im doing NS soon and im left handed. SAR-21 u can't fire lefty. what do you guys think will happen? do i fire right handed or do they give u conversion kits?
they will provide you with deflectors if you are left handed..
though in my unit they lazy to indent the deflectors so lefties just fire like a right hander..
lan lan suck thumb
Originally posted by countingdowntoORD:they will provide you with deflectors if you are left handed..
though in my unit they lazy to indent the deflectors so lefties just fire like a right hander..
i only heard of M16 / AR15 can have deflector (a simple metal plate) to attach...
SAR21 rifle have deflector meh?
If I am not wrong, there is no deflector for SAR21 becuase the ejector is designed to eject empty rounds diagonally (compared to M16 which is horizontally, hence the need for deflectors) . However, due to kiasu-ism and kiasee-ism, the supposedly ambidextrous weapon is trained mandatory for right hand only.
then its not that good for the master eye - left eye (perfect vision) vs right eye (lazy eye?)...
if use M16 with deflector, he is a marksman,
but if use SAR21, he is a bobo shooter...
Then that will depend how our flexible ur Conducting/Supervising/Safety Officers are ... ...
im a leftie too. yes sar21 is designed to eject empty rounds diagonally, but u lan lan have to use right hand. must learn la. will help when u start firing with other weapons, esp matador.
no such thing as deflector for SAR21. Most bullpup rifles are right hander only
if so, then mindef should have just assign left handers to focus train mainly on M16 rifle with deflector, since most left handers are mostly also left master eye too...
wait later people keng left master eye/hand then no one use SAR 21 already, then unker teo wun be too happy and in fact will burst blood vessel
lolx SAR 21 has a build in deflector liao dun worry after u fire liao the round eject to the front unless ur running lor then no choice liao
read from somewhere SAR21 LL must use right hand way to hold? cos of internal explosion? the plate protect only right handed ppl. i think i read it from wiki
Originally posted by Rednano:if so, then mindef should have just assign left handers to focus train mainly on M16 rifle with deflector, since most left handers are mostly also left master eye too...
you gotta ask MINDEF about that, what we do back when i was active is to assign left handers as M203 or SAW. now with SAR21 GL i dunno how they go around that problem. Just shoot right handed...bobo nevermind..
its easy anyway.
Use handguns.
what if they start making left handed SAR-21s? will that happen u reckon?
As i said, the weapon is supposedly ambidextrous ... just that SAF is cork and forces everyone to use it in a right handed manner ...
The Kevlar plating on the left side of the weapon butt (where a right-handed user's face would typically be) is effective in protecting the user from any internal chamber explosion by directing the resulting force to the right. However, that resultant force would also seriously injure anyone unfortunate enough to be on the right side of the weapon. In the case of a user firing from his left shoulder, this could cause severe injury to his face.
quote from wiki
ya, confirm is bcos of the kevlar plate position, there is no deflector for SAR21, even if the cartridge eject front, ur right hand might get hit too, if ur right hand holding the front guard. Getting hit by empty carts can kena burn de, my friend tio b4 but from saw...
no firing of the SAR-21 left handed. too dangeorus, as so kindly detailed by Xelement and codexboy. your encik/pc/spec will smile at you, and tell you 'just fire with your right hand. its easy!' and it really is. alot of my guys converted. no major issues. none actually. dont worry about being bobo. you'd get better with time. with the SAF you'd fire the most number of live rounds of any other civilian army out there. i read that from some book in borders, can't remember which one i'm afraid.
there is no SAR-21 left handed. paradoxically, it was meant to be an ambidextrous weapon (hence the downward ejection) , but because of the potential chamber explosion issue, it became a righty only weapon.
use the scope to shoot... the scope quite big, can aim with your left eye if need be... just adjust...
than fire with right hand, as per normal. Never heard of deflectors for it, unless it's a new thing.
I saw my S3 using it in a left handed manner. When the safety spec asked nicely " Sir, can like tt meh?"
The reply was " dun ask so much ... "
Originally posted by M@nvvhore:im doing NS soon and im left handed. SAR-21 u can't fire lefty. what do you guys think will happen? do i fire right handed or do they give u conversion kits?
I am a lefty. But... I am firing using the right style. But sling on left side. It is going to be very complicated for lefty. ALL in all, I had a hard time learning a right handed weapon. Military is out for me.
The whole company only me have problem with guns. I already freaky back then.
SAR 21 for right handers only
left handers/left master eye fire like right handers
can aim with open eye, thus left master eye not applicable...