're here on something other than a hol, and would be more inclined to be nicer to you .... and it's often made all the difference in my personal experience ....
some of the clubs are quite red neck and difficult to get into ... not like in singapore, where if you line up early enough, you're likely to get in ......
X2. Some places do have a healthy respect for a serving soldier, especially from allied countries.
And guys, it's common sense that you leave your uniform at home. No one wants to see your slack 4 at City Square.
There are a 2 cases in years back where SAF servicemen who were detained in M'sia for not having the chop in their passport. It was all over then news. And a huge hoohah in SAF about it.
Knowing the pettiness of our northern neighbours, having an 11B and not having a chop in passport means only one thing to them.You are a military spy who entered the country illegally.
So when going overseas when in service, leave behind your 11B, your passport is considered a form of identification and that is enough. And dont bring your military gear in your car boot like SBO or such.
Originally posted by Man!x:There are a 2 cases in years back where SAF servicemen who were detained in M'sia for not having the chop in their passport. It was all over then news. And a huge hoohah in SAF about it.
Knowing the pettiness of our northern neighbours, having an 11B and not having a chop in passport means only one thing to them.You are a military spy who entered the country illegally.
So when going overseas when in service, leave behind your 11B, your passport is considered a form of identification and that is enough. And dont bring your military gear in your car boot like SBO or such.
HAHAHHAA can almost see the situation at malaysian customs.
"Ini untuk apa? Kamu nak buat perang?"
bring overseas is good, msia maybe not!
malaysia not really overseas lah, it's like our overgrown backyard, no ? ....
or the neighbourhood ghetto ...
of course, the customs people being so sloopy or simply lazy over there ... must eyes open big big and check the stamp before leaving the counter lah ....
Just wondering, if NSmen lose their 11B, do they have to pay for replacement?
Funny cause i thought i lost my 11B. Until recently i was clearing out my storeroom and found it in an old haversack.
Looking at it the 11B now though, i must say it's quite an interesting design, with the words "Singapore Armed Forces". I'm pretty sure if you flash this card overseas at some club entry, they probably won't make a big fuss.
Those of you who have tried flashing pink IC overseas should know -> it means nothing!
Originally posted by matchless:Just wondering, if NSmen lose their 11B, do they have to pay for replacement?
Funny cause i thought i lost my 11B. Until recently i was clearing out my storeroom and found it in an old haversack.
Looking at it the 11B now though, i must say it's quite an interesting design, with the words "Singapore Armed Forces". I'm pretty sure if you flash this card overseas at some club entry, they probably won't make a big fuss.
Those of you who have tried flashing pink IC overseas should know -> it means nothing!
same. lost 11b, no worry 1... pay $50 online on the www.ns.sg to make replacement lor...
Originally posted by matchless:Just wondering, if NSmen lose their 11B, do they have to pay for replacement?
In most places, it's just a photo-ID which you need to produce if you are entering a club, or paying of items with a credit card.