Originally posted by i30:no need engineer, foreman olso earn 4k n more. by d time u spend to be CPT wld hv made more money. neber mind, we here telling young turks to see b4 jumping not abt constn werk. tot jus eg of getting more money fr job.
chill bro
So sad.. in sg a foreman earns more than a civil engineer fresh grad? that's truly funny (for the civil engineer) hahaa i am laughing so hard..I'm very sure engineers in sg start off at $2.5k thereabout only, u can only get $2.7k if you apply to a GLC hahahah. i think all these civil engineer grads should just go apply to be foreman instead. LOL
Originally posted by Gloaterback:No need. I have asked around. The reason i didn't know of this is because they didn't kena it. It wasn't until 2006 that it was introduced and scholars in all 3 services - army, navy and airforce - are victims. Its supposed to be about 5 mths, SAF make the scholars go to OCS as 'officer-on-course', upon their return from US army, so that they can get reacquainted with the sg army system. Apparently its felt that US Army though tougher and more professional, may not get one reacquainted enough with the BS prevalent in SAF, thus the reacquaintance is necessary to do the trick.
And FYI LSA farmers do not do this pro tem thing, because only officers who disrupt from OCS do it. It's ONLY for disruptees. LSA do NOT get to disrupt from OCS. Disrupt what shit. LSA farmers enlist after JC at 19, they serve out their full 9 mths of OCS, even after they get their farmer awards, they cannot leave the army until the middle of second year of NS, isn't that when your term starts? When they graduate, they'd be 24.
The pro term whatever the fuck, has nothing to do with promotion.
Promotion to CPT remains at 6 mths (shortened down from 1 yr) upon graduation for all graduate officers. OCS disruptees and non OCS disruptees, scholars or farmers alike, will get the promotion 6 mths from graduation, doesn't matter where they are. This is only for those who sign on before they study.After SAFOS get reacquainted with the BS of the SAF system, they do their PC tour. Note that all tours are timed towards doing ATEC, any farmer who start their PC tour earlier, will also finish it at the same time as scholars. It just means those who start later do a shorter one. This is common sense, if you serve as a man in NS you'll also know. 2 OS of the same age, one starts his OC tour earlier, the other starts 1 yr later, both have to finish up that tour & do ATEC together. So the one who started later just means he do a 1-yr OC tour. The OS who starts earlier do a 2 yr OC tour.
For those losers who finish studying on their own and realise can't find a job with proper salary with their lousy degrees (a lot of them) and then sign on, this doesn't apply to them. Sorry. Have to go through 9 mths of OCS first, they will backpay them their local school fees. After 9 mths of OCS then wait 6 mths.
Looks like you are well-connected to fish that info out.
In any case, if I were you, I might not want to say everything you said becuase that could be a breach of information.
Then again, you, being well-connected, may just get away with it.
WELL CONNECTED TO WHERE?THE TOILET CISTERN???:?
TO ALL:
ALL SALARY REFERENCES ARE BASED WITH YEARS OF EXPERIENCE INCLUDED.NOT FOR FRESHIES AS IM NOT ONE.
Originally posted by teraexa:Looks like you are well-connected to fish that info out.
In any case, if I were you, I might not want to say everything you said becuase that could be a breach of information.
Then again, you, being well-connected, may just get away with it.
How is that state secret? Didn't SAF openly tell them to go to OCS as officer-on-course? Didn't SAF openly require those who signed on after they have done their own degree, to go do OCS? you mean its classified ah? It's as classified as your ass i guess.
Of cos official statement is getting reacquainted with local system lah. You take me too literally, everything I say when I garnish my own opinion you also think its some state secret. The getting acquainted with BS is my own comment cos I do think and recognise there is BS there, but which organisation doesn't?? Your farmer U and your future employers also have BS, if not much more than SAF. and I am not well connected. I juz have friends, unlike you. And to jog your memory, it was you who talked about pro-term, not me.
And dun talk about not saying anything I said, as if you'd have known anything having not gone anywhere in uniform beyond passing out from Air wing. I doubt you even knew about the US army officer course for returning scholars. In any case its no secret, it's rather openly boasted that we have strong defence ties with the United States (besides procurement of weaponry), and our soldiers can choose to do the Ranger course in Singapore or with the US army. A lot of enciks proudly boast about this in camp and online.
To conclude, I fail to see how anything that is 1) published information, pls refer to at least 2 websites I offered that spoke of safos's US army training 2) openly declared to the people involved - going to OCS as officer-on-course - can be imagined as 'sensitive' information. your logical faculties are thrown into serious question, which I guess can be explained by how in spite of which, you can have a place in the 'premier' law school here.
hi guys, i have a question. my good buddy just passed out as a commando officer from ocs recently. interestingly, he signed on as a commando spec before he entered NS. so this cames into my question. did he get a crossover from sispec to quallify as a trainee due to his excellent performance during his bct and aslc ? from wat i know, you have to be in the top 15%-20% of your cohort from your bct and make it through sispec and then top your cohort in sispec and make it through to ocs as commando officer.do these cases happen that often? maybe his superiors regconises his abilities or leadership to lead and gave him the nod to ocs? thnks
it could b 1CDO is chronically short of officers...or they need more people for more saikang?
Hmm.. i wan to ask if... Be a pilot.. there is only 2 ways in singapore.. ( correct me if i am wrong )
1) SAF
2) SIA
For SAF.. we need to go for the pilot interview before our BMT.. so which means.. we must already decide whether do we want to sign on as a regular.
What about for SIA? is there any requirements? Do SAF pilots have more chance of getting into SIA ?
For what i know is.. SIA offers a better job scope then SAF but how do we get to SIA eventually as a pilot or co-pilot ?
Feel free to add me in msn to tell me abt this matter for those who know stuffs with the SIA/SAF...
Email : [email protected]
Thanks alot..
Originally posted by kengkia:it could b 1CDO is chronically short of officers...or they need more people for more saikang?
When ask my friend (SAF scholar) why dont you vote yourself to go 1CDO. He said NEVER, I am not SIAO. Prefer to stay in Intelligence or HQ.
Sign on is really okay. Depends on individual. Some people like army life some dont. FYI, sign on Degree holder usually do paperwork, 80% admin, busy writing, changing directive, replying email. Only the footman get to run around. Usually smart ones would ended in the office. Army vocation is really a job.
1CDO is very short of officers. YES.
Originally posted by Lokey:When ask my friend (SAF scholar) why dont you vote yourself to go 1CDO. He said NEVER, I am not SIAO. Prefer to stay in Intelligence or HQ.
Sign on is really okay. Depends on individual. Some people like army life some dont. FYI, sign on Degree holder usually do paperwork, 80% admin, busy writing, changing directive, replying email. Only the footman get to run around. Usually smart ones would ended in the office. Army vocation is really a job.
Your friend is really smart in choosing the right vocation otherwise Why choose SAF as a career?.I know a scholar who in his time was reputed to have the most brilliant mind in the SAF.I am not so sure if he eventually made full Colonel but I am sure he would have made at least a Brigadier if only he had not signed on in an elite combat vocation.
Originally posted by Lokey:When ask my friend (SAF scholar) why dont you vote yourself to go 1CDO. He said NEVER, I am not SIAO. Prefer to stay in Intelligence or HQ.
CDO regulars included?
CDO officer are ones who spend time in my camp meeting]. CDO regulars spec just sleep in the bunk waiting for command and things to do. CDO officer do most of the paperwork. If you are not doing paperwork then you are not in the command chain then no use.
You now know what is the command HQ. People who talk about which people go where. something like command and conquer. but playing with real humans.
CDO normally does internal promotion from BMT to medic, spec to officer, very different from our normal system.
There has been at least 2 scholars who wanted to and chose to go CDO. But there are not many of them. The second one is 10 years younger than the first one.
What are you talking about? Intelligence is a place for farmers. Its even nicknamed Farmer's Paradise. Few scholars want to go there. SAF career is about command, and as a full time intel officer, you do not really have real command experience. How many people does an intel CO command in a typical intel unit, say the air photo unit compared to an armour or infantry? We all know, since its sensitive no need to spell it out here. When I say intel, I mean the people who are in the Intel officer track, and not just an officer posted to army intel or someone doing an S2 staff tour.
Since SAF started the Intel Officer scheme since the early turn of 2000, they only managed to attract two scholars. Only attracted two in nine years is pathetic. Scholar sign on with their sights to make service chief, sign on as Intel officer cannot make service chief, out of the question. Estab of MIO chief is 2 star thats why so far all of them are 1 star who took it on.
The intel track is for farmers who can't chiong sua but want combat officer pay. Its also particularly appealing to farmers because otherwise they'd never be given the chance to do any form of "brainy" work in the SAF and it helps that scholars avoid taking up this IO scheme so all the farmers can chiong there and sign on as AO and feel like they're kings there.
Lets just say it's A LOT like signing as logistics or engineering officer. All the commonalities are there. No need to chiong sua, good for people with poor leadership and poor command on the field but still gian for uniformed pay, good for farmers cos no scholar sign on as logistics and engineering, and rarely any as intel, all the scholars so far (except two) sign on as combat and combat support (arty) officers only.
Your admin, paper work, dunno what 80% thing is also wrong. In command appointments for junior officers like PC/OC, the chiong sua or any outdoor component (even the PT) in total aggregate at least 50% if not more than paper work component of managing a coy. It's obvious you're neither a degree holder, an officer or know any real scholar.
I also found out there are actually fools who thought that there are no OS IOs or that the IO scheme is non-uniformed or is some DXO scheme or they are not 'military personnel' or don't have military ranks.
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/careers/job_opportunities/io/officer/scholarship.html
Better stick to your dayjob as DXO polishing the shoes of generals in Gombak Drive better than to talk nonsense. Even among DXO in Mindef also got DMS. LOL
Originally posted by insidestory:Your admin, paper work, dunno what 80% thing is also wrong. In command appointments for junior officers like PC/OC, the chiong sua or any outdoor component (even the PT) in total aggregate at least 50% if not more than paper work component of managing a coy. It's obvious you're neither a degree holder, an officer or know any real scholar.
As you mentioned, "junior" officer like PC/OC. These are for the poly sign on, NSF officer, some degree holder.
Well, That toad is already a 3 bar when came back from overseas studies.
It's
obvious you're neither a degree holder, an officer or know any real
scholar. <--I cannot stop laughing.
1) What era was this? He should only get his 3rd bar one year after he comes back, and not immediately.
2) 3 Bar is considered very junior. Do you mean to you, 3 bar is very senior?!
3) All scholars have to do their PC/OC tours. What are you talking about? You mean in your world they don't have to? Gee. In fact, since they fly off at 19 and return after they're done studying before they start their career and first tour (PC), your example of CPT (rank wise) in an attempt to claim that your friend or the like of him is not junior (and they magically don't seem to need to do PC/OC tour) is an epic failure..scholars are possibly the only people you see around who do their PC tours as CPTs
4) When scholars do their PC and OC tours, they ARE 3 Bar. In fact, they are the only people whom you can find who are CPT PCs around. Because they study first before doing PC tour. I am very sure you have not served your NS.
5) Not all officers who go overseas on sponsorships are scholars. Some ATA (SAS) go overseas - Australia, UK, US whatever and are award holders. SMS holders are barely regarded as scholars, the parade commander of this year NDP, a SMS is some 40 yr old half colonel who progresses at farmer speed.
I'm glad that you "cannot stop laughing", you seem to know you're a joke. And you need to improve your English.
Hi, ive applied for commando specialist and their interview and the interview will be tomorrow at cmpb recruitment centre.how many interview sessions will there be and how my intake will be,will i be posted join tekong bmt or they will post be to commando bmt ?
commando 3sg can earn how much max?
Frankly, most of the regulars I worked with came across to me as incompetent and underserving of their 5k a month salary.
As for "Sign On: Worth It Or Not, Wise?", I can only say if you know that you will not get anywhere in life... I'd think it's one of the best career choice....