hey guys, just got posted as a combat medic after my long term MC (broken jaw) which i sustained during BMT.
just wondering, will i be ooc from the course because of my dental appointments and future MCs to come? Cos i have an upcoming day surgery to remove my molars due to my injury, and yes after the surgery, i'll only have my front few teeth left. Some more still must make temporary dentures before they do implants for me which may take a while as well. Till now still can't chew sia...
how will this affect me if i were to go through the course? especially now my jaw still hurts once in a while.
thing is i hope i won't get ooc from the course, possible to request for a service side instead?
thanks!
Originally posted by iFruit:hey guys, just got posted as a combat medic after my long term MC (broken jaw) which i sustained during BMT.
just wondering, will i be ooc from the course because of my dental appointments and future MCs to come? Cos i have an upcoming day surgery to remove my molars due to my injury, and yes after the surgery, i'll only have my front few teeth left. Some more still must make temporary dentures before they do implants for me which may take a while as well. Till now still can't chew sia...
how will this affect me if i were to go through the course? especially now my jaw still hurts once in a while.
thing is i hope i won't get ooc from the course, possible to request for a service side instead?
thanks!
Hi iFruit,
If you receive long term MCs during your course, it is likely that you will be put out of course. As for requesting of entering the service side, it is highly unlikely that your superiors will entertain such a request.
Cheers.
can somebody advise me?
i have been thru medical checkups, 1st & 2nd interviews. its has been 3weeks since my 2nd interview. have yet to receive any news from SAF.
am signing on as a combat medic.
Originally posted by Tanyl:can somebody advise me?
i have been thru medical checkups, 1st & 2nd interviews. its has been 3weeks since my 2nd interview. have yet to receive any news from SAF.
am signing on as a combat medic.
Hi Tanyl,
Do not worry too much about it, the processing of all the documents will take quite some time. As a side note, regardless of whether you are accepted or rejected, they will still inform you.
All the best to you in your application.
Cheers.
I'm posted to 9 SIR after my BMC course. Any idea what the medics there do?
what 9sir? where got 9sir? 9div???
Originally posted by AhJun:what 9sir? where got 9sir? 9div???
it's 9sir. in maju camp. i guess it's a new unit.
Anyone have any idea on what do i have to do during medic training? and how long is it?
Originally posted by voltrons.:Anyone have any idea on what do i have to do during medic training? and how long is it?
min 10 iv poke and alot of theory.to study. heard the next batch confirm going to have 3 route march.
the course will be 10 or 12-13 weeks. depends whether u service or combat medic
oh ok.
3 route march? of how many click?
service 10 weeks?
by e way thanks for information ;D
Originally posted by voltrons.:oh ok.
3 route march? of how many click?
service 10 weeks?
by e way thanks for information ;D
if i'm not wrong, it's either 2,4 and 8 or 4,8,12.
sounds easy? try doing it with the new medic bag plus stretcher.
u got into medic?
hi people, i help u all can help me.
Im posted to service medic this monday. as medic, injections all that need to be precise and steady hands. but i have essential tremor so my hands will tremor and when nervous i cant control things. WHat can i do? ask for change of posting?
if u dont have any excuse letter, doubt can change. many have gone through it. so, just do it.
im excuse firearms n gernade during bmt becoz i cant handle things steadily n precisely. so i can use the letter to voice out? i dunno i cant go thru it well or not. ppl w/o this problem also shiver.
I remember the CO will meet and screen every1, before starting the course, anyway there is nothing medically strange in SMM, so you can speak directly to the sgt or mo, who is a medic or mo himself.
thanks. i will sound out. if they tink im fit to, i will happily do it.
Originally posted by Yanyanyan8881:thanks. i will sound out. if they tink im fit to, i will happily do it.
service medic ok lah, there are post like dispensary, MO pa, counter, med log. they dont required IV or injection skills. Anyway it is the MO or the senior medic who do the IV in E case.
Originally posted by Yanyanyan8881:hi people, i help u all can help me.
Im posted to service medic this monday. as medic, injections all that need to be precise and steady hands. but i have essential tremor so my hands will tremor and when nervous i cant control things. WHat can i do? ask for change of posting?
My friend is an excellent medic and his hands also tremble terribly.I have yet to see him fail IV.His hands trembles even at rest.They will not grant u leave due to tremors.
As for Route March,i never did any whilst i was on course.Never heard of anyone doing it before,not my seniors,nor my juniors.
For the medic bags,the reality is that they only have a few to spare.Medical centres like mine with over 20 medics got only 8 bags for all of us.Interesting thing is that there's an AED in the bag.Lose it and die.LOL
My MO does not do IV during E cases.We do it on the patients whilst they are on the resus table as well.As for Senior Medics,when was the last time u see any in action??Luckily my SM is quite good.She stays and supervises us,unlike the majority that will leave it to the medics and MO.The reality far outstrips the nobility of the Corps
so how often we do the injection thingy? any idea?
Once to twice per week.Make sure you pass the 1st round.I never missed on course so i did not suffer but for those that missed on a few attempts,they had to redo it and it was terrible for them.IV is a piece of cake.Once you get the hang of it,easy-piezy.I dont even need to do a figure of 7 not make sure the arm is secured.LOL
sian i fear needles any manner to overcome it?
we inject ourselves or buddy?
Originally posted by voltrons.:sian i fear needles any manner to overcome it?
we inject ourselves or buddy?
Yes...u really have to poke your buddy....as for the fear.....when u see more of it, your'll overcome it.
Hi guys, I think my question is abit off topic..
I'm posted to service medic on Monday but I got a TP test on the next day morning (Tuesday), so who should I speak to regarding applying for a leave? The chief clerk when I report or...?
Thanks greatly for your help!! :)
Originally posted by rx7Savanna:Hi guys, I think my question is abit off topic..
I'm posted to service medic on Monday but I got a TP test on the next day morning (Tuesday), so who should I speak to regarding applying for a leave? The chief clerk when I report or...?
Thanks greatly for your help!! :)
tell ur sgt.
I didnt know there was a Chief Clerk In the Medical Centre although i was a full-time medical centre medic.LOL