Originally posted by eimerz:so usually after course is 8-5? is it true that we'll have IV scarring? damn.
It's not called scarring...it's MRT station.....and yes the course is 8-5 but occassionally night training.
ok, i noe this is SAF forum..
got my vocation as a ambulance medic with scdf & have since ord-ed..
Originally posted by tarutaru:It's not called scarring...it's MRT station.....and yes the course is 8-5 but occassionally night training.
MRT station??? wot is that??
that means the IV pokes even after fully healed up will be able to see a railway track along the good arm vein used for IV practices...
Master your IV. You never know when someone will really need it.
Your IV skills is one of your best friend, really. enjoy your medic course!
btw being a medic does help in studying for a nursing diploma, at least 1st yr wise lah
Originally posted by Rednano:that means the IV pokes even after fully healed up will be able to see a railway track along the good arm vein used for IV practices...
care to explain? I thought IV pokes are just holes?? damn i hate that part where u say railway track... :S
Originally posted by eimerz:
care to explain? I thought IV pokes are just holes?? damn i hate that part where u say railway track... :S
Yes...it's just holes, but because SAF uses the thickest needle, so after poking it does leave behind a small scar on the arm where the vein is and becos every body poke more or less the same area u'll see a line of scar.....machiam map of mrt station
haha the legendary yakult straws (lol). Damn that's just gross. Is it very bad??
Anyway, how long is the service medic course and the rough timetable? From the website they stated 9 weeks but some of my friends says it's 12 weeks. Which is true?? Would it be just lectures, tests, practices, routine exercises for me or do i still have field camp and route marches, draw arms and all that shit? Thanks.
Originally posted by eimerz:haha the legendary yakult straws (lol). Damn that's just gross. Is it very bad??
Anyway, how long is the service medic course and the rough timetable? From the website they stated 9 weeks but some of my friends says it's 12 weeks. Which is true?? Would it be just lectures, tests, practices, routine exercises for me or do i still have field camp and route marches, draw arms and all that shit? Thanks.
lol... u believe the website or ur friends' words of mouths...?
Medic FAQ: http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/211855
haha true true. So after the course I'll be posted to units based on my performance or have they already decided? :(
ahhh i just got a letter from MMI which I've to give to my unit MO saying that I currently suffer from vertigo and severe tinnitus. That would not give me OOC right???? :S
he is actually right, service medic's course end by 9th week mark, but they still hang ard SMTI, and join in basic platoon activities, lectures. the only thing they don't do is heli-vac, BCS and anything that needs you to carry a rifle. those times they are expected to "observe" i.e to say, do sai kang
haha i can't wait :) always wanted to be in the medical corp. anyway since i'm in service, can i bring FBO in duffle bag during the first week and then bring field pack in second week? I don't want my field pack to look like a dick haha.
and after the course would i be posted to units based on my perf? Like sucky grades to sucky camps or it is already decided??
Originally posted by eimerz:haha i can't wait :) always wanted to be in the medical corp. anyway since i'm in service, can i bring FBO in duffle bag during the first week and then bring field pack in second week? I don't want my field pack to look like a dick haha.
and after the course would i be posted to units based on my perf? Like sucky grades to sucky camps or it is already decided??
Last time usually the 1st few weeks are paramedic course no need the FBO item, but now not sure......if the posting order ask you to bring everything, then you bring lor....surely u do not want to be marked on the 1st week.
May I ask can a PesC9L2 be a combat medic ?
Does reservist udergoing trainning in HQMC need to stay in?
Thanks
Originally posted by calibretto2k2:May I ask can a PesC9L2 be a combat medic ?
Does reservist udergoing trainning in HQMC need to stay in?
Thanks
pes a,b, c1 = can be combat medic
pes c2, c9 = can be service medic
Originally posted by Rednano:
pes a,b, c1 = can be combat medic
pes c2, c9 = can be service medic
Not really. I know many Pes C2L2 medic who are combat medic and are platoon medic during reservist.
Originally posted by calibretto2k2:Not really. I know many Pes C2L2 medic who are combat medic and are platoon medic during reservist.
then ur friends r suay...
all the medics i chit chat with/ make small talk with... as long as c2 and c9, all service medics liao... reservist ns units r all at HQ levels... e.g. HQ Formation, HQ Division...etc.
The hole after IV can disappear
dun worry
now i dun see my hole already.
:D
For basic course, i think the first 3 needle u use small needle first
after that then u use 16g which is the thickest diameter. (By looking at it, i think some pple will cry, ha)
I pop like almost 20 time or more in my entire saf life. 10 over time in basic course (cos if ur buddy pa jiao, most likely u get poke 2 time or even 3 time 1 session, ha) Then i still got medic spec course. That one more challenging, we do IV in air con room, kaoz
very easy to miss que wan
in air con room ur vein shrink, and become more difficult.
Another hated part of the course is the stretcher movement (combat phase). Anyway my course is like almost 6 year back, maybe now change alreayd. U carry the stretcher with a person lying on it, and walk around the camp, haha
tat one sweat siah, tough siah.
but then when u reach unit, it ur man gonna suffer, not u
ha
in unit we ask rifle man to carry.
field camp is the most slack field camp u ever get
the most tough thing is u got to IV in the field. But tat one easy, in the sun, very hot, the vein very big n easy to iv. haha. ANother tough is also carrying stretcher with pple lying on it.
but i think now the basic course no more field camp, only medic spec have.
ANyway if u kana post of HQ unit, esp SIB, i think ur life gonna slack, like me :P
Go to SIB, under BMO, if ur BMO good, ur life gonna be slack like mad, haha
normally MO are good pple, very seldom u see CB-KIA MO. haha
well, now Medic course stretcher movement no more use a life person le, instead a Tough Kelly is on it, and its loaden with weights till it weight about 80kg. memorable man.
heard they re-introduce fieldcamps for basic medic course. and well, there are one or two idiot MOs around haha....
hahah
good for the medic
the course is now 11 weeks and not 9 weeks. Damn. I'm in BMC now as a service medic. There are only 19 of us as compared to the 190 or more combat medics (HAHA). I was wondering if I can be posted to camps like the guards camp (anyone ORD-ing?? haha) and do service medics wear the formation badge of the camp or the SMTI one? I heard from my sergeants that most service wear the SMTI one (eg service medic in tekong wears SMTI and not 9div). Dang. And I was pes E do u guys think I can wear my no. 3 after i pass out? haha
Originally posted by eimerz:the course is now 11 weeks and not 9 weeks. Damn. I'm in BMC now as a service medic. There are only 19 of us as compared to the 190 or more combat medics (HAHA). I was wondering if I can be posted to camps like the guards camp (anyone ORD-ing?? haha) and do service medics wear the formation badge of the camp or the SMTI one? I heard from my sergeants that most service wear the SMTI one (eg service medic in tekong wears SMTI and not 9div). Dang. And I was pes E do u guys think I can wear my no. 3 after i pass out? haha
All pes E wear no 3 what....
I mean I WAS pes E but i recourse i'm pes C1L2 service medic now. Can I wear no. 3 after i'm posted out?
Originally posted by eimerz:I mean I WAS pes E but i recourse i'm pes C1L2 service medic now. Can I wear no. 3 after i'm posted out?
humm medic wear tunic with no3 trousers.