how do one become army doctor...the type that sit at cmpb inside office (like GP) with the rank captain deh.... anyone know?
Originally posted by franz mavrick:how do one become army doctor...the type that sit at cmpb inside office (like GP) with the rank captain deh.... anyone know?
U need to qualify to be a medical student, defer NS to go for ur medical studies and later come back to serve as an MO for ur NS.
firstly, study hard, get yourself a place in a medical school.
then how long do i have to serve to get the rank of captain and sit in that office?
Originally posted by franz mavrick:then how long do i have to serve to get the rank of captain and sit in that office?
Once u get a medical degree, u will go through OCS and get ur CPT rank immediately. However not all MOs are at CMPB, u can be posted to any SAF camp.
Originally posted by dkcx:U need to qualify to be a medical student, defer NS to go for ur medical studies and later come back to serve as an MO for ur NS.
defer for medical studies....does it require a bond or sth?
No.
You are not bonded by SAF but by MOH, since studying medicine locally is subsidized by the government.
Originally posted by dkcx:Once u get a medical degree, u will go through OCS and get ur CPT rank immediately. However not all MOs are at CMPB, u can be posted to any SAF camp.
Their course in OCS is the MO cadet course. Not the same as the other cadets. Anyway if not because SAF needs NSF doctors, less than 1 in 10 of them would have made it to OCS the normal way. This can be seen by how many of the overseas medical students didn't get into OCS during their NSF years. (Guys doing medicine overseas in UK and Aussie do their NS first, if not put security deposit).
Originally posted by insidestory:Their course in OCS is the MO cadet course. Not the same as the other cadets. Anyway if not because SAF needs NSF doctors, less than 1 in 10 of them would have made it to OCS the normal way. This can be seen by how many of the overseas medical students didn't get into OCS during their NSF years. (Guys doing medicine overseas in UK and Aussie do their NS first, if not put security deposit).
Its not the full OCS course of cos but there are still certain major components that they must go through which is similar to that of the OCS excluding most of the more siong overseas training etc etc
Moderator: it is
Actually it is better go to medical school after ORD. and pray that they never catch you.
one of the platoon medic that i know is a NUS grad doctor and is still a medic. MO have much responsibility and they dont earn much in SAF. And they need to reservist longer, and even Pes E they will still called you back for reservist as MO is needed in SAF and the PES status does not affect his duties in the field.
Originally posted by Lokey:Moderator: it is
Medical Officer Cadet Course for Licenced Doctors (MOCC)
Actually it is better go to medical school after ORD. and pray that they never catch you.
one of the platoon medic that i know is a NUS grad doctor and is still a medic. MO have much responsibility and they dont earn much in SAF. And they need to reservist longer, and even Pes E they will still called you back for reservist as MO is needed in SAF and the PES status does not affect his duties in the field.
icic..didnt know that it is so bad to become male doctors in singapore...i still thought army doctor quite shiok, get captain rank so easily... didnt know got so many conditions...
may i go practice medicine overseas...
also...how is mocc course like? easy to pass or easy to fail. how long does it takes?
maybe i get med degree then serve 2 years liao...go overseas and practice medicine?
anyway...thanks for telling me in advance the "traps" of being an army doc. appreciate a lot. :)
Originally posted by franz mavrick:icic..didnt know that it is so bad to become male doctors in singapore...i still thought army doctor quite shiok, get captain rank so easily... didnt know got so many conditions...
also...how is mocc course like? easy to pass or easy to fail. how long does it takes?
maybe i get med degree then serve 2 years liao...go overseas and practice medicine?
anyway...thanks for telling me in advance the "traps" of being an army doc. appreciate a lot. :)
Remember u still have reservist even as a MO unless you intend not to ever come back to sg at all after that 2 yrs cos i got a friend who works overseas but because he makes frequent trips back to sg, hes unable to request to defer his ICT.
Originally posted by dkcx:Remember u still have reservist even as a MO unless you intend not to ever come back to sg at all after that 2 yrs cos i got a friend who works overseas but because he makes frequent trips back to sg, hes unable to request to defer his ICT.
MO life is quite good lah. Especially if you are a MO in some bases, no need to go exercise just stay in Medical Centre see sick parade. MOCC can be quite siong but sure pass lah.
Originally posted by franz mavrick:icic..didnt know that it is so bad to become male doctors in singapore...i still thought army doctor quite shiok, get captain rank so easily... didnt know got so many conditions...
yes many of my friends went Australia to get the medical degree, it is shorter and the doctors are more skill in surgery than the local MO.
MOCC is slack if you are a NSF. If you are a ORD personnel during a MOCC conversion course even more slack. Anyway all the courses in the medical school is really very slack. I thought my BMT at leopard is already quite slack, there, even more slack.
serve 2 years, then get med degree and stay overseas and never come back if I am as smart as you.
actually being army doc is not that bad... my friend sign on as a SAF MO and is now a major going to 2 crab next year
Originally posted by tarutaru:MO life is quite good lah. Especially if you are a MO in some bases, no need to go exercise just stay in Medical Centre see sick parade. MOCC can be quite siong but sure pass lah.
Where got slack? being a MO is stressful. Depending on your posting. if you are unlucky you go to tekong, you will work like mad, imagine you have take care a few hundred patients a day, like less than 1 min per patient. World record holder.
On left side, the bloody officer say dont give his men MC (they chao keng one), on right side, the recruit look really unwell and need some rest. If you dont give MC the recruit might faint or worse die, if you give the officer not happy. The MO sometimes dont even have time to go toilet and have lunch. Every time, they sign and chop their stamp they out put their medical license at risk.
In Tekong, the MO have been giving me Ponstan for backache and Panadol for fever. But they dont know I am allergy to these drugs. Lucky I am a disobedient patient and never follow instructions and never take the drugs, else I would have die from drug allergy. So do you think issuing medications is a joke now. I charge the MO for giving me drugs that I am allergy and get their license remove...
what charge MO? dun be stupid.when u go report sick u fill in the registration slip. there got ask u yes/no for drug allergy and what is it. if u allergic to ponstan and panadol, u write it there the MO can SEE and he will then replace other drugs for u.
Originally posted by AhJun:what charge MO? dun be stupid.when u go report sick u fill in the registration slip. there got ask u yes/no for drug allergy and what is it. if u allergic to ponstan and panadol, u write it there the MO can SEE and he will then replace other drugs for u.
You dont get it! The MO are too busy and tired that they neglect their basic.
But they did give the MC that I wanted so no complain.. hehehe
Originally posted by Lokey:yes many of my friends went Australia to get the medical degree, it is shorter and the doctors are more skill in surgery than the local MO.
MOCC is slack if you are a NSF. If you are a ORD personnel during a MOCC conversion course even more slack. Anyway all the courses in the medical school is really very slack. I thought my BMT at leopard is already quite slack, there, even more slack.
serve 2 years, then get med degree and stay overseas and never come back if I am as smart as you.
actually being army doc is not that bad... my friend sign on as a SAF MO and is now a major going to 2 crab next year
how long does it takes to get medical degree in australia...compared to singapore? how much shorter? is degree from australia also recognise in singapore?
Originally posted by franz mavrick:
how long does it takes to get medical degree in australia...compared to singapore? how much shorter? is degree from australia also recognise in singapore?
I dont really know.
Only certain school is recognize you have to find it yourself.
Originally posted by Lokey:yes many of my friends went Australia to get the medical degree, it is shorter and the doctors are more skill in surgery than the local MO.
Originally posted by Lokey:You dont get it! The MO are too busy and tired that they neglect their basic.
But they did give the MC that I wanted so no complain.. hehehe
Originally posted by unclebutcher:
i honestly find this hard to believe.
doctor are just normal people. they make mistakes, sometimes wrong diagnosis, wrong drugs.
May be it is the medic fault that give the wrong drug.... must be medic
TS talk as if studying for medical degree is like studying for PSLE...easy peasy...LOL!!!
dude, please don't think you can be a doctor if you want. why not let me ask you, are you sure you can make it for the requirements? for NUS: As for A-Levels + (2 interviews+essay). Its so ridiculous when people think being a doctor is that easy, be it attaining the degree or after acquiring it. I must say its a joke if you think that you can be a doctor if you want.
like what most people replied say, you should start working hard for that place.