i'm currently undergoing enhanced BMT. i know that my batch is expected to go into command schools after POP.
The thing is that I'm not interested in going into SISPEC or OCS, simply because they're not my cup of tea. I'd rather be a man. Moreover, I've some problems passing IPPT and SOC. (I've not trained myself at all for almost one year since NAPFA, hence I've some problems to even pass my IPPT =.=)
I dun understand why ppl actually aspire to get into these command schs. Is it because of money? or pride? To me, I dun do things for $ if I've no interest in it. And as for pride, well, pride for 2 years, does it really justify the tough training u'll receive in the 6 or 9 months?
They say "pain is temporary, pride is forever" but I thought otherwise. "Pride is only for 2 years".
And of how much use is it for u in your future career as a specialist or an officer? I just dun understand why ppl want to get into command schs. well, unless they're for $, which I dun agree if u've no interest in the job.
Go sispec la so slack and welfare haha, from there you'll branch out to other units also but you'll be a sergt. Unless you totally hate being a leader loh
man is totally under control.
sgt will have a bit of freedom.
Originally posted by cubsarecute:i'm currently undergoing enhanced BMT. i know that my batch is expected to go into command schools after POP.
The thing is that I'm not interested in going into SISPEC or OCS, simply because they're not my cup of tea. I'd rather be a man. Moreover, I've some problems passing IPPT and SOC. (I've not trained myself at all for almost one year since NAPFA, hence I've some problems to even pass my IPPT =.=)
I dun understand why ppl actually aspire to get into these command schs. Is it because of money? or pride? To me, I dun do things for $ if I've no interest in it. And as for pride, well, pride for 2 years, does it really justify the tough training u'll receive in the 6 or 9 months?
They say "pain is temporary, pride is forever" but I thought otherwise. "Pride is only for 2 years".
And of how much use is it for u in your future career as a specialist or an officer? I just dun understand why ppl want to get into command schs. well, unless they're for $, which I dun agree if u've no interest in the job.
you are not expected to go there. about half will become normal soldiers. Don't think too much, you probably cannot make it one.
Not everyone will become a junior commander, and with your perceptible dislike for responsibility and leadership, you might not have to worry too much.
LOL, sgt is the worst rank in the entire army. You get shit from officer and also have to baby sit the men. You get responsibilities but no real power (I know cause I have gone thru SISPEC).
But anyway, if everyone can choose where they are going, who will want to go to SISPEC?
Originally posted by cubsarecute:i'm currently undergoing enhanced BMT. i know that my batch is expected to go into command schools after POP.
I was in exactly the same predicament as you .....
But I ended up as a man... hehe...and the 2 years flashed past just like that...
Originally posted by 333225520:LOL, sgt is the worst rank in the entire army. You get shit from officer and also have to baby sit the men. You get responsibilities but no real power (I know cause I have gone thru SISPEC).
- For officier, although you have more responsibility, you also have power.
- For men, no responsibility. No need to think, just do.
- For Sgt, sandwiched between both. The one doing the real "dirty job".
But anyway, if everyone can choose where they are going, who will want to go to SISPEC?
me.
Originally posted by 333225520:LOL, sgt is the worst rank in the entire army. You get shit from officer and also have to baby sit the men. You get responsibilities but no real power (I know cause I have gone thru SISPEC).
- For officier, although you have more responsibility, you also have power.
- For men, no responsibility. No need to think, just do.
- For Sgt, sandwiched between both. The one doing the real "dirty job".
me.
and im serious
Originally posted by club18:me.
and im serious
yea, i'm serious too.
Anyway a WO told us once we had our SGT rank, the higher your rank, the higher responsiblity you have.
Originally posted by tarutaru:Anyway a WO told us once we had our SGT rank, the higher your rank, the higher responsiblity you have.
Lol. Ya lah. If not a man holds a higher responsibility than a 3SGT meh?
More responsibility means higher pay.
It's the same as the working world outside. Higher hierarchy like the manager makes the important decisions thus command a higher pay then the office workers who carry out the decision of the manager thus get a lower pay.
Since you have your thoughts sorted out, why this? Just geng and be a man for 22 months and ORD.
So if you dont become man you become woman?
is cannot go or dont want to go?
I think is cannot go but pretend don't want to go.
Originally posted by skythewood:I think is cannot go but pretend don't want to go.
no point doing things you don't like. no need ask already.
if you dont have the mentality or attitude, dont bother selecting the commander option. you will be suffering in commander's school or if you made it, in whatever unit you go to.
The armed forces protects Singapore from external troubles while I keep the streets of Singapore safe from the delinquents and criminals.
Originally posted by Batman.:The armed forces protects Singapore from external troubles while I keep the streets of Singapore safe from the delinquents and criminals.
�出去斩了�
now wait a minute ? ..... you have problems passing IPPT and SOC, and you think "my batch is expected to go into command schools" .....
woah ! ... is your father some mini-star or something ? ... are you a super white horse ? ... if not, what makes you think you are going into any command schools at all ? ....
get into the command schools themselves first before you start ruminating on such things, you DON'T CHOOSE to go to command schools ... you are CHOSEN for them ...
and if you can't pass IPPT and SOC, but are dissing and dismissing options that you don't even have ... what does it look like, really ? ... I call it hubris mixed with sour grapes .....
3sg is just throw sai kang to man.
then just answer his resposiblities to officer.
better to be a good man than a screwed up spec.