Originally posted by Leewkb:actually, when oversea general comes to Singapore, they are normally at the invitation of someone from SAF with the same appointment. For example, the Chief of Army from MAF comes to Singapore at the invitation of our COA, etc... However, beside meeting our COA, he may also pay a courtesy call to someone with a higher rank... like CDF or the Minister... but the main person who is going to entertain him is the COA.
He may pay a courtesy call, like you said. Notice who's the one doing the paying of respects to whom? Its all pegged to seniority of appointment. The lower ranked guy must be the one to do the paying of the respects. And yes, like you said above, and what I said previously to the retard, same rank meet with and entertain same rank. Their wives are involved too, sometimes, if the foreign dignataries bring wives.
Originally posted by insidestory:Your speculation is wrong, according to people in the system. And anyway, based on what you said, I can more or less know that it's your own speculation not based on any inference from sound knowledge.
Anyway, make no mistake. In Singapore, when someone is worthy of a place, there is no such reason as 'for fear of too powerful family' as to stop him from ascending. It would be a reason attributive to none other than himself and the level of trust he can inspire in the system. In this system, I've seen unworthy people benefit like a number of duds getting their star so the system can make a 'point', but so far, no worthy person has been denied of fruits.
I have nothing against Ng Chee Khern really, though I have never heard him speak in person, only heard of him.
Its his brother in the air force that almost everyone I know who knows him says is a total idiot. And no, intelligence is NOT equal among siblings.
Ng Chee Khern is quite friendly... I have a few chances speaking to him in a non-military function. On the other hand, I won't be surprised if his brother is a idiot... I've never spoken to him before, but looking at his photograph, I don't like him either....
Originally posted by insidestory:Both MG Neo KH and BG Chan CS are scholars. Both are SAFOS, BG Chan is also a president's scholar, and he is VERY smart. Have seen him in action before. Only SAFOS are considered scholars in the SAF.
I predict BG Tan Chuan Jin will be next COA.
Hey insidestory!
Care to share what you saw when you mention 'BG Chan is also a president's scholar, and he is VERY smart. Have seen him in action before.' Just very curious! LOL!
And yes! Our CDF is not a puppet to whoever, foreign CDF or COA are met with our CDF. Just that to be polite, foreign CDF or COA also meet our defence minister.
Heard him talk to soldiers before. He is a bit too sleek, although to some that's not a complaint.
Now that he is COA, i guess you will hear more of him speaking, since COA tends to address the whole army. And there has never been a PS who became COA, that people said there was a curse. Now BG Chan has broken 'it', if the curse even existed..
Originally posted by Leewkb:
I see. Anyway dude, you posted your reply, into my quote, in the last paragraph. And it looks as if it was said by me.
Please edit accordingly. Yup, I also heard from lots of people that Ng Chee Kern is friendly.
And he is said to be very sleek, eloquent, and yup, he was all poised to be CDF, it was supposed to be him, that's what everyone knew but life is unpredictable. No one can control it except God. BTW Chee Kern is also a PS like Chan Chun Sing.
Originally posted by insidestory:I see. Anyway dude, you posted your reply, into my quote, in the last paragraph. And it looks as if it was said by me.
Please edit accordingly. Yup, I also heard from lots of people that Ng Chee Kern is friendly.
And he is very sleek, eloquent, and yup, he was all poised to be CDF, it was supposed to be him, that's what everyone knew. BTW Chee Kern is also a PS like Chan Chun Sing.
Oops, sorry about that.
Originally posted by sitonmylap:Major-General (MG) Neo Kian Hong, currently Chief of Army, will take over from Lieutenant-General (LG) Desmond Kuek Bak Chye as Chief of Defence Force on 31 Mar 2010.
Brigadier-General (BG) Chan Chun Sing, currently Chief of Staff - Joint Staff, will assume the appointment of Chief of Army on 26 Mar 2010.
These changes are part of the continuing process of leadership renewal in the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF).
Oh man! What are the possible changes you guys can see?
LG Kuek took the step forward and brought the second generation SAF into a 3G SAF. I wonder what the new CDF will bring to the table.
My 2 cents worth, I think leadership should consists of warriors, not scholars.
Between that Kuek guy and the incoming CDF, MG Neo is easily one hundred, maybe one thousand times more garang and on-the-ground and 'army' than Kuek. You going on about what Kuek took the step forward, blah blah and you wonder what the new CDF will bring to the table, you definitely don't know a single thing about what's happening in SAF. You must be either a pre-enlistee or someone who doesn't need to serve like a foreigner or woman.
The scholars in the SAF are soldier-scholars, age old-concept since the 1970s here and going even further back in other more established militaries. The two concepts are not mutually exclusive, unless of course, you have not met them.
Your 2 cents worth is typical unlearned chatter among people who are detached from reality; and very detached from the core of the action. Next time, go up to Chan Chun Sing and talk to him.
btw, frankly among all the scholar high fliers, I'm least impressed with Kuek. He's good, but his contemporaries are better. What he is better than them at, is positioning himself.
Originally posted by Itedino:
Guards mean frontline soldier. U think he will front line a not?
You mean only guards go on frontline, and not commando, infantry and armour?
And you mean COA did not go on the frontline in the field when he was a PC, OC, CO, Brg Comm? Wow you're so damn "smart". Even as I type this, I can't quite believe cos in real life, I never meet anyone so stupid in the people I cross paths with! I think we're just from two different polarised worlds.
You mean he went from private, like you overnight to COA today? Just like how you dream you can be general even though you can't even cut it to OCS or more probably, didn't make the cut based on education. You can find any other armies in the world now where the equivalent to SAF's div com go to the frontline? That would be one joke of an army.
if you can find, I guarantee even someone like you can make it to Harvard. As a toilet cleaner.
Originally posted by TheMissus:Between that Kuek guy and the incoming CDF, MG Neo is easily one hundred, maybe one thousand times more garang and on-the-ground and 'army' than Kuek. You going on about what Kuek took the step forward, blah blah and you wonder what the new CDF will bring to the table, you definitely don't know a single thing about what's happening in SAF. You must be either a pre-enlistee or someone who doesn't need to serve like a foreigner or woman.
The scholars in the SAF are soldier-scholars, age old-concept since the 1970s here and going even further back in other more established militaries. The two concepts are not mutually exclusive, unless of course, you have not met them.
Your 2 cents worth is typical unlearned chatter among people who are detached from reality; and very detached from the core of the action. Next time, go up to Chan Chun Sing and talk to him.
btw, frankly among all the scholar high fliers, I'm least impressed with Kuek. He's good, but his contemporaries are better. What he is better than them at, is positioning himself.
Hey TheMissus!
I believe you don't have to be so hostile. I do know nothing so therefore i am asking. And ya I am a pre-enlistee but that doesn't make me less of a person.
I do like to serve btw, very eager actually! Planning to sign on so there is no doubt about my faith or loyalty and i personally hate people who try to chao keng or whatsoever.
My 2 cents worth are of my own idea, you don't have to go crazy about it.
I just want to know about what this new CDF will do and trying to get ideas from others. No need to have you go crazy about it man.
walau there is nothing to be confused about. people like Itedino and icyboiz are just jealous.
super lame. like some rubbish person insulting bill gates or any public figures. must be destined to be rubbish collector.
Originally posted by sitonmylap:Hey TheMissus!
I believe you don't have to be so hostile. I do know nothing so therefore i am asking. And ya I am a pre-enlistee but that doesn't make me less of a person.
I do like to serve btw, very eager actually! Planning to sign on so there is no doubt about my faith or loyalty and i personally hate people who try to chao keng or whatsoever.
My 2 cents worth are of my own idea, you don't have to go crazy about it.
I just want to know about what this new CDF will do and trying to get ideas from others. No need to have you go crazy about it man.
Err i didn't go crazy about it. You never stated that you knew nothing, or revealed you were a pre-enlistee. If you had stated that at the start humbly and asked to know more, people would have gladly told you. But it was very obvious from your post that you didn't know much or anything, but also tried to sound like you did, and that can be irritating. Its not just pre-enlistees. A lot of people who've served still know nothing, like some others here. If one knows nothing, his two cents is worth nothing, not worth even one cent.
I applaud your interest and dedication to serve. There is no greater calling than to defend your country.
Originally posted by Itedino:Btw, why got so many badges? SAF din even fight in war before. They just want to make the uniform look nice only. But to me it just a pile of useless badges. If u are US Marines 4 star general. I think u dun even look upon our generals in Singapore. China same too.
The Taiwanese army also has not engaged in combat. Since its formation in 1948, the Korean army did not engage in any combat since the 1950 Korean war until today in 2009, in which it was completed whipped and raped by the communists, and only survived because of American support and reinforcements.
Singapore has the SAF for the same reasons as Taiwan and Korea have created, invested and trained their armed forces. It has to, if only to safeguard its sovereignty which is the basest of needs, far before economic imperatives. Of course, you don't possess all this common knowledge known to people with brains, why do I bother to wonder if you did? You speak and sound like a complete bumpkin farmer.
Did you know that Singapore, when it was under the banner of "Malaya", was engaged in armed conflict, not just against the invading Japanese, but later on against the Indonesians too?
The badges are not meant to decorate the uniforms only, like you claim. You don't know how silly you look, I mean you haven't earned a single one when you were an enlisted personnel, you can't even match up to the regular joe on the street on any area, beyond the mental and physical fitness attached to the badges. You don't have a single thing to your name, that gives you any clout or place to hold a candle to anyone who has a badge. I doubt you have anything beyond super simple N or O levels, because you don't have requisite capabilities (IQ) to obtain even N or O levels, from the things you say. No wonder there are at least three people who called you dumb in this topic, including one thinly veiled sarcastic one from limywv on page 1.
And you're right. The SAF is a far cry from the US armed forces. Although our top soldiers most certainly have valuable experience training with the US army, they regularly top the US military courses too, and are commended by top US generals when the meet in military congresses. I personally know a few of such SAF officers.
YET SAF will never be comparable as a whole force with the US military, because of our size and budget limitations, our almost non-existent diplomatic and political standing, but most importantly because the bulk of people making up the SAF is crap. And guess what, if you sign on, you'd be one of them!
Lots like you should be kowtowing in gratitude to people like COA for holding up the whole fabric together, the very thing that you and people of your ilk (stupidity level) bring down, and thanking them for seeing the higher purpose in doing so. Without them, not merely the SAF but the whole country would have long unravelled. How is this so? Easy. If your stupidity is reflective of the bulk of Singaporeans which I suspect it is, woe WOULD HAVE long betide us, IF NOT FOR THEM.
Anyway, a person of your calibre compare with US for what? As if you will ever have a chance to be a part of the US in any way, form or shape...*rolls eyes.. People of top calibre I know in the SAF get offers from the United States left right and centre, be it top uni places after A levels, top scholarships, PhD offer from top unis after they graduate, top jobs in consulting and banking, top $$$$, recognition from US generals.
You leh? Nothing.
The SAF is in good hands.
BG Chan has all the experience necessary to be COA.
As for MG Ng, he's now in a really really important position in MINDEF that actually is more powerful than the CDF. And yes, he is by far one of the friendliest people I met in MINDEF.
Our chiefs are very qualified people. You really have to see them in action, in meetings, doing things, then you will realise how capable these men are. Don't take my word for it, if you really want to know how things are, go talk to these men. They all have very sharp minds, and are people you would definitely want to have in good, important positions.
I just left MINDEF recently, and I found it to be a good place, with strong and good leaders at the helm.
In anycase, I just wanna ask, who is taking over BG Chan as the new COS-JS?
I have a question guys. Anyone knows what is written on the certificate that will be presented to the new CDF? Does the outgoing CDF sign on it?
My group of stormtroopers are having a COC as well and i am doing the certificate so I need to know what is written on the cert.
Please help me. Thanks!
Btw now Mr Desmond can shout loudly, "ORD LOH!"