My passing targets are cat Y = less than 10.4secs, 30 sit ups, 212cm jump, 5 pull ups and 12 mins 20 secs for 2.4km run.
I have been training regularly 3 to 4 times per week for past 3 months. My deadline is end of december.
So far, on its own, i have managed about 5 pull up, standing broad jump less than 2m, situp at most 26 times at own pace, 15 min 50secs for 2.4km, and shuttle run should be able to get 10.4s below. I have been losing much weight for this test ..now i am at 68kg.. and i think i will need to achieve 62kg to pass the test comfortably.
Any advice guys. THanks...
Originally posted by january:My passing targets are cat Y = less than 10.4secs, 30 sit ups, 212cm jump, 5 pull ups and 12 mins 20 secs for 2.4km run.
I have been training regularly 3 to 4 times per week for past 3 months. My deadline is end of december.
So far, on its own, i have managed about 5 pull up, standing broad jump less than 2m, situp at most 26 times at own pace, 15 min 50secs for 2.4km, and shuttle run should be able to get 10.4s below. I have been losing much weight for this test ..now i am at 68kg.. and i think i will need to achieve 62kg to pass the test comfortably.
Any advice guys. THanks...
Time to intensify your training.
Small tips :
-Dashing 100m then walking 100m for a total of 2.4km is a better way to train than slow jog for 2.4km.
-Your own weight is one thing, but for SBJ, you will need to lift some weights ( pun intended ) and/or do frog hops ( if you are not worried about your knees)
may i knw u're under which armed force?
I am from armor.... thanks for tips forbidden... i feel that i have been training quite hard... already... i guess , although i am not sure.. i am quite near the passing point already... perhaps i need some good rest before my body can show the improve fitness...
Thanks for the sbj tips... i definitely need to do more jumps with resistance. I disagree with you first tip though. such training will still be beneficial generally, but i guess it should be done once in a while.
Originally posted by january:I am from armor.... thanks for tips forbidden... i feel that i have been training quite hard... already... i guess , although i am not sure.. i am quite near the passing point already... perhaps i need some good rest before my body can show the improve fitness...
Thanks for the sbj tips... i definitely need to do more jumps with resistance. I disagree with you first tip though. such training will still be beneficial generally, but i guess it should be done once in a while.
If you have the $$ to spare, why not look for one of those "IPPT-passing specialists"?
2.4KM Run: run everyday if u can find the time.
Pull Up: Do 100 push up daily at ur own time.
Situp: Do 25 situps own time own pace daily. One month b4 the test, time it 1 minute.
Sure can pass the test. If fail I dun know what to say.
Standing Broad Jumps
Do back squats in the gym to build up base strength first. I jumped 243 cm without focussing on technique because of squats.
Its been some time.. i would like to update my current progress... individually i have tested some stations myself and got the results
Pull ups=5 or6 (achieve 2 pts) , sit up = 33 (took more than one minute) target is 30 (2 points)
Jump=about 197cm (target is 212 for 2pts), 2.4km run is 13min 51secs (target is 12 min 40secs)
My main target is just to PASS. I still have more than 2 months to clear the IPPT. Any feedback?? I predict that just a few more kg of weight loss and some training, I will pass at around end of October.
Originally posted by january:Its been some time.. i would like to update my current progress... individually i have tested some stations myself and got the results
Pull ups=5 or6 (achieve 2 pts) , sit up = 33 (took more than one minute) target is 30 (2 points)
Jump=about 197cm (target is 212 for 2pts), 2.4km run is 13min 51secs (target is 12 min 40secs)
My main target is just to PASS. I still have more than 2 months to clear the IPPT. Any feedback?? I predict that just a few more kg of weight loss and some training, I will pass at around end of October.
Hi January,
it seems that you have managed to cut your 2.4km run timing by 2 mins within a few weeks, and thus as long as you continue to train regularly, I am sure that you will be able to cut down to the required timing.
Your main concern now should be your Standing Board Jump though, as I know from when I was JC back then that it is much harder to make it improve within a short period of time. But please don't worry, you still have two months, as long as you do more squats regularly, you should be able to meet the passing mark.
Cheers
2 months is like so much time to improve
u can improve in 3 weeks if u train properly
stamina doesn't take forever to improve
Hi January,
training with squats in the gym will definitely help in your SBJ. Knowing the techniques will further enhance your jump. With strength, weight is not much of an issue to get 5 points in SBJ.
For me, I'm 78kg (so I need to cut to run faster), but I can jump 243 cm after a year of discplined squatting (with explosive squats training). But for starters, do not do any plyometric (explosive) training. Just body squats might be sufficient, or perhaps, Hindu Squats.
http://www.mattfurey.com/hindusquats.html
I have reservist coming soon, and my IPPT is also coming in 1.6 months
Never jog for 2 months liao cuz too busy, now tough to pick up :( Have to run at like 11pm at night....
thanks for all the tips... i have scanned through your advices and though i may not implement them due to preferences, i am grateful still. i also find the idea that push up may not help so directly to pull up agreeing.
basically my strategy is quite standard now.. just practise the stations and then rest for few days until muscle recovers and then practise again, this is my belief. now the focus is on standard broad jump and sit up practise and 2.4 . sbj is now about 2m. sit up is doable but i need to be able to do faster in under 1 minute. For some people, sit up is really not easy maybe because i have not sit up for about 2 years already.
I am currently hovering around 64.5kg and is trying to push down a few more kgs. i am not tall person so i think its a fine weight to push down to near 60kg.
actually another reason for improvment, just to share is weight loss. I have lost about 20kg in 3months. This loss is too rapid though, therefore it is dangerous. As a result, my solution now is to ensure that i do not over exercise cos i do not eat alot anyway... so recently this past week and following, my idea is to practise test and rest few days for each station.
i lose weight mainly by choosing healthier food and eating 1 meal to 1.5 meal a day. Its very tough to be hungry everyday, a word of caution.
Hello people, update again,
Bad news after today IPPT test, the results were much poorer than i calculated.
situp-30 OK 2points
Jump-207cm (target 212cm) but still i expect this result anyway 1 point
Shuttle run- 11 seconds(use leg cross line method, did not expect such slow timing. 2nd attempt-10.8(use stretch out my hand to touch line method) 2points
Chin up - 2 OK 2 points
2.4km - never complete.. feel tired during the run, at 5th round, my upper body got pain, so i jog slowly liao.. come back at the end of 5th round already 13min 49secs. feel breathless and leg no power during the run, unlike my self test run i did myself (but self test run is conducted without static stations, i guess this is part of reasons)
2nd reason - run is conducted at about 5 pm for my turn.. sun is still out and abit hot also the track temperatue...
I saw some information at the kabhit camp which talks about weight loss, nutrition and also on how to test some individual stations.. anyone can direct me to these information online . thanks a million.. my netizen pals...what a unexpected day... when i feel that i am quite light at 62.5kg already and also got some training.
this may or may not help you http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QHAZJZTIT8
typo... chin up i got 5 times... 2 points
i lose weight mainly by choosing healthier food and eating 1 meal to 1.5 meal a day.
You won't get sufficient energy to train at your best or recover fast enough....
Like a vehicle won't move without fuel...
I am the kind of guy during NS time i barely pass and in reservist i got award from IPPT...strange as ever. anyway my thoughts are :
Maybe you should take a step back and look at the overall....
there are 2 areas you are trying to acheive at the same time.. loose weight and improve your physical performance on IPPT. You are probably at the physical level where u need to eat to improve but you don't want to gain weight.
You also need to understand there are bone density weight gain vs body fat weight gain.
Look at multi Vitamin supplement to maintain energy level. I think target weight at 57.5 kg and maintain muscle and bone weight.
I think you should NOT do 1.5 meal a day....but you might want to look at what you eat. The first order of the day is not to EAT White RICE or white flour.....but Brown Rice. Why because enriched white rice convert into sugar and store as body fat....
Full breakfast - Ceral - oakmeal/ fruits / Nuts..(not peanuts)
Full lunch -- Subway (wheat bread) 6 inch.
Half Dinner. - lean protein/ veg / brown rice. (no pork, no lard) or Fish/chicken are good (no chicken skin fat)
suppliment proteins -- Nuts, and Avocado these are really really Good proteins....(it help you to stop craving for meat.)
Excerise 3 times a week should be enough.But review your goal...i think at training your target should be higher .....rather than aim at 2 point achieve 1 point...but aim at 5 point for all stations and achieve 2 point average...
For sit up i think you should target towards 40 sit up/ miniutes. The increase torso excerise would help in both 2.4 k running and standing broad jump.
increase intensity of your 2.4. don't just run 2.4 exactly you always want to run slightly longer distance like 3k.m so that it helps to compensate the actual IPPT because during IPPT there is a tendency to start up by running faster as a group because all are nervous...
standing broad jump typically i don;t look at 2,12 mark to jump i focus on a far target and coordinate my armed swing momentum and my leg movement.
So adjust your target....mind over physical constrain...
thanks for the long reply and sharing session... first i update my this week IPPT...
situp-33, shuttle run-10.6, pull up-5, broad jump-212cm, 2.4km-13min 37seconds.. a better results already .. so for this IPPT i basically fail the 2.4km station by about 1 minute...
I have written several points about this IPPT which will help me decide what to do for the next one. Thanks again.
Comparison of my past 2 IPPT results for cat Y
1st 2nd
shuttle run 10.8 10.6
Broad jump 207 212
situp 30 33
chin up 5 5
2.4km 13m 49sec(dropout) 13min 37secs (passing 12 min 40 sec)
(drop out at 5th round
due to tiredness)
Originally posted by january:Comparison of my past 2 IPPT results for cat Y
1st 2nd
shuttle run 10.8 10.6
Broad jump 207 212
situp 30 33
chin up 5 5
2.4km 13m 49sec(dropout) 13min 37secs (passing 12 min 40 sec)
(drop out at 5th round
due to tiredness)
your 2.4 is only 1 minute to passing mark.. keep training hard! very soon that 1 minute will shorten and shorten until you pass your 2.4km.
keep it up, seems like your efforts are reaping you slightly better returns now.
Here is my latest one... thanks
Comparison of my past 3 IPPT results for cat Y
1st 2nd 3rd(8 nov)
shuttle run 10.8 10.6 9.6
Broad jump 207 212 216
situp 30 33 30
chin up 5 5 5
2.4km never complete 13.37 13.23
Originally posted by january:Here is my latest one... thanks
Comparison of my past 3 IPPT results for cat Y
1st 2nd 3rd(8 nov)
shuttle run 10.8 10.6 9.6
Broad jump 207 212 216
situp 30 33 30
chin up 5 5 5
2.4km never complete 13.37 13.23
Hi january,
To cut down your 2.4km run timing by 14 seconds in about a week is a very good thing. If you continue training at this rate, you should be able to pass your IPPT within the next two months. All the best to you.
Cheers.