Read so many people writting that when Singapore is in a war they will not fight for Singapore but will buy a air ticket and quickly leave Singapore.
Hmm. When there is a war, you think the government will still let you buy air ticket to get out of Singapore meh? I think the government will ban all flights out of Singapore and will probably ban all ships and trains from leaving Singapore too.
But neverthless when there is a war I won't go and fight with the enemies for 2 reasons.
1. The PAP brings in foreigners to steal my jobs. So why should I go and fight in the war while these PAP politicians will most probably take a flight out of Singapore and wait until the war is over to come back?
2. I think most people actually chao keng throughout their 2 years ns and I am also 1 of such people. I chao keng and become a PES C storeman and I everyday slack and sleep throughout the 2 years.
The only time I do work is probably to do stupid things such as move stores and man the waterpoint and serve the officers with food. I have forgotten how to use the M16 already.
So when there is a war, I won't be so stupid as to go and fight with the enemies when I don't even remember how to use the M16 already
u fight for singapore, your family, your friends, your relatives.
not for the govt.
if anything happen to your family members how ?
if there's 10000 people like u,
first day of war, SG kena defeated already.
Originally posted by Ajen:u fight for singapore, your family, your friends, your relatives.
not for the govt.
if anything happen to your family members how ?
if there's 10000 people like u,
first day of war, SG kena defeated already.
The Government probably expected this, that's why the SAF has never been beefed up to a level supposedly "enough to win a war".
Just enough to supposedly "deter" other countries. XP
but thinking about it... in the event of war, where can you run to? countries that will possibly attack us are;
1) Malaysia
2) Indonesia
3) Neighbouring Countries in S.E Asia
during war, which country will offer you protection? USA? Australia? friend, you got nowhere to run to lor... have to squat, suck thumb and fire your M16.
Originally posted by novelltie:but thinking about it... in the event of war, where can you run to? countries that will possibly attack us are;
1) Malaysia
2) Indonesia
3) Neighbouring Countries in S.E Asia
during war, which country will offer you protection? USA? Australia? friend, you got nowhere to run to lor... have to squat, suck thumb and fire your M16.
Or SAR 21.... =X
true true... summary; just accept your fate that you have no other place to run except stay in Singapore and defend it.
we Chinese have an old belief. it's better to die in your homeland than a foreign land. if you are born in Singapore, Singapore it's your homeland...
but let's say, you migrated to Australia and have an Auzzie passport; Singapore is still your homeland. come back here and die k?
just like our forefathers; some still asked to be transported back to their province in China after they die... back to their homeland, hometown. except ours is Ang Mo Kio hometown or Jurong Hometown hahahahhaha
I be the first one to shoot at you and I believe your commanders will also shoot at you for deserting.
Sigh, truly patritiosm has been severed in this country.
kindly return money you got from sg govt. we dont need scum like you.
Originally posted by Patapon:kindly return money you got from sg govt. we dont need scum like you.
You are a joke. These money belongs to the people.
Well,for all up there that say you will shoot people who desert blah blah...let me ask you this..what would you do, if you knew you didn't stand a chance cuz the equipment you're given is so cui tt u can't even ensure 100% servicability? If war happens, yes...I will report to my unit, draw my arms and other gear...and vanish in the confusion rather den deploy with the rest as I'll be more useful as a infantry rifleman den some goddamn cannon fodder at the airfields. You want me to fight?I'll fight. But you want me to be cannon fodder?I'm sorry...you've gotta do it yourself.
Originally posted by Miracles&Prophecies:How if invaders just want to topple your current regime and not bring harm tot he general population. Would you still fight for Lee Kuan Yew?
Suffocate if some1 hit your mum will you hit back? (no offend)
Used to think like you. Util my officer said this to me. If your love 1 get hurt , you sure fight back, its too early to say you will leave the country if the war start. Cheers
Few weeks before the war start, most of the rich people alr bought tickets & escape with their families. When they do this, panick gonna sets in the others, & they will find ways to escape/hide their families. PRs/ foreign wrkers gonna be fleeing too, their families/relatives/friends is still out at other countries, so they do not need to fear no where to go etc. Do you think they stay back & fight? Ha. Ha.
After this, most operation in Singapore gonna slow down since everyone is leaving. No one is working etc.
No one imo, is gonna throw their families in Spore & wait for the war to come. Anxious mothers gonna send their children out 1st etc. You think mothers will wanna see her own son die in a war or let gamen declare u AWOL? If every of your love ones are out of here, you think they care whether a war starts or not?
Then the realisation will set in as there are only a few handfuls of regulars & NS men left to defend the country.
Some will run, some will stay, some will hide, and some will fight.
For me, I will stay, fight and defend my home and country. For I am proud to be a Singaporean!
"This is my country, this is my flag. This is my future, this is my life. This is my family, these are my friends. We are Singapore, Singaporeans!"
u all are missing a point. u fight for yourself and your family. not pap or lky. your hatred for lky and pap have blinded the real meaning of defending yourself.
Regulars...probably a handful.But looking at the attitudes of those I have in my unit...very unlikely.They are just there to leech on the hardwork of us NSF,when got 1WO or CPT above come supervise us to do work den they will get their arses off their chairs and come down, shout shout, wayang abit...show how competent but actually lacking the ability totally and den bugger off to mess or smoking corner to suck on a cancer stick.
Fight for your loved ones? The army will prob post you to somewhere far away from them. One bomb drop, all die, there goes your motivation.
If theres a war the economy would falter and singapore $ would probably be near worthless. What do you have left?
Originally posted by dadeadman1337:Fight for your loved ones? The army will prob post you to somewhere far away from them. One bomb drop, all die, there goes your motivation.
If theres a war the economy would falter and singapore $ would probably be near worthless. What do you have left?
Ya lor.
These people who say they want to fight to proetct their loved ones I think they will go take their rifle and than run back home and hide in their house and wait for the enemy to come than they fight. If enemy don't come than they will just hide in their home
Which country would be willing to grant asylum to shirkers and deserters?
Do you genuinely think it would be that easy to ship all fighting fit males out of the country when the time comes?
Would you be able to live with the guilt knowing that you have left your friends behind to die?
Would you be able to live with the guilt knowing that you have left behind fellow countrymen who do not have the means to desert the country?
You ask what you would have left if a bomb dropped on us and and the country near worthless. I say, what would be left of you if you desert your country and hide?
One is able to run away from the realities of war. But can one run away from the guilt that will stay with him forever?
Just some food for thought!
Provided we go to war, which we will probably lose due to being small, we know politicians will not stay and fight for their family so why should we?
Why should i fight when i can bring my whole family over to seek refuge in Malaysia or Indonesia? Do you all seriously think by staying and defending our families, they will live? They will eventually suffer or die.
Its not that im not patriotic. But patriotism means dying for your country of birth. Thats so flawed. I will die for my country and for the people around me even if they are strangers if my country takes good care of me. If strangers i meet on the streets showed graciouness.
Why should i stay and fight for my country when i toiled for my country (be it in NS, Reservist or at work) but the people who benefits most are politicians, foreigners and the already-rich?
Why should i stay and fight for strangers when the strangers i see everyday are mostly ungracious, inconsiderate and impolite?
I will gladly die fighting but for something that is really worth dying for and not because some politicians say i should when they will not.