does anyone know how they sort ppl out for vocations after bmt de ma ?? as men
Those qualified for ocs goes through selection for candidates with the best result followed by sispec... then the rest of the vocation can say heng or suay one lor... but some would depends on pes status as well.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Those qualified for ocs goes through selection for candidates with the best result followed by sispec... then the rest of the vocation can say heng or suay one lor... but some would depends on pes status as well.
I've heard some people say that your vocation is already pre-determined. Even if you get posted to SISPEC/OCS, you generally end up being posted back to the formation you were intially posted and serve there as a spec or officer.
No confirmation though and i would say its unlikely we can get proper info of how vocation posting is done.
Originally posted by dkcx:I've heard some people say that your vocation is already pre-determined. Even if you get posted to SISPEC/OCS, you generally end up being posted back to the formation you were intially posted and serve there as a spec or officer.
No confirmation though and i would say its unlikely we can get proper info of how vocation posting is done.
Ya I heard it from my friend about the pre-determined thing. From his mouth sounds like pre-destined LOL.
usually they would try to put the guys near to where they stay. For example, I stay in bedok, by default is bedok camp.
Except for SGT and Officer. But they will still try to put them to near where they stay.
Unless you are "needed", very important person, unfortunate or special talent, then you might end out at the other side of world.
At CMPB, they would pre-determined where you go based on the test and fitness, qualification. It is not a randomised event.
Originally posted by Lokey:usually they would try to put the guys near to where they stay. For example, I stay in bedok, by default is bedok camp.
Except for SGT and Officer. But they will still try to put them to near where they stay.
Unless you are "needed", very important person, unfortunate or special talent, then you might end out at the other side of world.
At CMPB, they would pre-determined where you go based on the test and fitness, qualification. It is not a randomised event.
U wait long long ah. By default post near your home.
Its a known fact CPC clerks generally will randomly allocate you your camp with disregard of where you stay. This is done both by my friend who was a former CPC clerk 1 and forumer here who is in CPC now.
There is no rule where they must post you. Your camp depends on where the clerk likes to slot your name into.
Tell me your background. I can almost tell you where you will be going. You believe me or not?
Originally posted by Lokey:Tell me your background. I can almost tell you where you will be going. You believe me or not?
I already know my posting and my camp everything and its already posted dunno how many times on the forum. Everyone also can search and find out. Whats so hard about it?
I am a technician and i did a chem diploma, i have friends who came from IT, business etc background in my battalion so what link is there?
Care to explain?
Originally posted by dkcx:I already know my posting and my camp everything and its already posted dunno how many times on the forum. Everyone also can search and find out. Whats so hard about it?
I am a technician and i did a chem diploma, i have friends who came from IT, business etc background in my battalion so what link is there?
Care to explain?.
There are many things involved.
Supply and Demands. Ability. Location. Pes status
Leftover are allocated randomly.
Usually footman are allocated to near where they lived.
Heh, I also have done manpower allocation before, I know it is not really a random event.But ... in some point you are right... Military Top Secret. Cannot tell .
Originally posted by Lokey:
There are many things involved.
Supply and Demands. Ability. Location. Pes status
Leftover are allocated randomly.
Usually footman are allocated to near where they lived.
Heh, I also have done manpower allocation before, I know it is not really a random event.But ... in some point you are right... Military Top Secret. Cannot tell .
Supply and demand is important but that does not mean you will be posted to somewhere near your home.
In each posting, there are sure to be people who are posted to camps all over the island mostly yet you see alot of people being posted to the other end of the island form where they stay such as my friends being posted to selarang, changi naval base etc when they stay in Jurong, Bukit Panjang. Yet in that same posting, i have friends staying in Tampinese etc being posted to Jurong.
Don't think there is a directive that states that servicemen must be posted their their homes and even if theres 1, its 1 of the directives thats definitely not being followed.
Originally posted by dkcx:Supply and demand is important but that does not mean you will be posted to somewhere near your home.
In each posting, there are sure to be people who are posted to camps all over the island mostly yet you see alot of people being posted to the other end of the island form where they stay such as my friends being posted to selarang, changi naval base etc when they stay in Jurong, Bukit Panjang. Yet in that same posting, i have friends staying in Tampinese etc being posted to Jurong.
Don't think there is a directive that states that servicemen must be posted their their homes and even if theres 1, its 1 of the directives thats definitely not being followed.
You say it "Additional work"
Originally posted by Lokey:You say it "Additional work"
We all serve before and it should be common to all that we will rarely do additional work when its none of our concern. People who bother to do additional work can easily get Coy Best/Batt Best soldier award liao. For all the sai kang i did, my battalion still owe me my coy best soldier award cos i was supposed to be presented after i left service... sian. 2 movie tickets gone.
but during my time, most of the 3 guards and 1 sir guy studied the live in the same area , study the same school and ended up in the same camp. even the signed on guy was in bedok. and it was so strange that we knew each other.
Originally posted by Lokey:but during my time, most of the 3 guards and 1 sir guy studied the live in the same area , study the same school and ended up in the same camp. even the signed on guy was in bedok. and it was so strange that we knew each other.
Maybe the clerks of ur days were more hardworking than our current clerks :p
Certain issues with posting procedures are sensitive, please remember. Thanks.
Randomly, doubt anyone would ever want to be in the shoes of someone who stays in Pasir-Ris, and gets posted to somewhere in the West, and without the choice to stay-in. :D
-
Originally posted by Genius1111:The pre-destined thing is definitely not applicable to anyone.
Not all deployments are done by CPC, FYI. Some units have different formations in different camps and they have the power to decide who goes to which unit. When that happens, please don't blame CPC.
For me, proximity of camp to residence is not the most important thing that a serviceman should consider. It's the level of regimentation and the attitude of commanders that one should be concerned when he is serving NS. No point living 3 minutes from camp when you get treated like dirt.
Academic results do play a part. For example, having a diploma in electrical engineering might increase your chances of being an electrical technician (if you are not considered to be good enough for command school, perhaps). Getting three or four A level distinctions might increase your chances of becoming an ASA (Asst Chief Clerk or project clerk), if you're not deemed to be combat fit. Hence, it pays to study well.
Some postings are randomly generated by the computer as well.
You so sure about the academic part? As a technician, majority of my peers from poly all belongs to science, IT, business with very few in the engineering courses so i highly doubt the accuracy of that statement.