As I'm approaching the end of my Poly education, my results are sufficient enough to enter some government uni courses.
Just wondering, as a poly student, what are the chances of getting into OCS? And if I have secured a place in uni, and signed on. Do they pay for my school fees even though its a arts degree?
And hows the pay structure like?
Other than that, I'm wearing specs, both eyes less than 400. Any possibilities to join the airforce?
Thanks!
Airforce need a minimum height
arts no
1.78m tall.
Then what courses can? IT and engineering only?
management
engineering
they only sponsor things that are work related.
and they will not pay just because you sign on
btw if u secured a place a place in uni
its either u go uni, or u work
unless u have a scholarship which the garmen is sponsoring u
Your weight and body fat determinations (as accomplished at MEPS or other point of entry to service) remain part of accession physical standards and may also be used as entry criteria for accession training programs. The standard is a maximum body fat of 20% for males <30, 24% for males >30, 28% for females <30, and 32% for females >30.
Originally posted by Agenda:As I'm approaching the end of my Poly education, my results are sufficient enough to enter some government uni courses.
Just wondering, as a poly student, what are the chances of getting into OCS? And if I have secured a place in uni, and signed on. Do they pay for my school fees even though its a arts degree?
Other than that, I'm wearing specs, both eyes less than 400. Any possibilities to join the airforce?
Thanks!
Yes, it is possible for you to join the RSAF, but it depends on what you want to sign on as. These two links will show you an example in the differences in eyesight requirement for different vocations:
http://brightminds.com.sg/nyp/profile/bm09_rsaf/index.php?jid=55013
http://brightminds.com.sg/nyp/profile/bm09_rsaf/index.php?jid=55008
Do a simple search of the mindef website. The pay scales and career advancement are all there. Even the study awards and scholarships. alternatively u can drop them an email or a line. Cheers.
Are you in need of money, or is it just your interest to join the forces?
My advice... is not to sign on.
If you're interested in becoming a pilot, join the aviation school in singapore. The pay structure is way much better, you get alot of perks, etc.
You'll be bonded by a contract if you decide to sign on.. better think twice. Do the maths and at the end of the contract.. will it be worth your time and effort?
good luck!
While it's a thinking that all fighter pilots get instant accrediation to SIA but from what I heard from my friend, it's those who are with helicopters and those good carrier plans that gets higher chances of being SIA pilot because they more or less do the same thing whereas fighter pilots job scoopes are very different from commercial pilot. (correct me if i'm wrong)
If i didn't remember wrongly, it's better to be shorter to be a pilot
Max Height around 170cm because you don't want to be uncomfortable in the fighter jet. This is based on what I know when I was enlisted in yr 2007 when they came to tekong for the recruitment talk. There are a lot of other strignent checks as well too..
Pilot Contract is minimum 12 years unlike a OCS (Army) contract is 3 yrs - after your completed your OCS and passout as a officer la..than they will back-pay you 10 months.
Here's another insight, go Taiwan learn Commercial Pilot License, it cost only SGD1,800 only for a year - it was reported in News just a week ago only lor..
Originally posted by the_fallen:While it's a thinking that all fighter pilots get instant accrediation to SIA but from what I heard from my friend, it's those who are with helicopters and those good carrier plans that gets higher chances of being SIA pilot because they more or less do the same thing whereas fighter pilots job scoopes are very different from commercial pilot. (correct me if i'm wrong)
Max Height around 170cm because you don't want to be uncomfortable in the fighter jet. This is based on what I know when I was enlisted in yr 2007 when they came to tekong for the recruitment talk. There are a lot of other strignent checks as well too..
Pilot Contract is minimum 12 years unlike a OCS (Army) contract is 3 yrs - after your completed your OCS and passout as a officer la..than they will back-pay you 10 months.
Here's another insight, go Taiwan learn Commercial Pilot License, it cost only SGD1,800 only for a year - it was reported in News just a week ago only lor..
Its supposed to be the other way around if i am not wrong.
Say, flying a rotor and a fixed wing is different. Those who fly jets have jet time and also different from flying props.
They will try to take males with shorter stature because the smaller built you are the more g force you tend to tolerate.
sufficient no means good enuff leh.
u muz oso tk dis into consideration.
Originally posted by the_fallen:While it's a thinking that all fighter pilots get instant accrediation to SIA but from what I heard from my friend, it's those who are with helicopters and those good carrier plans that gets higher chances of being SIA pilot because they more or less do the same thing whereas fighter pilots job scoopes are very different from commercial pilot. (correct me if i'm wrong)
the licence or certificate obtained or whatever from there recognised internationally, including SG?what are the minimum requirements?
Originally posted by Ptky1010:Are you in need of money, or is it just your interest to join the forces?
My advice... is not to sign on.
If you're interested in becoming a pilot, join the aviation school in singapore. The pay structure is way much better, you get alot of perks, etc.
You'll be bonded by a contract if you decide to sign on.. better think twice. Do the maths and at the end of the contract.. will it be worth your time and effort?
good luck!
(question same as above)
Originally posted by Agenda:As I'm approaching the end of my Poly education, my results are sufficient enough to enter some government uni courses.
Thanks!
Most people will tell you that it is not worth it to sign on. I will tell you that to each his own. One man's meat is another man's poison. However, if a lot of people tell you that it is not worth it, you might want to explore why the majority says so.
I won't bluff you, I signed on that dotted line before but I got out due to a special reason. Still, you might want to get yourself a clearer look at the culture and organisation before you sign on the dotted line. That is because the organisation and culture is not what most people can tolerate. You need to have an, I will say unconventional, mindset to stay on.
I won't discourage nor encourage you to sign on. It's your decision. Do keep in mind that it's the recruitment's job to sell you the good stuff and not tell you the bad stuff. After all, no sane salesman will tell what's wrong with his product. You need to be clear as to whether you want to stay till 50 or you might opt for a career switch at around 28 to 30?
Now onto your questions proper:
"Just wondering, as a poly student, what are the chances of getting into OCS?"
It depends on your BMT performance. The chances of you getting into OCS as a regular is higher than that of an NSF.
"And if I have secured a place in uni, and signed on. Do they pay for my school fees even though its a arts degree?"
Yes, if you sign on as an officer, you will most likely be given Local Study Award which pays for your tuition fees + some allowances during the course of your study. You can't, however, opt to study for certain courses. Check here for the list. Most arts degree will be okay for you. Also, since you mentioned arts degree, I guess engineering jobs are out for you.
"And hows the pay structure like?"
Ok this is supposed to be classified. However, since you asked, I shall use my example. That time I signed on as an A level graduate as a WSO in the RSAF (since you asked about the RSAF I assume you are interested in it). My starting monthly pay is $1970 including 15% CPF contribution as an officer cadet. That's the lowest starting pay among the officer pay structure. There are 3 pay schemes: Scheme A, B and C. Scheme A is for A level and Poly graduates. Of course, poly graduates get a bit more than A level graduates. Scheme B is for degree graduates. Scheme C is for the high flyers and they must be in Scheme B before they can qualify for Scheme C through a selection process. Also, some Scheme A people can crossover to Scheme B if they do not hold the necessary qualifications but they are very good in their performances. Of course, there are the scholars whose payscales are calculated differently but will it be fair for me to say that you are most likely not a 4.0 GPA and thus your chance of landing a Merit Scholarship is not that high? Sorry if I sound a bit offensive but I have got to present you the truth. Ok, as a guide, for a Scheme B CPT (aka degree qualification), it's around $3000+ starting.
"Other than that, I'm wearing specs, both eyes less than 400. Any possibilities to join the airforce?"
Now looking at this link, you can even be a pilot even though both your eyes have 500 deg each. Most importantly, in the RSAF, you can't be colour blind. That's because red and green are important colours in aviation and aircraft recognition. As such, you can be a pilot or a WSO PROVIDED you pass the medical, COMPASS test (a test of your ability to do what your vocation requires of you) and training. I will discount Air Engineering Officer because you mentioned that you are going for an arts degree in university.
If you have any questions, you are always welcome to ask questions about RSAF in these threads: http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/324100?page=10 or http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/308047?page=17
And oh, someone by the nick of Gloater/Gloaterback will probably reply here or PM you to warn against taking my advice because: " I am not one of your peers in school (NUS) with questionable IQ. I was warning the unsuspecting and innocent forummers about taking what you say wholesale and not with a pinch of salt. Your credibility is doubtful because you have the proven tendency to believe things you have no basis in believing. Such as the results of your internet adversaries, amongst other farmer assumptions."
I believe I must include contrary opinions about me to make it more balanced. Your choice as to whether you want to take my advice as true or not.
Remember, in the end, it's your life. You have one chance, live it and love it.
Originally posted by kengkia:the licence or certificate obtained or whatever from there recognised internationally, including SG?what are the minimum requirements?
I think it should be internationally recognised one de la, else Channel 8 will not boardcast it de ba..
Moreover it takes 1 yr and is conducted in english, any other details if anybody have can tell me too? because i'm thinking of flying there to learn it too. (this is as much as what I know only from the short news boardcast)
If's it's sub-standard one i believe it should be easier ba because my fren who went to Taiwan can easily just learn driving with the instructor not saying anything, just pass him the key and than drive as they learn..easy to get class 3 license over there but there's a criteria - Must live there for at least 9 months to qualify to learn, no short-term international citizens accepted - that's what i heard from my fren who was attached to Taiwan for his NSF who ORD last yr..
Originally posted by Pitot:Its supposed to be the other way around if i am not wrong.
Say, flying a rotor and a fixed wing is different. Those who fly jets have jet time and also different from flying props.
They will try to take males with shorter stature because the smaller built you are the more g force you tend to tolerate.
anything la, cause i myself didn't even make it to the very first interview for air-force during my tekong days thanks to my eye sight which has above 150 degrees..sigh..
that's not important now that we have another option to become pilot .... at the same time can go taiwan take Class 3 License too..hehe..BEST of all is the food, and girls...chio bu... killing 4 birds with 1 stone.. LOL..
Originally posted by the_fallen:I think it should be internationally recognised one de la, else Channel 8 will not boardcast it de ba..
Moreover it takes 1 yr and is conducted in english, any other details if anybody have can tell me too? because i'm thinking of flying there to learn it too. (this is as much as what I know only from the short news boardcast)
If's it's sub-standard one i believe it should be easier ba because my fren who went to Taiwan can easily just learn driving with the instructor not saying anything, just pass him the key and than drive as they learn..easy to get class 3 license over there but there's a criteria - Must live there for at least 9 months to qualify to learn, no short-term international citizens accepted - that's what i heard from my fren who was attached to Taiwan for his NSF who ORD last yr..
what is the name of the school or for that matter the webbie link?
Originally posted by teraexa:Most people will tell you that it is not worth it to sign on. I will tell you that to each his own. One man's meat is another man's poison. However, if a lot of people tell you that it is not worth it, you might want to explore why the majority says so.
I won't bluff you, I signed on that dotted line before but I got out due to a special reason. Still, you might want to get yourself a clearer look at the culture and organisation before you sign on the dotted line. That is because the organisation and culture is not what most people can tolerate. You need to have an, I will say unconventional, mindset to stay on.
I won't discourage nor encourage you to sign on. It's your decision. Do keep in mind that it's the recruitment's job to sell you the good stuff and not tell you the bad stuff. After all, no sane salesman will tell what's wrong with his product. You need to be clear as to whether you want to stay till 50 or you might opt for a career switch at around 28 to 30?
Now onto your questions proper:
"Just wondering, as a poly student, what are the chances of getting into OCS?"
It depends on your BMT performance. The chances of you getting into OCS as a regular is higher than that of an NSF.
"And if I have secured a place in uni, and signed on. Do they pay for my school fees even though its a arts degree?"
Yes, if you sign on as an officer, you will most likely be given Local Study Award which pays for your tuition fees + some allowances during the course of your study. You can't, however, opt to study for certain courses. Check here for the list. Most arts degree will be okay for you. Also, since you mentioned arts degree, I guess engineering jobs are out for you.
"And hows the pay structure like?"
Ok this is supposed to be classified. However, since you asked, I shall use my example. That time I signed on as an A level graduate as a WSO in the RSAF (since you asked about the RSAF I assume you are interested in it). My starting monthly pay is $1970 including 15% CPF contribution as an officer cadet. That's the lowest starting pay among the officer pay structure. There are 3 pay schemes: Scheme A, B and C. Scheme A is for A level and Poly graduates. Of course, poly graduates get a bit more than A level graduates. Scheme B is for degree graduates. Scheme C is for the high flyers and they must be in Scheme B before they can qualify for Scheme C through a selection process. Also, some Scheme A people can crossover to Scheme B if they do not hold the necessary qualifications but they are very good in their performances. Of course, there are the scholars whose payscales are calculated differently but will it be fair for me to say that you are most likely not a 4.0 GPA and thus your chance of landing a Merit Scholarship is not that high? Sorry if I sound a bit offensive but I have got to present you the truth. Ok, as a guide, for a Scheme B CPT (aka degree qualification), it's around $3000+ starting.
"Other than that, I'm wearing specs, both eyes less than 400. Any possibilities to join the airforce?"
Now looking at this link, you can even be a pilot even though both your eyes have 500 deg each. Most importantly, in the RSAF, you can't be colour blind. That's because red and green are important colours in aviation and aircraft recognition. As such, you can be a pilot or a WSO PROVIDED you pass the medical, COMPASS test (a test of your ability to do what your vocation requires of you) and training. I will discount Air Engineering Officer because you mentioned that you are going for an arts degree in university.
If you have any questions, you are always welcome to ask questions about RSAF in these threads: http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/324100?page=10 or http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/308047?page=17
And oh, someone by the nick of Gloater/Gloaterback will probably reply here or PM you to warn against taking my advice because: " I am not one of your peers in school (NUS) with questionable IQ. I was warning the unsuspecting and innocent forummers about taking what you say wholesale and not with a pinch of salt. Your credibility is doubtful because you have the proven tendency to believe things you have no basis in believing. Such as the results of your internet adversaries, amongst other farmer assumptions."
I believe I must include contrary opinions about me to make it more balanced. Your choice as to whether you want to take my advice as true or not.
Remember, in the end, it's your life. You have one chance, live it and love it.
look at you giving advice when you know squat again. I am not interested in 'stalking' you and neither am i concerned with your farmer university delusions. Afterall, fools have the right to daydream. But you time and again spout false information in the guise of giving 'advice' to those who seek it, that leaves me with no choice.
Pls look at what i quoted of you which I bold.
You are so tragically wrong again, and why? Cos you are a farmer. That's why yours is a farmer's view.
SMS the farmer scholarship has the same payscale as ATA and MTA. At its highest, it's only scheme C. So you are wrong to claim that they have 'special payscale' or that they are 'scholars'.
Next, he does not require a GPA of 4.0 to be offered the SMS. I know at least 3 poly graduates who were offered the SMS. Only 2 of them have a diploma with merit. You do not need 4.0 either to get a diploma with merit. If i'm not wrong just top 20% of the cohort, anyone poly grad or students here please correct me if i'm wrong. Unlike some people, I don't 'sound so sure' when it comes to matter that I have no actual experience in.
SMS holders are not considered scholars in SAF, like three other people in a single thread here earlier who told you, SMS is a farmer scholarship, for A level holders, very bad results like 4A with no S papers also can get. In other words, anyone can get it, like what 3 of us in the thread agreed earlier. Of course everything is relative. Perhaps to you, you don't see the joke we see, because in the loser law school you're about to enrol, one can get in with BBA and the average there is AAB. Pathetic...
SMS's pay is NOT calculated differently. By the sheer fact that they adhere to the same pay scales and their pay is calculated the same way as everyone else, is a clear indication that they are half fuck scholars in the SAF.
How can SMS's pay be calculated differently and not just with Schemes A/B/C? SMS is an SAF product. Scheme A/B/C are SAF payscale. SMS, just like ATA and MTA adhere to this payscale like everyone else in the SAF. Get it?
The ONLY reason SAFOS's pay is calculated differently, is because they are PSC scholars. Wake up.
Please don't waste people's time by giving misguided and false information about scholars and their lives when you were never one. I even know of SMS people who fail to get scheme C.
Originally posted by Pitot:Its supposed to be the other way around if i am not wrong.
Pitot is correct. Fixed wings like f16 and fighter jets are considered 'fixed wing'. the wings are fixed and do not rotate. rotor like choppers will find themselves having a harder time switching to commercial piloting. In piloting both military and commercial, what happens is that the number of hours in which you fly are clocked. So a military pilot who goes to any airline to be a commercial pilot, will get a starting pay based on the number of hours he's clocked flying fixed wing as a military pilot. That is the reason why a military pilot who goes to a commercial airline does not start as a first officer or get some measly peanut pay of some moron starting out at an airline at the start.
A rotor pilot does not get to clock his hours as fixed wing so all the hours he clocked up in his military career may translate to zero when he considers a career change.
Among pilots in the RSAF, there exists different stratification of classes, you can see the stratification manifesting in pay differences and also the demand of each class.
Fighter pilots are paid more and have higher prestige than transport pilots. This is one class difference. You can fly fixed wing and still end up as transport pilot, cos you dun have what it takes physically and mentally to be fighter.
Fixed wings are paid more and have higher prestige than rotors like choppers. The demand to become fixed wing is also higher lah.
Of cos with the purchase of the Apache, which is a rotor with fighting capabilities, things are thrown into a bit of disarray. The pilots who fly Apache are below fighter jet pilots but probably on par with transport fixed wing pilots.
Of cos judging from this, you can see clearly the lowest rung is the helicopter transport pilot. And the highest class of pilot is the fighter fixed wing pilot. Of course the rung of prestige manifests in pay too. These things are all interconnected.
double post
Same advice I give to everyone else who wants to sign on:
Go do your BMT first to get a feel of whether you really want a military career.
Decide whether or not you want to sign on only after your BMT.