Topic as above.
Do you have any?
Do they still serve Western food/chicken rice on special occasions?
Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Topic as above.
Do you have any?
Do they still serve Western food/chicken rice on special occasions?
Hi Marco_Simone,
I believe most, if not all, cookhouse serves western food and chicken rice now and then.
Cheers.
chicken drum stick rice>> BMT enlistment day special. also not very nice
my camp is served by SFI, but anyway, the typical chap chye peng meals, all also not nice.. but ok la....
better ones are nasi briyani, horfun. the western was a bit boring
so much better than last time liao lah
Actually I always look forward to meal time during my NS stint.
I even eat dinner when I stay out personnel. LOL!!!
The food now even got turkey during the x'mas period
hmm western got... wedges, drumstick with black pepper sauce, sausage, chicken/fish nugget. yum yum
Special occasions lead to special food at times (e.g. Hari Raya, Deepavali, Christmas, etc).
Also, we were served good food once in a while for no clear reason at all.
And when I was at SMTI, I remember that the breakfast sometimes consisted of..... salmon patties.
Quite a few of my friends hated them, but I liked salmon patties. And they're as expensive as heck - I kinda remember seeing that they cost $3.50 for two at NTUC.
turkey?! wonder if that's gonna happen this year.
yeah we had salmon patties once or twice. sispec cookhouse 1 ftw =D
yes, sispec cookhouse .....
I remember, once, we sneaked into the old tekong sispec while on exercise, and raided the dustbins there, there were dozens and dozens of salmon and chicken burger patties still warm, in virgin trash bags ..... we took about a dozen each. Those were bo chup times, after a week of combat rations, anything goes, lol .....
On the way out we helped ourselves to the fresh fruits placed before the kitchen god altar at the side of the cookhouse too.
I love the breakfast when they give me a hard boil egg with 4 pieces of white bread!!! BEST!!!
I remember some mornings they just gave me just one miserable piece of chee cheong fun...You expect me to be full with that?
Originally posted by Marco_Simone:I remember some mornings they just gave me just one miserable piece of chee cheong fun...You expect me to be full with that?
do you know you can go back for seconds at the cookhouse ? ..... tried that before ? ....
the average SAF cookhouse dumps enough food a day to feed a somali refugee camp .....
Originally posted by Fatum:do you know you can go back for seconds at the cookhouse ? ..... tried that before ? ....
the average SAF cookhouse dumps enough food a day to feed a somali refugee camp .....
not at my camp
they actually ran out of food when i went to collect for my unit
and most of the time the amount is just nice or slightly extra (which the auntie will bring back sometimes)
Originally posted by Fatum:do you know you can go back for seconds at the cookhouse ? ..... tried that before ? ....
I asked for more but say cannot
Originally posted by Fatum:yes, sispec cookhouse .....
I remember, once, we sneaked into the old tekong sispec while on exercise, and raided the dustbins there, there were dozens and dozens of salmon and chicken burger patties still warm, in virgin trash bags ..... we took about a dozen each. Those were bo chup times, after a week of combat rations, anything goes, lol .....
On the way out we helped ourselves to the fresh fruits placed before the kitchen god altar at the side of the cookhouse too.
combat rations are very nice too. I love the desserts like peanut paste and sesame paste.
Originally posted by fudgester:Special occasions lead to special food at times (e.g. Hari Raya, Deepavali, Christmas, etc).
Also, we were served good food once in a while for no clear reason at all.
And when I was at SMTI, I remember that the breakfast sometimes consisted of..... salmon patties.
Quite a few of my friends hated them, but I liked salmon patties. And they're as expensive as heck - I kinda remember seeing that they cost $3.50 for two at NTUC.
I'm one of those who hated them. I was a trainee at SI and you'd get salmon patties like 2 - 4 times a week then
I thought they tasted really strong and artificial, even told mookie that chewing on them is like trying to brush with salmon flavor toothpaste
Double post, my bad.
combat rations... are nice when you're outfield cos you're hungry and sian and shag. u try bringing back and eating it and you'll realise how bad it tastes then =D
and asking for more depends on the serving auntie's mood and whether that day got extra. U want more food try going like 20mins before the cookhouse closes, most of the time they'll give you more. or if u desperate try flirting with the auntie xD
Originally posted by Detached:I'm one of those who hated them. I was a trainee at SI and you'd get salmon patties like 2 - 4 times a week then
I thought they tasted really strong and artificial, even told mookie that chewing on them is like trying to brush with salmon flavor toothpaste
Aiyoh.... salmon patties don't come cheap, you know....
I happily ate up the salmon patties of those who didn't want them.
actually, appreciation of cookhouse food can usually be rekindled by an overseas exercises at places like lancer or crescendo .........
picky young appetities would quickly learn to appreciate singapore cookhouses food then ....
Originally posted by fudgester:Aiyoh.... salmon patties don't come cheap, you know....
I happily ate up the salmon patties of those who didn't want them.
I don't think they're that expensive, after all.. they're SFI brand leh.. Not those brands u saw at the supermarket..
My camp cookhouse cmi... for breakfast also can give bread and salmon patty... lunch rice and salmon patty.. one day so many salmon patty, i don't think you'd like it anymore
i dun really like salmon patty, just had it few days ago, the taste kinda weird...
Originally posted by Fatum:actually, appreciation of cookhouse food can usually be rekindled by an overseas exercises at places like lancer or crescendo .........
picky young appetities would quickly learn to appreciate singapore cookhouses food then ....
Oh yeah I was at both Lancer and Crescendo.....
At Lancer especially...... breakfast was more often than not just one single boiled hot dog on a hot dog bun.
That certainly didn't fill me up, and I would be hungry again within 30 minutes.
some places every week will have like 1 day serve western food