I'm in BMT now, going to field camp next week, 6 days 5 nights.
Any tips on what to bring, what to do?
Plss help!
Thanks
Originally posted by xoxoZz:I'm in BMT now, going to field camp next week, 6 days 5 nights.
Any tips on what to bring, what to do?
Plss help!
Thanks
Just bring what is in ur fieldpack cos anything else is illegal.
I once heard from someone in another platoon that during field camp got someone in their platoon bring mosquito repellent spray etc and kanna sign 1 extra. Nothing that is not SAF issued can be brought out to field camp unless ur sgts say u all can.
the best tip for you before your first field camp is to go in with an open mind.. everything that is already in your field pack is all you need.
Anyway, lately weather is VERY wet so be prepared to be slping in water logged basha, freezing in the rain etc etc...
Really reminds me of my own field camp cos mine was 1st wk of Nov many yrs ago and it was also wet weather... 3-4 days rain out of 7 days, feeling just sucks when u and all ur stuff all become soaking wet and freezing cold
can survive one. field camp is not as shiong in bmt as compared to combat units.
and remember to dig yr shellscrape a distance away from the latrine point! that time during my field camp somebody went to pee into another person's shellscrape late at night. damn noob.
after field camp u will be totally shag and yearn for a good bath back in yr tekong chalet lol.
It's much easier than it sounds, seriously.
I think maybe the most shiong part of your field camp will be the route march there, and then the shellscrape digging. You'll enjoy BIC even though it's quite tiring crawling all the way because it means return to coy line, lol
Actually there is a lot of waiting, and just sitting around doing nothing, because there's so much to plan and do on the commanders' side, and only so many commanders to go around.
You'll learn group movement and attack, and get to fire blanks. Might be fun, because I heard from some of my friends that their group 'missions' were really improvised and 'exciting'. But in my case there was too much to learn on the spot, whole section ended up cocking up every single drill and getting punished for that.
There is night training i.e. night walks so on and so forth, but I think it's just an excuse for tekan when the commanders start doing funny things in the darkness like steal equipment or mislead recruits, then punish the platoon for not sticking together.
In fact for my field camp I was sleeping much earlier each night as compared to back in coy line. And it varies from coy to coy, but we managed to take a 'shower' on the 4th day at Rocky Hill camp. Really helps boost your morale.
All in all I really enjoyed my field camp, actually. But it will be a different story if it rains, so do pray that it doesn't rain during your field camp.
Originally posted by supremebull:It's much easier than it sounds, seriously.
I think maybe the most shiong part of your field camp will be the route march there, and then the shellscrape digging. You'll enjoy BIC even though it's quite tiring crawling all the way because it means return to coy line, lol
Actually there is a lot of waiting, and just sitting around doing nothing, because there's so much to plan and do on the commanders' side, and only so many commanders to go around.
You'll learn group movement and attack, and get to fire blanks. Might be fun, because I heard from some of my friends that their group 'missions' were really improvised and 'exciting'. But in my case there was too much to learn on the spot, whole section ended up cocking up every single drill and getting punished for that.
There is night training i.e. night walks so on and so forth, but I think it's just an excuse for tekan when the commanders start doing funny things in the darkness like steal equipment or mislead recruits, then punish the platoon for not sticking together.
In fact for my field camp I was sleeping much earlier each night as compared to back in coy line. And it varies from coy to coy, but we managed to take a 'shower' on the 4th day at Rocky Hill camp. Really helps boost your morale.
All in all I really enjoyed my field camp, actually. But it will be a different story if it rains, so do pray that it doesn't rain during your field camp.
According to the recent field camp batch, they are no longer doing BIC for some reason and some of the older training programmes have been gone to make way for the urban training stuff they are now going through.
I didn't need to go rocky hill camp to shower, i had 'public shower' for 3 out of 7 days thanks to the weather...
i thought bic was the most fun part of field camp..really like wartime ma..
first 1 is ok ...just be alert for turn out.. haha !
hmm
uhm mayb u can trade ur combat ratios wif others for fruit bars or biscuits..
as the packets food are really not tat nice.. maybe nw better le? idk
Originally posted by dkcx:According to the recent field camp batch, they are no longer doing BIC for some reason and some of the older training programmes have been gone to make way for the urban training stuff they are now going through.
I didn't need to go rocky hill camp to shower, i had 'public shower' for 3 out of 7 days thanks to the weather...
rain rain rain..fish tank boots...
bad bad bad.. terrible..
Originally posted by a-Lost-9uY:uhm mayb u can trade ur combat ratios wif others for fruit bars or biscuits..
as the packets food are really not tat nice.. maybe nw better le? idk
Pontay chicken and cabbage chicken is out of menu if i not wrong. Those who are my batch de should know how 'great' they taste ;)
yea true..rain is really one of the worst to have during field camp..everywhere muddy also, it just adds to the discomfort..
n ur boots become like 10 kg... nutella everywhere.. well..what to do..
go outfield most scare is rain..very sian 1..
sun how big also nvm...but once rain for days ..thats it..ur outfield become ' harder, longer '
worst..come back ..have to clean all damn things..
haha !
Too much wet weather n it will feel like going through BAC again :p
Oh ya highlight of field camp - tasting combat rations for the very first time.
No matter what menu you get, it tastes very nice...for the first few times you eat them.
Originally posted by dkcx:According to the recent field camp batch, they are no longer doing BIC for some reason and some of the older training programmes have been gone to make way for the urban training stuff they are now going through.
Wah I only did BMT a couple of years back and I'm 'outdated' already, lol
Originally posted by supremebull:Oh ya highlight of field camp - tasting combat rations for the very first time.
No matter what menu you get, it tastes very nice...for the first few times you eat them.
NICE!!!!!!!!! my friend sneak a pack of pontay chicken back home and even his dog rejects the food...
woah no BIC?!
i still remembered that time my sgts say everyone must stay as close to ground as possible. those who stand up will kena shot down to death. not sure if it's true. but what i can recall was that my pockets were filled with those sand after BIC, and i forgot to take out my watch. tio scratched. damn!
whenever i stare at my watch it reminds me of BIC, field camp and tekong days. lol.
Originally posted by supremebull:Wah I only did BMT a couple of years back and I'm 'outdated' already, lol
Thats what someone who just return from field camp told me when he pm me for advice.
Originally posted by striderz_o405:woah no BIC?!
i still remembered that time my sgts say everyone must stay as close to ground as possible. those who stand up will kena shot down to death. not sure if it's true. but what i can recall was that my pockets were filled with those sand after BIC, and i forgot to take out my watch. tio scratched. damn!
whenever i stare at my watch it reminds me of BIC, field camp and tekong days. lol.
Nah the guns are over 2m high if not wrong so unless u jump up on purpose be hit, even standup also unlikely to kanna bah.
hmmm..those pasta type are still ok
Originally posted by supremebull:Oh ya highlight of field camp - tasting combat rations for the very first time.
siam those tomato flavoured ones. lol.
i realised the nicest stuff are the desserts! creamy corn soup or something? green bean soup also not bad.
Originally posted by SGporkz:hmmm..those pasta type are still ok
Nice meh? I eaten when cold, eat 2-3 mouth full and i threw the whole pack away. I only eat the glutinous rice and dessert packs only or else live on biscuits.
i from mono intake..and they actually bring us to tekong just to take that BIC thingy..all sand...inside out... haha.
nah..they are firing way above us...u wont get hit even if u stand n jump... UNLESS they lower their aim...which is not quite possible also since they have pple controlling n watching the fire-er..