just be a man it the most fun
actually be a woman is da best....dont need to go thru all this shiat
Originally posted by thoreldan:actually be a woman is da best....dont need to go thru all this shiat
well its pretty shitty at times but u get to do alot of thing u nvl get to do in ur life its fun
i hate commanders who can't lead. i knew i can't lead, so i chose to be a man.
if you feel you can't make it as a commander, please become a man and not a half-past-6 commander to other poor troopers :)
leaders are trained
i think its better to be man if you can't lead cuz ultimately you'd suffer as a commander. i know of officers and specs who sign like tons of duties til they ORD. and that is very sad for a measly amount of money. leaders are trained yes, but the training today is very very rushed. for the same amount of things to be covered in the past, a shorter time is given today. many things are rushed and its really hard for cadets to absorb the syllabus. well, as some people told me, the idea is to give the cadets a basic rough idea and the unit will "up" him. i guess that's the whole idea today. i think its a bad idea. the reason that was given for the reduced training time is that our NSF time was reduced to 1 year 10 months, thus the need for a sped up training schedule. well, i think its the price to pay for a shorter NSF cycle.
whether to be a man or not, is really up to you - usually. there are pros and cons. you need to know which one you will most willingly wanna take up. however, if you can't even pass IPPT...i think don't worry about it lah. SOC fail still can go SISPEC or OCS, but if IPPT fail, can go neither. it's a fact of life. be man lah, its really good. still tough, but very simple. very foolproof. anything dunno, just push it to SC. =)
There's also something that you guys should also remember. Generally speaking, your liability doesn't end when you ORD. You still have reservist to do. I just went back for my ICT and there are some "men" who are well, a little older (maybe because they deferred many times). At that point, it's much better to be an officer or at least a spec, then life is much easier.
I know some will say you can downgrade or whatever, but there will be some who can't for whatever reason.
So the question then is whether you still want to do sai kang for 2+weeks a year when you are trying to finish up your ICTs. You will be older, less fit, and might have become used to a nice lifestyle in the corporate world. Last ICT, I ran into some PDF guys digging trenches. Can you imagine yourself doing that at your 9th or 10th ICT?
Also, your ego might also take a bruising if your career has taken off nicely, and have become a fairly senior executive in the civilian world, but you go back into camp and get treated not so well just because you're a "man".
Yes, the expectations are higher if you become an officer or a spec, but there are privileges that come with that. To me, it makes it all worth it. But that's just me.
Think long-term. Don't let your yearning for "stress-free life as an enlisted man" in NS take away what you might learn or be exposed to as a commander, be it a Specialist or an Officer.
actually i think man better than clerk sia.
clerk sit in the hq with the CO and RSM.
very stress one.then alot of politcs.
then those man just need to answer to the sgt or OC.
i think the biggest those man talk to is the OC.
but clerk must talk to CO and RSM.
sian sia.
Originally posted by Sakuragi86:actually i think man better than clerk sia.
clerk sit in the hq with the CO and RSM.
very stress one.then alot of politcs.
then those man just need to answer to the sgt or OC.
i think the biggest those man talk to is the OC.
but clerk must talk to CO and RSM.
sian sia.
Well, treat it as an early learning experience as to how to survive in the corporate world.
lol. I've passed my IPPT in the actual test. and i've selected 'NO' to getting into command schools few days before the actual IPPT already. i'll find out where i'm posted to on 200309. (",)
by putting 'NO', u will be putting yourself into great trouble when comes to posting; from what i heard from my sgts in my coy, if u say no to command sch, the posting will be kinda fcked up for u as cmpb there might treat u like a soldier who can be 'pushed' here and there when comes to posting.
if u say 'YES', life will be better for u abit when comes to the vocation that u will be assigned to, even if u dont end up in command sch.
Originally posted by collinnxk88:by putting 'NO', u will be putting yourself into great trouble when comes to posting; from what i heard from my sgts in my coy, if u say no to command sch, the posting will be kinda fcked up for u as cmpb there might treat u like a soldier who can be 'pushed' here and there when comes to posting.
if u say 'YES', life will be better for u abit when comes to the vocation that u will be assigned to, even if u dont end up in command sch.
I thought regardless what you put, if you are selected for command sch, u'll still be posted there.
Originally posted by tarutaru:I thought regardless what you put, if you are selected for command sch, u'll still be posted there.
yes, i agree with this. personal experience.
some things, just cannot siam one.
Go to command school a after becoming sergeant or officer must serve reservist longer.
Originally posted by will4:Go to command school a after becoming sergeant or officer must serve reservist longer.
Who told u that..........it's the same......
officers are liable to be called back till 50.
Originally posted by SexyChin:officers are liable to be called back till 50.
retirement age for officers is 45... so how come liable to call back til 50?
from the past 6-7mths as a 3sg, i find that 3sg does not really have power compared to officer.
in units even worse, u have to carefully plan what u have to say to the man or else kena craps from them. 3sg in units not really as powerful in bmt as in units really need to work tgt or will f uck up one.
then in unit, the upper management always blame the shi t on commanders
however being a 3sg got privellege too, i juz need to tell my pc i wan take off at the last min and also approve, actually i dun even bother asking him lol, juz tell my fellow specs. as spec, u can also push alot saikang to man too, i like
for man, no worries, juz follow and do suey suey and dun need scare sign anything. no responsibility too as shown from my unit.
but for man, when they wan to take off or leave, have to inform specs/officer, very restricted, have to plan carefully the off/leave.
dunno is this the same situation as in other units.
Originally posted by forum_dude:from the past 6-7mths as a 3sg, i find that 3sg does not really have power compared to officer.
in units even worse, u have to carefully plan what u have to say to the man or else kena craps from them. 3sg in units not really as powerful in bmt as in units really need to work tgt or will f uck up one.
then in unit, the upper management always blame the shi t on commanders
however being a 3sg got privellege too, i juz need to tell my pc i wan take off at the last min and also approve, actually i dun even bother asking him lol, juz tell my fellow specs. as spec, u can also push alot saikang to man too, i like
for man, no worries, juz follow and do suey suey and dun need scare sign anything. no responsibility too as shown from my unit.
but for man, when they wan to take off or leave, have to inform specs/officer, very restricted, have to plan carefully the off/leave.
dunno is this the same situation as in other units.
I have to agree, Spec in most units does have it advantages. But the responsible is also greater. Your men mistakes is all yours....but to the TS, if u don'tt want to be a officer or spec, then be it......