Hi,
I am new to this forum and I need some advice on my request to post out of my combat unit.
I am a PES C9L2 NSMan and I have been permanently excused from carrying heavy loads.
I have been suffering from back problems for the past 10 years due to the carrying of STB during my NSF days in the pioneer platoon. 5 years ago my back problem got so bad that I knew that was no way I could carry pioneer stores on my back and walk for 10-20km in outfield missions during ICT. I consulted a specialist and taken a few MRIs. I was temporarily downgraded in 2005 and then permanently downgraded in 2007 to C9L2 in 2007 due to my lower back problems.
Since being downgraded, my active unit called me back for 3 ICT and 1 mobilization. For the 2 week ICTs, I had to carry all my personal equipment and other necessities required for a 2 week stay in camp back to camp and then out of camp after the ICT. All these heavy load caused me to suffer from acute lower back pain. The same is true for mobilization as we are required to carry all our personal equipment and report to camp.
ASA is clerk liao, means u are in the combat unit but going to do clerk stuff stuff only (means sit in office blow air-con).
If during ICT they still want to ask u carry things, show them your medical certificate, if they insist, request to go to medical centre and ask the MO to phone the f**ker and ask the f**ker to go fly kite.
I am suprised that u are NSMen liao u still don't know vocation, PES and unit difference. I.e. you can be a clerk PES E but you are in a combat unit for ICT doing clerk stuff.
Do you also know, even u request to post out, there is still the chance, u are still post to a NEW combat unit doing clerk stuff in a even worst situation than before? Why? Because
1) As a clerk AKA ASA is NOT tied to specific formation, meaning, u suay, u can kena posted to Sungei Gedong/Tuas naval base or some ulu place for reservist.
2) you have to start all over again, friends, officers, enciks, etc.
3) Some ICT units regimentation can be even worst off. Siao-on officers, crazy enciks, etc.
4) worst case, is come back as RSM slave where the RSM can think of alot of sai gang that doesn't affect your back but still give you a shitty time.
so you weigh the pros and cons, bottomline is unless downgrade to PES F and execuse ICT permeantly, chances are u still need to do ICT as clerk regardless in a combat or non-combat unit. (even now PES E also need to come back for ICT)
Thanks for you advice.
In anycase, ASA or pioneer platoon whatever, it does not solve my problem. I cant carry heavy load. All I am asking is that SAF do not put in a situation that I have to carry heavy load.
Obviously I cannot go in for a 2 week ICT without carrying anything into camp. Obviously I cannot turn up for a mobilization with my gear or I am going to get charged. I am not able to function normally within a combat unit.
If I am going to Tuas Naval base for reservist but I just need to bring myself there everyday without the need to carry anything so be it. What I am asking for, is not to be put in a situation that I have to carry heavy load because the pain is unbearable for me.
I have served the nation for so many years and now developed acute back problems due to serving the nation. I think its not outrageous to ask my unit to help me prevent my back problems from getting worst.
If me, I will flash the excuse slip and tell them i cannot do those things.
Originally posted by LSK32:Thanks for you advice.
In anycase, ASA or pioneer platoon whatever, it does not solve my problem. I cant carry heavy load. All I am asking is that SAF do not put in a situation that I have to carry heavy load.
Obviously I cannot go in for a 2 week ICT without carrying anything into camp. Obviously I cannot turn up for a mobilization with my gear or I am going to get charged. I am not able to function normally within a combat unit.
If I am going to Tuas Naval base for reservist but I just need to bring myself there everyday without the need to carry anything so be it. What I am asking for, is not to be put in a situation that I have to carry heavy load because the pain is unbearable for me.
I have served the nation for so many years and now developed acute back problems due to serving the nation. I think its not outrageous to ask my unit to help me prevent my back problems from getting worst.
Can u tell me what is the actual problem for your back ? What is the medical term ?
I hv the same case as u. but i keep fighting for 2 years until i was downgraded to E9L9 with excuse heavy load perm in feb. My unit has no choice but to kick me out and put me on medical holding list..now no one ask me back for ICT.
Iwent back as C9L3 clerk in Nov Last year. with excuse outfield, RMJ, physical training, prolong sitting, heavy load,etc. But as a clerk in my unit, i have to go outfield 3 days 2 nite. but i manage to "siam "with excuse uniform when i go ICT. my units are all MOs so they don care wat excuses u have.
so u have to find a way out if u think u have a problem. u have to learn to protect urself.
the only way for u now is to downgrade further. Can PM me if u need help on back problem. I have some knowledge of their PES grading for back problem.
Originally posted by LSK32:Thanks for you advice.
ASA = Clerk
Clerk in office all day.
I understand your problem, I myself also recommend ppl to f**k SAF and protect your own health first.
But must also understand ppl inside mah, they are overseas, u are currently in reservist unit which is most likely handle by an active unit. In turn is either a clerk that is incharge supervise by the admin officer. If both of them are overseas, even u get a MP or a external more powerful officer to come in also not much use. You still have to wait for them to come back then something can happen.
Furthermore, ur case must be super solid to have a higher chance for transfer. There are ppl who are als in the clerk with medical condition worst off than you still kena stuck in the combat unit also, they will sort of form the baseline that you will be compared to, so like I said, ur case must be super solid.
I am repeating again, the excuse heavy load will follow u to whatever unit you go to, even ur request is approved. Even in a non-combat unit, there will be still ppl who think you are chow keng and ask you to carry things so in the end, you still have to fall back to your medical certificate to shove it in their face.
So what is the difference in shoving it in your current unit's face and shoving in the new unit's face? To me shoving it in your current unit's face seems better as you know the ppl there.
That said, my recommendation, if you want action, you have to keep bugging the living crap of this ppl until action is taken. Like I said, NSF being NSF, can forget, will forget, can tuang, will go tuang, etc, u also NSF before, u also know the attitude. So have to push them abit but again dun over do it until they bite back and charge u @_@.
dude..ur an NSMan leh...Reservist...
L2 is still deployable; perhaps you can get your specialist to recommend you for a downgrade, hopefully L9. Then by directive, you can only do sedentary work. And since you're already NSMan, seriously.. don't let those enciks jiak you.. Even if they threaten with court martial, it's just a fine..
P.S. There's always the MP when you were NSF, this can't play that can't play, really is let people jiak. Now you've gotten back your pink IC, be smart a bit Pes C reservist 5 cycles (or is it years?) only... Play smart and tahan awhile, ROD already what also can
Originally posted by Detached:L2 is still deployable; perhaps you can get your specialist to recommend you for a downgrade, hopefully L9. Then by directive, you can only do sedentary work. And since you're already NSMan, seriously.. don't let those enciks jiak you.. Even if they threaten with court martial, it's just a fine..
P.S. There's always the MP when you were NSF, this can't play that can't play, really is let people jiak. Now you've gotten back your pink IC, be smart a bit Pes C reservist 5 cycles (or is it years?) only... Play smart and tahan awhile, ROD already what also can
My specialist letter already stated that I should be excused from SBO, arms and field training. I presented the letter to the MO. The MO obviously ignored what was written in the letter and just send me to medical board requesting me to be excused from heavy load.
That is why I am so frustrated. I get the feeling that all the MO wants to do is to pacify me and not really help me solve my problem
me also pes E le/ Runner in army
me also in combat unit
leh
also wear green uniform and move around
So Even u Pes E, dun mean they transfer u out le
U might still remain in where u are lor
Anyway me already MR le
TS, all the best to u..
Pes A or B or C or E
We are still told that
We are all fighters!!!
Originally posted by Patiepie:Can u tell me what is the actual problem for your back ? What is the medical term ?
I hv the same case as u. but i keep fighting for 2 years until i was downgraded to E9L9 with excuse heavy load perm in feb. My unit has no choice but to kick me out and put me on medical holding list..now no one ask me back for ICT.
Iwent back as C9L3 clerk in Nov Last year. with excuse outfield, RMJ, physical training, prolong sitting, heavy load,etc. But as a clerk in my unit, i have to go outfield 3 days 2 nite. but i manage to "siam "with excuse uniform when i go ICT. my units are all MOs so they don care wat excuses u have.
so u have to find a way out if u think u have a problem. u have to learn to protect urself.
the only way for u now is to downgrade further. Can PM me if u need help on back problem. I have some knowledge of their PES grading for back problem.
Hi Patiepie,
Thanks for your reply, I have already PM you. Hope I can hear from you soon.
Thanks.