Is there necessarily to have "all the men" to join and spend the 2 years in SAF?
From my point of view, it's not necessary to waste the time.
In 2 years, people can spend their times to do a lot of staff, I don't think there will be a 100%, and everyone will says I like to become a soldier, agree? Why not just make it as is a full-time job, there always will be people who likes it are willing to join it.
For those people who dont, dont have to spend the time in there, they can just continue and contribute to the cause of the nation's future.
Time of waiting+Time of 2yrs serving=3 yrs.
really bored...what do you guys think?
if theres no NS or the SAF, there wont even be a singapore.. we'll probably be part of some other country..
ya hor. YOU ARE RIGHT↲
MY FRIEND AND I ALWAYS WONDER,BUT HOW IF ANOTHER WAR START WITH BIG COUNTRY LIKE JAPAN AGAIN. WILL WE ABLE TO DEFEAT IT WELL?
No this topic again. Here we go again.....
Past References: www.sgforums.com/topics/search?q=Why+NS&commit=Go&type=topics
Originally posted by Will_li:Is there necessarily to have "all the men" to join and spend the 2 years in SAF?
From my point of view, it's not necessary to waste the time.
In 2 years, people can spend their times to do a lot of staff, I don't think there will be a 100%, and everyone will says I like to become a soldier, agree? Why not just make it as is a full-time job, there always will be people who likes it are willing to join it.
For those people who dont, dont have to spend the time in there, they can just continue and contribute to the cause of the nation's future.
Time of waiting+Time of 2yrs serving=3 yrs.
really bored...what do you guys think?
Sigh.... here we go again.....
Let me just ask you: have you done your NS?
If you have not, when will you be enlisting?
HAHAHAHA!!! i love my ns life but i dun wanna sign on. just wish i can go back there and do those shitty stuff with my plt again lolx
well yes 2 years its alot of time but think about all the stuff ur gonna learn and all the thing u get to do in the army =)
Originally posted by HO SEI BO:HAHAHAHA!!! i love my ns life but i dun wanna sign on. just wish i can go back there and do those shitty stuff with my plt again lolx
well yes 2 years its alot of time but think about all the stuff ur gonna learn and all the thing u get to do in the army =)
HAHAHAHA!!! I love my ns life too
Too bad i already completed all my HIGH Key ict
want to go back
also no more any chances
go do NS lah.
i don't really care. beco i already completed, also completed my Nsmen trainging cycle now discharged no need to go back already. come to think of it i missed those NSF reservist days. too old if not i sure sign on go back.
With our small population, it’s not visible to have a regular standing force. US have a total population of 303,824,640 and yet despite the large population, only a total of 1,385,122 are in active military service. That’s like every 220 people, only 1 is in military service.
If you presume Singapore are as hardcore as American towards military service. We will have a regular force of only 20,454. That’s a WTF number le. Sure kenna pwned by our stronger and larger neighbors.
Numbers aside, if we don’t not defend this small patch of green earth we call home, who will do it? I can’t imagine WW2 happening all over again. Our men all suffer and die without reasons, our woman shamed and humiliated. History tells us the victors decide the fate of the conquered. We should never be at the mercy of others to decide our life.
My brother told me don’t think about protecting the country, but instead think about your parents, girlfriend, this girl you have a crush on in school, your friends. Our girlfriend/wife kenna stare at outside by other people, we inside a bit not happy already. Far worse will happen to them if we did get invaded and conquered.
Even thou we might not win, at least we didn't give up without a fight. I believe we all just want a place for our love ones to grow old peacefully. And if that means me going through 2 years of suffering and shit work and constant whatever, totally fine with me. People say SAF very wayang. Well that is true i guess. But if the wayanging show others we are not to be fu*ked with, i say go ahead and wayang all they want.
I haven do my NS yet, few more months before going in. My views are of my own opinion. =D
TS only think wan to go in alreay so how can don't do or not. maybe he work don wan to go back reservist cos ippt always fail hehehe
i look forward to war. can kill some pigs with my gun and bayonet
Originally posted by noahnoah:
HAHAHAHA!!! I love my ns life tooToo bad i already completed all my HIGH Key ict
want to go back
also no more any chances
hahaha im still waiting fer my 1st ICT woots
Originally posted by HO SEI BO:
hahaha im still waiting fer my 1st ICT woots
nvm soon it will come
and IT will end soon also
Boys of my age only care about football, basketball etc. so they won't contribute much to Singapore. But girls of my age cares more about studies. just look at the past top psle record.
if you ask me it's not how tough the ns is, is the duration of it.
mindef needs to understand that it by shortening it save alot of trouble, of cause not all, but i believe save alot real lot of trouble.
they need to realise it's not the toughness but the duration wasted on ns.
if u give me very chiongsua ns for 6mths compare to 2 years of real slackness, i rather 6 mths of chiong till siao. just an example.
NS is okay in my opinion. But 2 years is too long. I suggest reduce to 1.5 years.
Will_li, will you agree to NS of 1.5 years, or will you still oppose NS?
Reservist cycle is another problem. Why are locals serving NS when country is flooded with aliens is yet another serious problem.
And as long as PAP is not defeated in elections, they will never care about our opinions. They give the dictates. You like the dictates or don't like the dictates, you must obey - just like in SAF.
Duration might be the problem. Agree with that. Got friends chiong sua for 2 years while some do admin work for 2 years.
Maybe chiong sua vocations can serve 1.5 years while non-chiong sua vocations serve longer period. Like that people might think twice about chao keng.
My view is that NS is not the problem but duration of NS is the problem.
Just like aliens is not the problem but number of aliens is the problem.
Actually there is only really one problem.
PAP is the problem.
europe and many other countries national service also compulsary. why complain? i also serve finish already 2 yrs not much lah. its not pap, not pay, not counrty pronlem. its the individual brain problem. its the mind. the mind and attitude are the biggest problems.
Originally posted by kcockicht:europe and many other countries national service also compulsary. why complain? i also serve finish already 2 yrs not much lah. its not pap, not pay, not counrty pronlem. its the individual brain problem. its the mind. the mind and attitude are the biggest problems.
Amen Brother!
Originally posted by kcockicht:europe and many other countries national service also compulsary. why complain? biggest problems.
But how many serve 2 years? I think there are none. The standard is 9 months.
Originally posted by ztreyier:But how many serve 2 years? I think there are none. The standard is 9 months.
they have a higher population. we have less.
the turn over rate/ change over will be too rapid if we reduce the NS duration.
make good use of the 2-2.5 yrs. its sheet i know but it won't hinder your career.
Originally posted by kcockicht:
they have a higher population. we have less.
We have less territory to defend if you want to make such arguments.
the turn over rate/ change over will be too rapid if we reduce the NS duration.
Is there a study on that? My suggestion is 1.5 years NS. Will the rate be too rapid?
I myself served 2 years 4 months. Now reduced to 2 years. How did that affect the turn over rate/ change over?
make good use of the 2-2.5 yrs. its sheet i know but it won't hinder your career.
I disagree. If the length is unnecessary it should be abolished.
I myself think that there is a hidden agenda of using NS/reservist to control the male population to be subservient to PAP regime.
Train them to obey PAP. Regulate their lives. Control them. So they won't oppose the regime.
AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA ........
ztreyier sure have issues with the government and SAF.
Take it easy man. At the end of the day, MAYBE we should look at the bigger picture. Defending our country is the bigger picture. Time spend doing it might be long but still its the bigger picture that matters.
Just my honest opinion. =D