I dont follow the pay of the national service boy anymore. During my time, we were paid an 'allowance' of abt 180SGD per month to serve the nation. The average salary for a factory workers than was abt 700-1000SGD. Is the government still paying an 'alllowance' for compulsary national servce? if so why?
My view is that since Sg govern is preaching mkt driven rate for everythings in our country, including Ministers salary, why are we not paying a market rate salary to our national servicemen? We may not have the money in the past the the early day but now, I dont beleive we cannot affort to pay the annual intake of say 10-20K new servicemen the right salary.
???
R u talking about NSF or NSman?????
Sorry away from the country too long. I am taking abt NSF not Reservist.
NS - National Service, as the term implies. so pay also NS lor. you want market rate, go sign on lar.
NSF are mostly still immature punks, giving them too much money will just make them worse.....I saw plenty of my platoon mates taking vices even on an allowance of less than 300 per month.
Sign or not signing on...they are Singaporean in the army and should have the same pay. Maybe for those sign on they could have a sign on bonus.
Yep, the salary could split into a monthly pay and a deferred pay in lump sum payment during their ROD. They can use it for the university fee or elsewhere. My point if our boy must serve the nation than we should pay them appropriately. Isnt wat the government ask from us in everything that we are paying???
Uncle, when u serve yr NS ?
Ministers are voted, NSmen are enlisted, alot of differences ya.
early in the morning, somebody start to give old aunties story!
Originally posted by angel7030:Uncle, when u serve yr NS ?
Ministers are voted, NSmen are enlisted, alot of differences ya.
NS is conscription.
HOW CAN A SMELLY PERSON UNDERSTAND NS
government smart, can get cheap labour to serve and protect the nation.
ALSO, TO ATTRACT FOREIGN INVESTMENT
EG, SOMEONE GOT TO SAFEGUARD THE OIL FACILITIES IN SINGAPORE
I am not your uncle and I still have many yrs to finish my reservist provided I decided to take a job in Singapore
Originally posted by Rooney9:NS is conscription.
NS is not employed, so they are paid an allowance, not salary, given an allowance, what more can they complain about??? In fact, in NS, i heard you are given free meals, including Breakfast and supper, free lodging, free clothing including underwear etc etc...so, why they need to spent so much???
In fact, if you get an allowance of let say $1k per month, without spending, you get 24k after 2 years, that is alot of money for a handsome young man ya
Originally posted by Wmyongj:I am not your uncle and I still have many yrs to finish my reservist provided I decided to take a job in Singapore
anyone out of NS is consider uncle to me.
When NS was first introduced in 1968, the enlistees were paid only $90 per month.
At $180 per month - this PAP Government will have boasted that they are already very generous to have the NS pay being increased 100 percent !!!
aiyo uncle, in 1968 $90 is very high liao ok, u get the right info or not, my Dad said last time in 70s, he gets only $60, and now my new bf said he get $460...
early in the morning, somebody start to give old aunties story!
no one in this world can be cocky forever
Originally posted by angel7030:
NS is not employed, so they are paid an allowance, not salary, given an allowance, what more can they complain about??? In fact, in NS, i heard you are given free meals, including Breakfast and supper, free lodging, free clothing including underwear etc etc...so, why they need to spent so much???In fact, if you get an allowance of let say $1k per month, without spending, you get 24k after 2 years, that is alot of money for a handsome young man ya
NS both old & current one dun give free underwear! last time i checked....
In fact last time (many donkey yrs), when i was in NS my underwear wear until totally torn & must use string to tie if wanna wear it again!
That's how poor we are then. Salary shld be ard $155/mth. Still hv to illegally work PT to survive!
if NSFs are paid market rates, then budget deficits will be really high. And of course we will find GST raised again very soon.
so the solution is to scrap NS
Originally posted by Wmyongj:I dont follow the pay of the national service boy anymore. During my time, we were paid an 'allowance' of abt 180SGD per month to serve the nation. The average salary for a factory workers than was abt 700-1000SGD. Is the government still paying an 'alllowance' for compulsary national servce? if so why?
As you have put it, The amount paid to NSF is an allowance not a salary. National Service is compulsary and they are doing our nation a service. Hence they are given n allowance. Factory workers are paid Salary not Allowance.
It's an allowance, not a salary, so market rate doesn't apply.
Originally posted by palachan:
In fact last time (many donkey yrs), when i was in NS my underwear wear until totally torn & must use string to tie if wanna wear it again!
That's how poor we are then. Salary shld be ard $155/mth. Still hv to illegally work PT to survive!
$155 a month..worse than a maid ah
Originally posted by palachan:
How can, my former poly PE trainer, a female, is from SAF too, she told us NS also provide sanitary pad free to all female cadets. Hmmm...torn already can make it into G string ya. Dun waste army things ya, they are all taxpayer money, if you want to increase paid, not the govt suffer, the parents of those in NS will suffer from paying extra tax.