Hi guys, does anyone knows whether your PES status in army will affect your application to be a pilot in the SIA? Will they check with the army and is there a minimum required PES status to qualify?
No.
from what i heard, fighter plane pilots cannot join SIA cause they trained differently. too dangerous to fly commercial
Originally posted by bladez87:from what i heard, fighter plane pilots cannot join SIA cause they trained differently. too dangerous to fly commercial
this is absolutely incorrect from whomever u heard from..there're many living proofs of fighter pilots who're now SIA or commercial pilots. because i know of many who did so.
Originally posted by bladez87:from what i heard, fighter plane pilots cannot join SIA cause they trained differently. too dangerous to fly commercial
rubbish. a lot of former fighter pilots become commercial pilots after retiring from SAF. many of my SAF pilot friends who are not even 30 yet are already courted by airlines with offers.
but will they reject you just because you are not pes A or B?
A lot of airline pilots fly fighters on the weekends in the US Air National Guard Units.
Originally posted by Shotgun:A lot of airline pilots fly fighters on the weekends in the US Air National Guard Units.
Are you referring to Americans?
I don't think Singaporeans, or any non US citizen for that matter, are allowed to fly in the US Air National Guard Units.
Second, get any military pilot to a commercial plane and they can fly it almost immediately but 9 out 10 commercial pilots who never had any military piloting experience can't fly even a military transport chopper, let alone a fighter jet.
At the end of the day, commercial planes are flown auto-pilot.
Well....let me try to answer your questions with facts.
To be a RSAF pilot - of any kind, you need to be either Pes A/B. Cause afterall they're combat commissioned officers, got to be reasonably fit. In case you eject and gotta try to survive in hostile territory, you also need to pass your IPPT and able to qualify for OCS.
Yes, there're many ex-RSAF pilots in SIA. They even have a scheme to help them transition over. There's no such thing as 'more dangerous'. Every plane has their handling limits. An airliner can't manoevre like a fighter and it can't overspeed, if not it will disintegrate and breakup in the air. Airline pilots have to be type-qualified to each type of aircraft and be 'licensed'. Military pilots need to go for training and type-qualification.
No, I don't think a fighter pilot can just takeover an airliner and fly it just like that. The visual cues, systems etc. are very different. They can probably 'fly' it like, can control the stick and throttle, operate the ILS, but things like landing etc. have delicate and specific settings.
In the US, they're more proud of their military rank and in-flight announcements sometimes they will even tell you they're reserve of ANG pilots.
At the end of the day, commercial planes are flown auto-pilot. it is easier for a fighter pilot to fly a commercial plane if his life depended on it, than a commercial pilot to fly a fighter jet if his life depended on it. And there is hardly any G-force in commercial plane.
CCB who say RSAF fighter pilot cannot become SIA pilot
Originally posted by Nicholson.lai:CCB who say RSAF fighter pilot cannot become SIA pilot
Jealous people?
That aside, I think it takes much higher criteria and a lot more to be a military pilot. For one, commercial pilots need not go to OCS. Most of the commercial pilots I know are just regular joes who's very mediocre in life. Those who are graduates graduate with some lao sai degree from NUS Arts. not the sharpest tool in the shed. And considering that the plane really flies by itself, I'd say that its more of a job for no-pride men.
now dun be a dumb ass and shoot ur mouth off here. U sure the plane really flies by itself?
Originally posted by insidestory:Jealous people?
That aside, I think it takes much higher criteria and a lot more to be a military pilot. For one, commercial pilots need not go to OCS. Most of the commercial pilots I know are just regular joes who's very mediocre in life. Those who are graduates graduate with some lao sai degree from NUS Arts. not the sharpest tool in the shed. And considering that the plane really flies by itself, I'd say that its more of a job for no-pride men.
The plane cannot fly by itself o.O~
U can't programme a B747 to take-off, communicate with ATC, taxi and land and contact ground handling by itself...
Originally posted by Rock^Star:now dun be a dumb ass and shoot ur mouth off here. U sure the plane really flies by itself?
How literal your mind thinks. What a dumb ass. you must think there are really many blue moons and two left feet.
The plane is flown auto pilot isn't it??! Does a commercial pilot fly the plane like a military pilot? Just look at the word auto pilot and you'll know.
The only time the commercial pilot works is when the plane takes off and lands.
Originally posted by insidestory:How literal your mind thinks. What a dumb ass. you must think there are really many blue moons and two left feet.
The plane is flown auto pilot isn't it??! Does a commercial pilot fly the plane like a military pilot? Just look at the word auto pilot and you'll know.
The only time the commercial pilot works is when the plane takes off and lands.
Wrong. Commercial pilots also have to monitor freqs, do the charts and do communication with ground relay stations, ATC and ground handling.
lol u r one fucking noob who knows zilch about commercial jets. I hope ur not that monkey behind the controls. now go to the mirror and apply some acne cream pls.
To all:
Please refrain from personal insults please thank you.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Wrong. Commercial pilots also have to monitor freqs, do the charts and do communication with ground relay stations, ATC and ground handling.
Does any of these you highlighted have to do with flying?
Thanks for confirming that his job scope consists of = flying during take off and landing + admin work in between.. Why? because of ......Auto Pilot.
Edit: Wow, now the topic's been locked. Looking at the posts from other witnesses after mine, those of you still in denial like noob, SQ aspirant Rock^Star please wake up.
Commercial pilots: flying during take off and landing + admin work in between..and very bored.
but fly commercial plane sian sia, in between the flight sit there see com, talk on radio, change freq and hand overs than wait to land
Originally posted by Nicholson.lai:but fly commercial plane sian sia, in between the flight sit there see com, talk on radio, change freq and hand overs than wait to land
partly agree...i have a fren who's ex-saf pilot who's now flying with sq. everytime while in the `office', he will snap pictures with his dslr of `sunrise in zurich', `dust in london' from 30k feet. always email us the pics. after a while see his pictures also sian. he must be damn bored while up there...
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:To all:
Please refrain from personal insults please thank you.
My apologies, I hope you know that my earlier post wasn't directed at you :) Well, to each his own views.
This is not the place to discuss about commercial aircraft flying and stuff. Please continue your discussion in http://www.sgforums.com/forums/3296