Originally posted by ChingAlvin:Wa, i am in OETI... Generally, life in OETI is good, but u dun suay suay like me kena A-Veh...
You will sian....
Most active unit, and most active means, super active...Although course at OETI is stay out, A-Veh always makes u go home late, while u see ur B and C-Veh and small arms counter-part go home is sian one..
Originally posted by dkcx:I would say you are serious wrong.
Being a technician myself and seeing over 8 batches of technicians from my seniors to all my juniors etc etc, there are hardly any ITE students in the entire maintainance battalion.
Most ITE students will go mono intake into the combat units. ALL technicians come from tekong or OOT personnel so its really rare for you to find much ITE students among us.
Agree. My friend was from JC, Pes C, and he ended up being an armour tech.
Maybe time have changed.
Originally posted by Lokey:Agree. My friend was from JC, Pes C, and he ended up being an armour tech.
Maybe time have changed.
Little has changed since i only left service about 2 yrs back. These days its no longer PES C only but almost equal PES A/B and C people are posted to technicians. My section itself has 7 PES A/B and only 2 PES C last time.
Originally posted by dkcx:Little has changed since i only left service about 2 yrs back. These days its no longer PES C only but almost equal PES A/B and C people are posted to technicians. My section itself has 7 PES A/B and only 2 PES C last time.
woo, nice vocation. mechanic. in the future can repair your own car.
Originally posted by Lokey:woo, nice vocation. mechanic. in the future can repair your own car.
Haha, my repairs skills are not something i take pride in.
I do more inspection and system work so i did the more 'PR' sort of job by liasing with our 'customer', inspecting accident vehicles to write the accident report and manage the UQM schedule etc etc. Its quite rare that i step out of my office in the last 8 months of my service. I prefer staying in office and asking the other technicians to come to my office to see me.
Being a technician is way more cool than carrying a gun n cheer n command with at the end of the day, serving only a cause.
Originally posted by KungPaoChicken:Being a technician is way more cool than carrying a gun n cheer n command with at the end of the day, serving only a cause.
There are negative sides to being technicians that you don't see. Just like there are also good sides to combat side that you might not have seen/know
Whatever the good or bad sides might be. I always believe in hands on personal skills experience in regards to the possible private sector.
Originally posted by KungPaoChicken:Whatever the good or bad sides might be. I always believe in hands on personal skills experience in regards to the possible private sector.
I would say almost all the technicians i know will never plan to go work on maintaince in future.
The main thing we do is remove and replace, diagnostics etc mostly. Most of them are very army center and can't be directly used in conventional cars etc.
Originally posted by KungPaoChicken:Whatever the good or bad sides might be. I always believe in hands on personal skills experience in regards to the possible private sector.
unless u are really lucky enough to get into air force that is.
cos so far i have known a few of those NSF air force techs can successfully get a job in SIA and ST Aero.
army side not really sure, but most of the things they maintain are much less relevant compared to civilian vehicles.
Originally posted by striderz_o405:
unless u are really lucky enough to get into air force that is.cos so far i have known a few of those NSF air force techs can successfully get a job in SIA and ST Aero.
army side not really sure, but most of the things they maintain are much less relevant compared to civilian vehicles.
Oh. I more interested in cars. lol. Next time maybe fly overseas work.
Originally posted by striderz_o405:
unless u are really lucky enough to get into air force that is.cos so far i have known a few of those NSF air force techs can successfully get a job in SIA and ST Aero.
Army technicians can choose to join ST Kinetics or the other companies that army outsource vehicle repairs to.