welcome to the NAVY!
cheers
manage to find this http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/318074
hahaahha i think both of u r asking about the same question... and ofcoz, the same question of siong-ness are being discuss as well
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
You havent answered me....you're PES C. You're a NSF (Non-Sailing Force).How could you have sailed?
Unless of course your down-PES was because you got concussed by someone's DCBA etc, which actually happened to someone I knew.
there is C there is N1,2, 9.
I can be C9N1 or C9N2. There is a col who I know is E9N1. What a weird question you are asking? But... I actually Pes B before .. lah...
Originally posted by will4:
I thought the Minister of Trade n Industry, Mr Lim Hng Kiang is a former Air Force Officer? Peter Ho, the PS is from the Navy n BG (NS) Geroge Yeo is from the air force. I read that in times of conflict, the air force will be the first to be mobilized if I have not remeber wrongly. I have left the service a long time n I have not been called back for any duty. I read that army n navy food have become nicer. No idea regarding training, last time in tekong, there is fogging to kill the mosquitoes n recuruits kena forced to take malaria pills. Speaking about the food in the army, they said can also bring cooked food to field camp which I also experienced during my service. Even during a mission, there is also the cooked food brought to the field. I forgot that Mr Lim Hng Kiang is an LTC when he went to join the ministry.
Lim Hng Kiang, George Yeo are all Army SAFOS. In fact, everyone knows that George Yeo was in Signals, around the same time as with Lee Hsien Yang.
As for Peter Ho, I always thought he was an Army chap but looking at his big (unfit) size, I could be mistaken. He could be from Navy.
None of the three is from Air Force. In fact, no air force SAFOS ever made minister. Maybe Ng Chee Khern will be the first.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
You havent answered me....you're PES C. You're a NSF (Non-Sailing Force).How could you have sailed?
Unless of course your down-PES was because you got concussed by someone's DCBA etc, which actually happened to someone I knew.
He is a well-known retard here who's prone to rubbish and the occasional poorly executed bluff. He also started a thread once once on how he thinks he's so mighty compared to regulars and when he was rubbished by everyone, he tried to squirm and slink under a rock after I exposed him. When cornered, he'll try to escape by saying he "doesn't care" or only cares about money.
If he's so damn successful and earning more than two peanuts, why the eff is he doing posting in this forum about NS as a freaking reservist.
I know actual regulars who don't even know the existence of this forum and don't give a shit about all online military or government-related rants, let alone ever stepped into this forum and their one's year income tax payment is double of his annual income.
Originally posted by insidestory:He is a well-known retard here who's prone to rubbish and the occasional poorly executed bluff. He also started a thread once once on how he thinks he's so mighty compared to regulars and when he was rubbished by everyone, he tried to squirm and slink under a rock after I exposed him. When cornered, he'll try to escape by saying he "doesn't care" or only cares about money.
If he's so damn successful and earning more than two peanuts, why the eff is he doing posting in this forum about NS as a freaking reservist.
I know actual regulars who don't even know the existence of this forum and don't give a shit about all online military or government-related rants, let alone ever stepped into this forum and their one's year income tax payment is double of his annual income.
Insidestory, I think you are very rude, in opening insulting people, I dont know about the part about "exposing" me. But I remember you are a useful contributer in this forum in my personal opinion.
Just in "Navy" service alone, one Uni classmate, and 2 hall mates are now active naval officers. One Sec school classmate sign on as naval officer as diploma holder. One ex-naval officer (female) is my uni classmate and now colleagues. And more. So I do know about naval stuff. And I am going for my medical review in CNB next week.
The most interesting part is my previous boss, the head of heads is my ex-colleague, who has a "civilian" rank lower than me.
Originally posted by Lokey:Insidestory, I think you are very rude, in opening insulting people, I dont know about the part about "exposing" me. But I remember you are a useful contributer in this forum in my personal opinion.
Just in "Navy" service alone, one Uni classmate, and 2 hall mates are now active naval officers. One Sec school classmate sign on as naval officer as diploma holder. One ex-naval officer (female) is my uni classmate and now colleagues. And more. So I do know about naval stuff. And I am going for my medical review in CNB next week.
The most interesting part is my previous boss, the head of heads is my ex-colleague, who has a "civilian" rank lower than me.
Feigning ignorance and playing 'victim' mode while going on to talk about topic. LOL.
Here is the thread, for the convenience of everyone. http://sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/382456
Also, look at how he goes on again in his self delusional and consolatory rhetoric about how he is such a "successful" person in the civilian world despite once having been lorded by others in NS. It is so amusing and worth coming back here for - the very reason why so many NSF love to come here and amuse themselves.
Lokey, you need to get a reality check like SBS2601D said and my advice to you is stop pretending that you're an elite because you aint see nothing on whats elite or not (you) and your English sucks to the point of being worse than even the person farthest away possible from the concept of marginal success, so please, I know your background and its just utterly sad to watch for me.
Quit the self-staged therapy sessions here. Go wank off somewhere else. Try the $5 paid sex in Geylang, its more right up your alley.
Originally posted by insidestory:Feigning ignorance and playing 'victim' mode while going on to talk about topic. LOL.
Here is the thread, for the convenience of everyone. http://sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/382456
Also, look at how he goes on again in his self delusional and consolatory rhetoric about how he is such a "successful" person in the civilian world despite once having been lorded by others in NS. It is so amusing and worth coming back here for - the very reason why so many NSF love to come here and amuse themselves.
Lokey, you need to get a reality check like SBS2601D said and my advice to you is stop pretending that you're an elite because you aint see nothing on whats elite or not (you) and your English sucks to the point of being worse than even the person farthest away possible from the concept of marginal success, so please, I know your background and its just utterly sad to watch for me.
Quit the self-staged therapy sessions here. Go wank off somewhere else. Try the $5 paid sex in Geylang, its more right up your alley.
I think you are self-opinionated. That is the precise reason why I cannot click with regulars or officer. Learn to respect other peoples' opinion and views, it will help you in the long run.
When you posted insulting comments, this will reflect badly on your image. Learn to look at yourself in the mirror before you say some1's English is bad. And I think you are really funny, when people write in the forum, of course they write in short notes, I dont care putting my text in proper English.
Dont make assumptions on baseless grounds, it will drive you to wrong conclusions.
[notice. I always 'try' to give positive, and constructive comments. ]
I am not referring to the length of your sentences. What are you, stupid? LOL. You are so oblivious to your lot in life and your place in the world that it is tragic to the point of amusing.
The only difference between you, a farmer in the civilian world, and the farmers in the SAF, is you didn't qualify for command school and some of them did. You are merely a farmer who is even worth less than those farmers you're talking about.
Get your mom to buy you a mirror, peasant.
Here's why you didn't get along with officers while millions of men and specialists do. Because you're a retard. That's why. An Effing Retard. The ultimate Retard farmer who thinks his hoe is his dick.
tl;dr
I've always believed that the only person who is qualified to talk about a job is the person doing it.
It's always easy to compare what you are doing with others and whine about how hard life is treating you. However, remember that life isn't kind to the other person as well. We are talking about a military organization here, there are NO easy appointment.
I can only comment about Navy since I'm from that service. Sea sickness is something everyone will experience in varying degrees. If you're posted on LSTs (or Frigates for that matter) you probably won't to be sailing around Singapore. Waters out in open sea will still literally rock your boat. In Navy, sleep is really not the priority. Neither is holiday.
I believe Navy and Air Force personnels deal with greater amounts of mental stress and our Army counterparts, physical. We each have a role to play, so why quarrel over whose role is tougher? Just be proud of what you are doing and respect others, imo. Makes us look less silly.
Oh and that "Sun, sand, and sea" phrase? Try "Sun burns, sandflies, and seasick"
Just meet my "Sgt" ( <- dont know his rank now ) this week, who has been in the Navy for 14 years to come, and has been in various positions, he is about to "ORD" and will be working as "property agent" soon.
Through our chat, Navy has provided him a steady income, with pros and cons, dislike and like. He like the "Sun, Sand and Sea" but is exhausted now, so he decided to do else.
stress in army,navy and airforce?????u could be disassembling a live grenade or servicing one of the most complicated flying machines .....it all boils down if anyone is able to take stress....aka the people there itself.
no point u have a general yelling and screaming for days to take down the enemy while they have able quiet field men able to do the job in minutes sipping cola and watching porn at the same time without even knowing what his orders are from the top even.
stress is all up to the individuals and enviroment.best is by working alone.,,,,think even better than the general at the end of the day.
oh well as i am reading through, i realized some stuff Lokey said does not seems to come from his own personal experience... regardless it is army, navy or airforce, we shld come to an understanding that it will be mentally or physically tough for all... stop comparing! there will be times when you are shagged and times when you are more "zuo bo"... my advice to TS is same as others... experience first then decide if you want to sign on or not...
That Lokey has still refused to answer my queries, choosing to hide behind the screen of "freedom of withholding speech".
If you know nuts, don't act like your nuts are the size of pineapples....there are people who will arrive to sexpose you.
he thought that he is me... act blur live longer...
forgive me, most of the times i do not read what is being posted. Hence not answering most of the questions. Anyway, it is not appropriate to give the ops detail.
The key thing in signing on Navy is to ensure that you dont have seasickness.
Some special sailing mission/training can be very long. Like the Gulf mission (it is in the news so it is not big secret anyway); Submarine training (when they first deploy the men in the sub, they trained them in Europe and sail the ship back to Singapore; there is also special sailing trip/mission when they sail from Japan to New Zealand, or Singapore to Mexico (somewhere there), all over the world.
During sailing there is no day/no night for men so, it is very routine. Some people like going to various countries, R&R. There is nothing bad about sign on Navy, it is just whether you like it or not, depending on individuals. (I am a land animal).
Originally posted by Lokey:Just meet my "Sgt" ( <- dont know his rank now ) this week, who has been in the Navy for 14 years to come, and has been in various positions, he is about to "ORD" and will be working as "property agent" soon.
Through our chat, Navy has provided him a steady income, with pros and cons, dislike and like. He like the "Sun, Sand and Sea" but is exhausted now, so he decided to do else.
I also got told by a regular that most of the jobs they got is property agent n real estate agent. There is a case of a former regular asking for a salary when he applied for a sales executive post although this former regular did not got any sales experience. In the end, the company decided not to shortlist any regular for the position. I really felt sorry for the regular esp those officer who became poperty agent, they got to face tough customers.
it was like that since 1990s.......regulars end up as property agent or end up working as a manager in BATA .
Originally posted by Hitman+:it was like that since 1990s.......regulars end up as property agent or end up working as a manager in BATA .
Last time, one of my NS superior with the rank of Maj told his brigade commander that it is going to be better to leave the service as he is still young to get a job outside. He also tlak further that nowdays regular difficult to find job outside. My lecturer lagi funny said that no matter what rank u get obtained inside the military when u go to civilian life, nobody cared.
Originally posted by Lokey:forgive me, most of the times i do not read what is being posted. Hence not answering most of the questions. Anyway, it is not appropriate to give the ops detail.
The key thing in signing on Navy is to ensure that you dont have seasickness.
Some special sailing mission/training can be very long. Like the Gulf mission (it is in the news so it is not big secret anyway); Submarine training (when they first deploy the men in the sub, they trained them in Europe and sail the ship back to Singapore; there is also special sailing trip/mission when they sail from Japan to New Zealand, or Singapore to Mexico (somewhere there), all over the world.
During sailing there is no day/no night for men so, it is very routine. Some people like going to various countries, R&R. There is nothing bad about sign on Navy, it is just whether you like it or not, depending on individuals. (I am a land animal).
After getting sexposed by so many people here, this farmer can only weakly say he "does not read the posts" here. if you didn't read SBS2601D's post, how do you know that he was asking you to answer him? Hahaha
And if you don't read other people's posts (really? hahaha), and only yours when you come here, you're obviously masturbating in this forum. Masturbating your ego. Which is what I said about you from Day 1. And I'm never wrong. Looks like I'm proven right again!
Why you look down on property agent? Never read newspapers that they make $500k a year nowadays? Moreover isn't property agent the default go-to job of farmers like you?
People without the usual intellectual chops (and branded and overseas credentials) demanded by other lucrative jobs such as front office banking (meaning trading desk), government's elite Admin Service and management consultancy ala Mckinsey generally turn to sales. I wonder why you're throwing stones at your own kind. A farmer in denial.
Originally posted by Hitman+:stress in army,navy and airforce?????u could be disassembling a live grenade or servicing one of the most complicated flying machines .....it all boils down if anyone is able to take stress....aka the people there itself.
no point u have a general yelling and screaming for days to take down the enemy while they have able quiet field men able to do the job in minutes sipping cola and watching porn at the same time without even knowing what his orders are from the top even.
stress is all up to the individuals and enviroment.best is by working alone.,,,,think even better than the general at the end of the day.
quote farmer #2 hitman "stress is all up to the individuals and enviroment.best is by working alone.,,,,think even better than the general at the end of the day"..think even better than the general.... (??! )
if you can earn 10% of what the general does, you would be masturbating your own father in shocked delight at your lot in life which surpassed all expectations. best is by working alone..in your little HDB used handphone shop I reckon.What a socially handicapped freak.
bunch of farmers talking cock and masturbating each other.
Originally posted by stackofnotes:tl;dr
I've always believed that the only person who is qualified to talk about a job is the person doing it.
It's always easy to compare what you are doing with others and whine about how hard life is treating you. However, remember that life isn't kind to the other person as well. We are talking about a military organization here, there are NO easy appointment.
I can only comment about Navy since I'm from that service. Sea sickness is something everyone will experience in varying degrees. If you're posted on LSTs (or Frigates for that matter) you probably won't to be sailing around Singapore. Waters out in open sea will still literally rock your boat. In Navy, sleep is really not the priority. Neither is holiday.
I believe Navy and Air Force personnels deal with greater amounts of mental stress and our Army counterparts, physical. We each have a role to play, so why quarrel over whose role is tougher? Just be proud of what you are doing and respect others, imo. Makes us look less silly.
Oh and that "Sun, sand, and sea" phrase? Try "Sun burns, sandflies, and seasick"
In Air Force, only the pilot got some mental stress. I'd say not even the WSO has any. And neither do the people on the ground. You probably don't know this. I've got tons of pilot friends, and I know for a fact that their flying time is limited to a number of hours per week. How spoilt is that? no one is saying that there's no mental stress. But its clearly exaggerated in perception and highly moderated operationally.
What "mental stress" does Navy have, sitting and sunning on the little boat all day?
Do you happen to know that mental strength is used to overcome physical stress? If you've been through OCS, you'd know. Your segregation of mental and physical stress for the three services is thus moot. Which leads us to conclude that all three services require a level of mental strength to overcome all kinds of stresses.
The only difference is the guys in air force and navy can be fat and unfit.
insidestory, you sounds and behave weird to me. Perhaps you should really check with your friends, if you are mentally sane. <-- I am serious about this. Take care.
The point I'm trying to make is that every job has it's own difficulty. More often than not, you will only hear complains from people about how hard their job is. In every organization, military or private, there is pressure to perform that increases exponentially as your rank increases. However, mainly due to the emphasis on safety, mistakes carry with it more repercussions (in the military) and this is true amongst the 3 forces.
I'm not trying to convince you that Navy and Air Force personnels have monopoly on mental stress and Army, physical. I'm just generalizing.
Maybe your friends have failed to mention this.. But do you honestly think that after spending millions to train them, the government would let them just idle away in the lounge room when they aren't on alert? You've been through Army life, you should know better than that.
Also, you may categorize people in the Navy/Air wings as fat but you cannot call them unfit. Every in-service personnel is required to pass their IPPT every year or risk having their salary/promotions reduced/delayed.
But if you're dead set on the sterotype of 'Officers/regulars are useless', 'Army > Navy/Air force', 'Navy/Air force personnels are weak, fat, unfit, and useless', then by all means, don't let what I've said change your mind. After all, I'm only a dumb regular :>
Cheers!
P.S: If military was so easy, everyone would have chosen it for a career.
Originally posted by stackofnotes:tl;dr
I read that the diver training is tougher n furthermore, the deputy commander of the SOTF is from naval diver. The present defence minister is from navy n I think soon, he is going to be PM already. Regarding air force
I thiught there LG Bey who is the first Air Force chief to be DDF also.