I have been serving my NS for a year. But all the while, I have been very anxious in everything I do and often screw up. I have been scolded and punished for countless for doing things wrongly. This is just something even before I enlisted, since young. So recently, as my condition got worst, my mum started to get worried and advised me to go to see a doctor. At first I didn't want to go because I thought I am all fine and so I delayed for quite some time until I am convinced to go. The doctor referred me to a shrink and was diagnosed to have something they called the Generalised Anxiety Disorder.
I have just started the medication and the shrink did give me a memo to pass to my camp MO. However, I dare not submit the memo to my camp MO as by doing so, all the people in my unit will know about my condition. I have been acting normal in front of them all the while. I am worry that they may start to laugh at me, tease me and reject me for having such illness. Or some may even accuse me of being chao keng. Then life will be even harder than now. Moreover, two of my friends in the unit have been downgraded due to depression(one of them is obviously chao keng one). If I suddenly tell them I have medical condition, they may think I trying to chao keng too. haiz..
Now in my mind, I have a few worries and wish to know the answer:
1. I went to see a shrink at those outpatient specialist but I haven't inform to my camp MO. But in future when I apply for job or schools, are they going to make me declare that I have such illness or are they going to find out the record?
2. Now that I have this memo from the shrink, which I asked the shrink not to write but he insisted, and if I didn't submit to my camp MO, will there be any issue?
3. If anything happen to me during my service, will the insurance deny to pay as they could accuse me of not submitting my medical memo?
Sorry if I sound like a stupid paranoid and thanks for reading...
you should submit this memo to the MO, just in case something bad, touch wood, happened to you. By submitting this memo to the MO does not mean everyone in your unit will know. These are medical-in-confidence, no one is suppose to leak this out except maybe your superior, S1, chief clerk......but of cos once the memo is submitted to the MO, it's the MO's job to inform your superior.
The fact that you:
should more or less convince you that you should submit, since this is like your 'illness' of worrying too much. And having depression leaves a perm record on you, even after ORDing and finding jobs in the future. But if it's really a genuine case of worrying too much, then just go ahead and submit, dont worry unneccessarily.
Your health and well-being is the top priority, why should you bother what people think? Truth is, no matter where you go, there'll always be people like them - especially when everyone's an unwilling conscript.
Take care of yourself, you only have yourself to fight for.
If u have not see a SAF shrink, all u did is useless. Submit the memo, u will be arrange to see the SAF shrink (ususally a medical officer LTC/COL), then under a medical board, u will be downgraded, given further review or charge and send to DB.
I am writing in this tone because really we have no idea if u are true or a chow keng case. If u are true case, then no need to fear, just send up ur memo, the MO will arrange it. They are also doctors, it is their moral responsibility to keep their patients record secret.
Unless ur medical condition is a risk to the surrounding peers (example, ppl with fits) then the doctor will ususally let those in charge know. But SAF being SAF, u will have no idea and no control what ppl will do, some officers/enciks have no moral code one, they just shoot off their big mouth.
Furthermore, ppl being ppl, u cannot stop them from thinking u are chow keng, even if u are really a true case. Just because u have real condition, doesn't mean ppl will be nice to you, doesn't really work this way in SAF (or in the outside world).
In the other spectrum, if u are chow keng, just be prepared to spend time in the DB once the SAF shrink found out that you are malingering.
Please
submit the hospital specialist memo to the camp doctor to assess
and process.
As usual, please refer to this guideline:
http://sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/492435
Just submit the specialist memo to the camp MO.
If you don't submit the memo, then no one can help you already.
Like that?
For my case , I happened to refer from another
dr to another dr in same govt hospital, as the 1st dr
suspected that i have anxiety disorder, 2nd dr confirmed
I had such a problem in me too(with a memo) like that
submit to camp dr , you mean if the camp dr think i
dun have such cases , will kena tio?
Then submit for what? (means even head of dept no power)
Originally posted by octega:If u have not see a SAF shrink, all u did is useless. Submit the memo, u will be arrange to see the SAF shrink (ususally a medical officer LTC/COL), then under a medical board, u will be downgraded, given further review or charge and send to DB.
I am writing in this tone because really we have no idea if u are true or a chow keng case. If u are true case, then no need to fear, just send up ur memo, the MO will arrange it. They are also doctors, it is their moral responsibility to keep their patients record secret.
Unless ur medical condition is a risk to the surrounding peers (example, ppl with fits) then the doctor will ususally let those in charge know. But SAF being SAF, u will have no idea and no control what ppl will do, some officers/enciks have no moral code one, they just shoot off their big mouth.
Furthermore, ppl being ppl, u cannot stop them from thinking u are chow keng, even if u are really a true case. Just because u have real condition, doesn't mean ppl will be nice to you, doesn't really work this way in SAF (or in the outside world).
In the other spectrum, if u are chow keng, just be prepared to spend time in the DB once the SAF shrink found out that you are malingering.
I am definitely not trying to chow keng as I wouldn't have waited until left 11 more months then do it if I wanted to. I am just finding myself a little weird to always be anxious and worried over all things and then worst is to do things wrongly and get scolded so often. I didn't think I may have problems until my mum told me that she find me always moody and encouraged me to see a doctor. In camp, I even caused my other friends to get scolded just because of me doing things wrongly. I felt so terrible especially when how people would see me after being scolded due to my fault. Other people even called me 'C0CK' for doing things wrong all the time.
Anyway, I am still pondering if I should submit the memo. You brought up a point which I think such illness could be subjective to people. The shrink that I visited could think that I am having the Generalised Anxiety Disorder and written me the memo. However, when I am facing the SAF shrink, he may think otherwise. Especially when two of my friends in the same unit has declared they had depression and probably have seen him. Then I will get charged to DB as he may think I am trying to follow my friends and find me trying to chow keng.
If this is the case, submitting the memo could give me more troubles and worries.
Anyway, I am still pondering if I should submit the memo. You brought up a point which I think such illness could be subjective to people. The shrink that I visited could think that I am having the Generalised Anxiety Disorder and written me the memo. However, when I am facing the SAF shrink, he may think otherwise. Especially when two of my friends in the same unit has declared they had depression and probably have seen him. Then I will get charged to DB as he may think I am trying to follow my friends and find me trying to chow keng.
If this is the case, submitting the memo could give me more troubles and worries.
You don't have to think so much.
Worry here, worry there, how to progress in life?
Just submit the mother fucking memo.
SAF shrink think you chow keng, or don't think you chow keng, people like it or don't like it, just submit the fucking memo.
Originally posted by rogerfreak:
I am definitely not trying to chow keng as I wouldn't have waited until left 11 more months then do it if I wanted to. I am just finding myself a little weird to always be anxious and worried over all things and then worst is to do things wrongly and get scolded so often. I didn't think I may have problems until my mum told me that she find me always moody and encouraged me to see a doctor. In camp, I even caused my other friends to get scolded just because of me doing things wrongly. I felt so terrible especially when how people would see me after being scolded due to my fault. Other people even called me 'C0CK' for doing things wrong all the time.
Ultimately, it is still your own choice whether to submit the memo or not. But if you have did nothing wrong, there is nothing for you to worry about.
Indeed, if we look from a negative view, two others from your camp have declared that they have depression and went to see the SAF shrink, and thus others who do not know of the serverity of your case might think that you are trying to follow their example in order to "chao keng".
But if we look from a positive view, your friends in the same unit as you who know you well enough could stand as alibis. They could tell the superiors about your moodiness and tendency to be anxious over small things if questioned. This in turn could work in your favour.
Anyway, if you wish to declare, then you should declare as soon as possible. It is definitely not a good thing to keep the memo from the shrink outside for a few months before submitting it. That will only arouse the suspicions of your superiors, as they will think that you have some ulterior motive.
Please
and process.
Please
and process.
You are strongly encouraged and urged to just submit the specialist memo to the camp MO ASAP.
If you don't submit the memo, then no one else can help you already.
Because if a licenced and qualified hospital medical specialist memo cannot even be used to certify/ prove that a genuine medically-ill patient who really genuine needs to seek professional medical care, then the hospitals can close shop already.
If you are still dilly-dally in your own decision to resist handing over the memo to the camp MO, then you can jolly well wait like a sitting duck.