aiyah, me teech u hw to decide lah!
regret hvin signed on or regret hvin hd nt signed on - which one u more scared?
TO ALL:
A GPA 4 OR BETTER=CERT OF MERIT DIPLOMA.NOT ANYONE CAN GET IT.A DIPLOMA IS MORE USEFUL THAN A GPA4 OR BETTER OR A LEVEL CERT.
GLOATER IS WRONG IN SOME RESPECTS.PERHAPS HE HASNT BEEN EDUCATED MUCH SO DUN TAKE ANYTHING AT HEART FROM HIM.HE IS MORE LIKE A DISENCHANTED FARMER FROM MALAYSIA MANNING HIS PADI FIELDS AND NASI KANDAR.
FUDGESTER IS ALSO WRONG...ENROL ASAP IF U FEEL MILITARY IS IN YER BLOOD.
ARTS DEGREE??????AN OFFICER WITH AN ARTS DEGREE??MAYBE U WILL END UP AS A OFFICER IN CHARGE OF STORES....IN THE ARMY.WHAT IS WRONG WITH ENGINEERRING DEGREES?MOST MILITARY IN SPORE ONLY TAKE IN ENGINEERING DEGREES OR THE STANDARD DEGREES.A ARTS DEGREE???ONLY HEARD OF A GENERAL WITH THAT KINDA degree a long time ago......but nowadays,,,,a recognised degree is pretty common in spore.an arts degree is defintely a waste of time and $$$ in spore .go fopr engineering or something like that.....even a engineering science degree is also good .junk the arts....do it as a hobby.
Originally posted by TERMINATOR2000:TO ALL:
A GPA 4 OR BETTER=CERT OF MERIT DIPLOMA.NOT ANYONE CAN GET IT.A DIPLOMA IS MORE USEFUL THAN A GPA4 OR BETTER OR A LEVEL CERT.
GLOATER IS WRONG IN SOME RESPECTS.PERHAPS HE HASNT BEEN EDUCATED MUCH SO DUN TAKE ANYTHING AT HEART FROM HIM.HE IS MORE LIKE A DISENCHANTED FARMER FROM MALAYSIA MANNING HIS PADI FIELDS AND NASI KANDAR.
FUDGESTER IS ALSO WRONG...ENROL ASAP IF U FEEL MILITARY IS IN YER BLOOD.
ARTS DEGREE??????AN OFFICER WITH AN ARTS DEGREE??MAYBE U WILL END UP AS A OFFICER IN CHARGE OF STORES....IN THE ARMY.WHAT IS WRONG WITH ENGINEERRING DEGREES?MOST MILITARY IN SPORE ONLY TAKE IN ENGINEERING DEGREES OR THE STANDARD DEGREES.A ARTS DEGREE???ONLY HEARD OF A GENERAL WITH THAT KINDA degree a long time ago......but nowadays,,,,a recognised degree is pretty common in spore.an arts degree is defintely a waste of time and $$$ in spore .go fopr engineering or something like that.....even a engineering science degree is also good .junk the arts....do it as a hobby.
What a load of Hogwash.
1. You need to calm down.
2. "A GPA 4 OR BETTER=CERT OF MERIT DIPLOMA." For Sg diplomas, there is no such thing as "or better". Polys in sg max out at gpa 4. Students with a GPA lower than that of 4 would also be able to attain a Diploma with merit if they fall within the top percentile. Both qualifications have their own merits. For eg, if you were to join the workforce, a dip would be better as you would have more exp and command a higher pay. But an A level gives you a wider variety in areas of academia (provided you don't screw it up).
3.Even though Gloater/gloaterback's opinions might reek of elitism. He does put to light certain aspects of the SAF the some might not know. Though i must admit his biasness and insensitiveness are uncalled for.
4. Fudgester is right. Do serve bmt first. after all, there's no rush. They aren't gonna deny you the chance of Study awards and what not if you decide to sign on after BMT. Besides, you wouldn't want to buy a car without test driving first it no?=)
5. It would be good to discuss your academic positioning with a recruitment officer as I believe they're in the best position to further advice you on the relevancy of your degree of interest. As our military is very academicaly driven, I would advise a degree that you have confidence to do well in. As your future pay would be directly pegged to your academic qualification. i.e degree = $X degree with good honours = $X + $ Y. All the info can be found on the mindef website. Btw, there are no "junk" degrees. They are just niches in their various industries.
My two cents worth. Cheers.
Originally posted by jus-tea:What a load of Hogwash.
1. You need to calm down.
2. "A GPA 4 OR BETTER=CERT OF MERIT DIPLOMA." For Sg diplomas, there is no such thing as "or better". Polys in sg max out at gpa 4. Students with a GPA lower than that of 4 would also be able to attain a Diploma with merit if they fall within the top percentile. Both qualifications have their own merits. For eg, if you were to join the workforce, a dip would be better as you would have more exp and command a higher pay. But an A level gives you a wider variety in areas of academia (provided you don't screw it up).
3.Even though Gloater/gloaterback's opinions might reek of elitism. He does put to light certain aspects of the SAF the some might not know. Though i must admit his biasness and insensitiveness are uncalled for.
4. Fudgester is right. Do serve bmt first. after all, there's no rush. They aren't gonna deny you the chance of Study awards and what not if you decide to sign on after BMT. Besides, you wouldn't want to buy a car without test driving first it no?=)
5. It would be good to discuss your academic positioning with a recruitment officer as I believe they're in the best position to further advice you on the relevancy of your degree of interest. As our military is very academicaly driven, I would advise a degree that you have confidence to do well in. As your future pay would be directly pegged to your academic qualification. i.e degree = $X degree with good honours = $X + $ Y. All the info can be found on the mindef website. Btw, there are no "junk" degrees. They are just niches in their various industries.
My two cents worth. Cheers.
He is very agitated and can't help but yell at the top of his voice for the love of his mother because he's the TERMINATOR.
In any case, I've stated plainly that unlike somebody hor, no need to name names, I don't try to "sound so dead sure" about issues that I don't have actual experience in, not like you know someone lah. So since I did not go to poly, I said in no uncertain terms that I am not sure if dip with merit = GPA 4.0. I didn't even know that poly has a GPA system like US universities. I was told by my friends in poly that diploma with merit is either the top graduating 20% or 10%. And I know at least 1 diploma holder who got SMS without getting that leh. I think TS has an EXTREMELY high chance of getting it. Don't listen to crap talkers like someone.
Thanks for your info Jus-Tea. What is the percentile set in polys in order for a student to graduate with diploma with merit then? Is it 5, 10 or 20%?
Indeed now that you have offered the info that GPA 4.0 is the max in polys, even if you fail to obtain 4.0 by a large margin, you can still graduate with dip with merit, which was what I said earlier about someone talking cock about 4.0 and SMS.
Originally posted by the_fallen:While it's a thinking that all fighter pilots get instant accrediation to SIA but from what I heard from my friend, it's those who are with helicopters and those good carrier plans that gets higher chances of being SIA pilot because they more or less do the same thing whereas fighter pilots job scoopes are very different from commercial pilot. (correct me if i'm wrong)
Another thing to add about this. How can it ever be conceivably possible logically for rotor to have more transferable experience than fixed wing?! LOL. Have you ever seen a fixed wing suspended stationary in the air? Do you think the ability to land a rotored craft is closer than a fixed wing military jet to landing a commercial plane?
Also, it's not true that anyone with myopia above 150 will be disqualified immediately by RSAF on that basis alone, if he meets all the other criteria for pilot. I know of a handful of people who had their myopia lasik-ed for the job. Singapore has the highest myopia rate in the world.
if you become a transport pilot cos you can't pass the fitness tests for fighter, you will work a lot with army if i'm not wrong, you will be involved in their exercises by transporting their men. who do you think pilot the choppers from which the Guardsmen rappel from? And then you will do a lot of airborne work with army too so their soldiers can parachute off your chopper.. i think they use Chinooks for this?? Not as sure about that. Also, overseas humanitarian efforts like the Aceh and Mauboloh (spelling?) one require our RSAF transport pilots to send soldiers, commanders and supplies and relief aid there.
Another thing, the Apaches may be piloted by RSAF pilots but they're owned by Army.
to Terminator : If you continue to post in caps, your post will be edited.
Gloaterback : Meulaboh is the right spelling.
Hi guys. I have just cleared my Diploma in some engine course, NAPFA and Commando VA.. Now I am awaiting for enlistment to SOTAC @ Pasir Ris Camp.
Actually is always a dream for me to be in the elite forces and I am rather surprise I am being sent to Commando for my NS. I have heard a lot of negative ans from forum-ers about signing on
Just a breif introduce about my interest. I am keen to sign on ONLY if I am an Officer. I 100% would like to further my studies. Local Studies Award. Will I be sponsored? How long will I get to CPT rank?
But then the qns. How many people are chosen to go to OCS from CDO?
Originally posted by Agenda:As I'm approaching the end of my Poly education, my results are sufficient enough to enter some government uni courses.
Just wondering, as a poly student, what are the chances of getting into OCS? And if I have secured a place in uni, and signed on. Do they pay for my school fees even though its a arts degree?
And hows the pay structure like?
Other than that, I'm wearing specs, both eyes less than 400. Any possibilities to join the airforce?
Thanks!
Actually... can consider again when you are in BMT... No rush to sign yet...
Originally posted by SGcommando:Hi guys. I have just cleared my Diploma in some engine course, NAPFA and Commando VA.. Now I am awaiting for enlistment to SOTAC @ Pasir Ris Camp.
Actually is always a dream for me to be in the elite forces and I am rather surprise I am being sent to Commando for my NS. I have heard a lot of negative ans from forum-ers about signing on
Just a breif introduce about my interest. I am keen to sign on ONLY if I am an Officer. I 100% would like to further my studies. Local Studies Award. Will I be sponsored? How long will I get to CPT rank?
LSA = "farmer officer" study award scheme.
stuck at LTA rank for 3 to 5 years b4 even being considered for CPT rank promotion...
okay.. I have to make sure that I will have a rank of CPT as the pay is somewhat good 3K+ Need to secure a job fast as I am going to settle down with my GF in about 5~6 years time..
and remember... once u made a moderate/severe mistake in the armed forces, u will most likely be condemned, have a record in the military black book of the personnel file and then can hentak kaki at the same rank and appointment for a very long time...
and if u go outside work next time if u decide to quit, military work experience is equals to 0 working experience in the private sector...
maybe if u go join the civil service in other ministries, maybe... will give u some increments for ur sign on regular military work experience...
Originally posted by SGcommando:Hi guys. I have just cleared my Diploma in some engine course, NAPFA and Commando VA.. Now I am awaiting for enlistment to SOTAC @ Pasir Ris Camp.
Actually it will be better for you to sign on as an engineering officer, since you have an engineering Diploma. If you have a really outstanding GPA and study record, the chances of you becoming an officer will almost be 100% if you sign on.
Quite a number of engineering courses are sponsored by the government, and that is why I advice you to be an engineering officer, as the government will only pay for something related to your field of work.
As for how long you will get you CPT rank, it will depend mostly on whether your are a scholar or a farmer. If you are a scholar, expect yourself to be a CPT within 2 years after being promoted to LTA, provided that your performance is sufficiently good. But if you are a farmer...read rednano's post above.
The amount of people who go to OCS from CDO is not definite or set down, but if you sign on as a CDO officer, the chances of you entering are almost 100%, provided that you do not get into any trouble in during your CDO BMT.
Originally posted by Rednano:maybe if u go join the civil service in other ministries, maybe... will give u some increments for ur sign on regular military work experience...
"maybe if u go join the civil service in other ministries, maybe... will give u some increments for ur sign on regular military work experience..."
I don't think so at all, i'm not trying to pooh pooh, but serious, it is what I know to be true. My relative used to have this boss, is a farmer Col. After he retired, they found him a job in a civilian ministry, but the position is one that is held by an civilian scholar (eg OMS) that is >15 years younger than him! Quite malu lor.I am not exaggerating. In the ministries, there are specific ranks too (director, deputy director, branch head), and judged according to the size of that ministry. And his position in the size of the ministry is held typically by a 27 year old scholar one. now why do i say scholar? if you think SAF has many safos for its size, the scenery in the cv ministries is far worse. There are so many scholars flying into your face from all directions. This is because the total staff strength of all the CV ministries combined excluding MOE's huge army of teachers, is comparable to the armed forces staff strength, but channelled into all the ministries are Overseas Merit Scholars (OMS), one of the best 3 scholarships by psc after SAFOS and SPFOS and each year, there used to be about 40 OMS before the number was halved a few years ago, compared to only about 8 safos per yr. So its literally a case of everywhere you turn you see an OMS situation. they are the ones holding the middle management DD, D, the branch heads and up to the PS, DS positions.
But I am relating the experience of someone who after all left as a farmer Col, suay right? If SGcommando leaves SAF in his late 20s after his minimum term of engagement and applies for a job in a civilian sector, it's fine even if his military experience is not utilised. Honestly there are plenty of people who change line during that age in both public and private sector, bankers who suddenly open bakeries, people in HR line who go to cooking school and be a chef, its very common, so no big deal.
The farmer Col i know left at 45. But now things are different, you can stay until 50. By then, you should have enough to retire. Please note that SAVERS is a frontloading scheme, in which salary you would have gotten from 45 to 55, is 'frontloaded' into your pay, which is why SAF officers are paid substantially more than their civilian counterparts for the same calibre.
But yeah, through the case above, i knew for a fact that the civilian ministries do not take military experience into consideration unless you are a safos scholar or UNLESS you were a SAF engineering or logistics officer. The service formations will the most transferable skills when they want to leave the organisation, and have the least prestige/pay for career within the organisation when they are in it. That is a fact. Service support will always be second class citizen because their role is meant to support the combat arms, service vs combat is a perennial tension in all armed forces in the world. But they have the most transferable skills. That's why SAF created the MDES structure for them.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:
Quite a number of engineering courses are sponsored by the government, and that is why I advice you to be an engineering officer, as the government will only pay for something related to your field of work.
"as the government will only pay for something related to your field of work."
the government sponsors engineering course for engineering courses, because clearly engin officers have to be engin trained but combat officers can be from any vocations, second statement is patently untrue hence. The combat officers I know have physics degree, 1 got economics and another 1 studied government (a humanities degree in Kennedy Sch of Government). And SAF allowed them to study anything they wished as long it fell within a specified list of programmes and its quite a long list.
Originally posted by SGcommando:okay.. I have to make sure that I will have a rank of CPT as the pay is somewhat good 3K+ Need to secure a job fast as I am going to settle down with my GF in about 5~6 years time..
You are considering a career in the SAF for the wrong reason - going to settle down with your GF in about XX yrs. Please lah, you can do so as well persevering in any other sectors, trust me its not only SAF guys who get married, if that is the case, sg population would have depleted. And among all the jobs available to you whether it's SAF or otherwise, you may just find something that you have a passion for. Isn't it normal to make something you are passionate about your career? Strange.
Originally posted by Gloaterback:He is very agitated and can't help but yell at the top of his voice for the love of his mother because he's the TERMINATOR.
In any case, I've stated plainly that unlike somebody hor, no need to name names, I don't try to "sound so dead sure" about issues that I don't have actual experience in, not like you know someone lah. So since I did not go to poly, I said in no uncertain terms that I am not sure if dip with merit = GPA 4.0. I didn't even know that poly has a GPA system like US universities. I was told by my friends in poly that diploma with merit is either the top graduating 20% or 10%. And I know at least 1 diploma holder who got SMS without getting that leh. I think TS has an EXTREMELY high chance of getting it. Don't listen to crap talkers like someone.Thanks for your info Jus-Tea. What is the percentile set in polys in order for a student to graduate with diploma with merit then? Is it 5, 10 or 20%?
Indeed now that you have offered the info that GPA 4.0 is the max in polys, even if you fail to obtain 4.0 by a large margin, you can still graduate with dip with merit, which was what I said earlier about someone talking cock about 4.0 and SMS.
As quoted from the NYP site
Diploma with Merit
The Diploma with Merit shall be awarded to students with consistent outstanding performance during their course of study. It shall generally be awarded to not more than the top 10% of graduands from each course.
I disgree. The lowest possible GPA by estimate to get a dip with merit is 3.7. It might seem far from 4 but it is actually tough to attain. Seeing that dip students have and avg of 33 modules. Some of which are totally unrelated to their area of study, meaning a student might find it difficult to excell as no one's good in everything. An A/DIST =GPA of 4 and B+ = GPA 3.5. Thus mathematically a good 80% of the modules attained in poly needs to be A/DIST to safely attain a dip w/merit. Try putting that in A level terms, pretty much full marks for everything(module/subject ratio).=)
Though Gloater it would be in my personal opinion for you to stop your reference to Tex. It really serves no purpose to the TS and frankly the virtual banter is getting on everyone's nerves. We're all just trying to give the TS our 2 cents worth. It's up to the TS to decide yea? Chill.=)
Oh on another note I read on the army site quite a while ago, an SMS/SAS holder will be conferred the rank of CPT a year after they finish their studies? or did i read wrong.
SGcdo, 10th July yea?
True, if the TS is signing on as a combat officer an Art deg shouldn't be a prob.=)
My family's from the logistics/port industry and i can safely say a logistics officer's exp has little calibre in the corporate world. As it's a whole diff ball game. Perfect eg, was an Army logistic Captain, had to start back at sq 1 after joining the company. But really nice chap though.
Cheers.
Originally posted by jus-tea:
As quoted from the NYP site
Diploma with Merit
The Diploma with Merit shall be awarded to students with consistent outstanding performance during their course of study. It shall generally be awarded to not more than the top 10% of graduands from each course.
I disgree. The lowest possible GPA by estimate to get a dip with merit is 3.7. It might seem far from 4 but it is actually tough to attain. Seeing that dip students have and avg of 33 modules. Some of which are totally unrelated to their area of study, meaning a student might find it difficult to excell as no one's good in everything. An A/DIST =GPA of 4 and B+ = GPA 3.5. Thus mathematically a good 80% of the modules attained in poly needs to be A/DIST to safely attain a dip w/merit. Try putting that in A level terms, pretty much full marks for everything(module/subject ratio).=)
Though Gloater it would be in my personal opinion for you to stop your reference to Tex. It really serves no purpose to the TS and frankly the virtual banter is getting on everyone's nerves. We're all just trying to give the TS our 2 cents worth. It's up to the TS to decide yea? Chill.=)
Oh on another note I read on the army site quite a while ago, an SMS/SAS holder will be conferred the rank of CPT a year after they finish their studies? or did i read wrong.
SGcdo, 10th July yea?
True, if the TS is signing on as a combat officer an Art deg shouldn't be a prob.=)
My family's from the logistics/port industry and i can safely say a logistics officer's exp has little calibre in the corporate world. As it's a whole diff ball game. Perfect eg, was an Army logistic Captain, had to start back at sq 1 after joining the company. But really nice chap though.
Cheers.
I know. I asked you whether dip with merit is 5, 10 or 20% thanks for the answer. :) I don't belittle the difficulty of getting dip with merit. What I said to the clown and TS was: 1) I know of SMS who didn't get dip with merit 2) dip with merit is not GPA4.0
All graduates, including those who study themselves in farmer university and then join SAF, not just SMS/SAS, get CPT 1 year after graduation. CPT is the only one that is automatically conferred upon the attainment of a degree, so getting the CPT doesn't count for squat. So those bumpkins whose names I shall not name who got CPT 1 yr upon graduation think this means they can be MAJ at 27, wake up from your dreams.
Didn't know logistics and service side is not as transferable as I thought, as I was told by my friends and family who are combat officers that the service side is the one with the most transferable skills in the SAF and can find a job easily in ST engineering, Keppel, SIA engineering, etc.Looks like aint such luck.
SInce SGcommando is only looking for CPT pay to sustain his wish to marry his gf, and he will get his CPT 1 yr after graduation, he can sign on as LSA. He will get that rank and marry his gf.
TO JUST TEA:
YOU AREAN EVEN BIGGER HOG WASH THAN ANYONE IVE COME ACROSS IN HERE!
THE AIRFORCE ACCEPT A LEVEL PEOPLE FOR OFFICER CALIBRE .........ABLE TO ENTER NUS WITH GOOD A LEVELS AND IF U WANT BETTER PROSPECTS AS A LEVEL ENTRANT........ WHY BOTHER SIGNIN ON IN FIRST PLACE?A LEVEL HOLDERS ARENT EVEN RECOGNISED TODAY ANYWHERE EVEN!.JUST GO OUT N FIND A PROFESSIONAL JOB WITH MERE A LEVELS!U WILL BE LUCKY U WILL END UP GETTING A CLEANER POSITION WITH A LEVELS TODAY!
AND HOW CAN U ASK SOMEONE TO SIGN ON AFTER BMT????ARE U TRYING TO KILL HIS CAREER??THERE IS A SCHEDULE ON ALL SIDES??UNLESS U ARE PAYING FOR HIS DAILY MEALS AND KNOW HOW THINGS WORK THEN YOU CAN SAY THAT!BUT IT APPEARS YOU ARE SO BLUR...YOU JUST GIVE PEOPLE UNSOUND JUDGEMENT!
IT IS PEOPLE LIKE U WHO END UP KILLING KIDS OFF BY MAKING MORE PROBLEMS .
GLOATER ISNT EVEN CLOSE TO ELITISM!HE HAS A STENCH OF UNEDUCATED FARMERS GATHERING MANURE FOR BREAKFAST.THATS HOW HIS VIEWS N OPINIONS READS LIKE .
If you cannot learn some manners and stop writing in caps, please get out of here as its irritating seeing your behavior here. I can't even be bothered to read what you are posting at all.
I WRITE AS WHEN I PLEASE!
IF U CANT TAKE THE HEAT IN THE4 KITCHEN...THEN LEAVE...ITS A DEMOCRATIC WORLD.
You have already been warned by LazerLordz about your behavior. If you cannot follow the rules of the forum, don't come here and crap.
THINGS THAT SEEM INCORRECT:
GLOATER :APACHES OWNED BY ARMY.....INCORRECT
GLOATER FOCUSING THE TERM >>>>FIXED WING AND ROTARY WING LIKE ITS ROCKET SCIENCE .
MAKES ME WANT TO LAFF AT HIM FOR KNOWING SO LITTLE N MAKING KNOWLEDGE SEEM SO BIG.
SAD IF EVERYBODY HAS SO LITTLE KNOWLEDGE LIKE HIM....HE COULD BE JUST A GRAVEDIGGER FER LIL KIDS ASKIN TO SIGN ON OR NOT....ALONG WITH JUST TEA.
I ADVICE KID WHO WANT TO SIGN ON TO DO WHAT HIS HEART LETS HIM N GET ADVICE FROM REAL REGULARS NOT LIKE HALF ASS PEOPLE ...HALF KNOWLEDGED PEOPLE LIKE GLOATER N JUST TEA
THEN THAT WILL BE YER LOSS IN MILITARY FORUM...............IF U CANT TAKE THIS HARSHE K\KANGUAGE,,,I SUGGEST U CALL IT THE WANNA BE OR ALMOST MILITARY FORUM....HAHAHA,,,MAKE MY DAY!