Served 2 years in the army. AWOL from reservists since day 1 for the last 10 years or so. Have been out of the country (SIngapore) and now planning to visit Malaysia, and some other Asian country with SIngapore passport. Will this person get get caught at the immigration customs in Malaysia? Or any Asian country (e.g. Japan, Thailand, Hong Kong)?
Those who are liable to serve national service but refuse are charged under the Enlistment Act. If convicted, they face three years' imprisonment and a fine of S$10,000.
Controversy arose when the penalties were increased in January 2006 after Melvyn Tan, who was born in Singapore, received a fine for defaulting on his National Service obligations. Tan left for London to study music during his enlistment age and later acquired British nationality. In parliament, Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean provided some illustration of the punishments defaulters would face:
Each year, a small number of people are convicted for their failure to enlist or refusal to be conscripted. Most of them were Jehovah's Witnesses, who are usually court-martialled and sentenced to three years' imprisonment, but they are usually held in a low-security detention facility and separated from other conscription offenders. The government does not consider conscientious objection to be a legal reason for refusal to serve NS.
Thanks for the reply Dave.....but how about some facts, some proof of such things.
Tired of reading post after brainwashed post from SG people that have a superiorirty complex for others that have free thoughts and live their lives. Not the lives decided upon them from a dictator state. Thanks for the info but back it up with data or stop trolling.
Links? Proof? or go back under your rock.
Just wonder, how come the passport never expired one?
Originally posted by tarutaru:Just wonder, how come the passport never expired one?
acid chiobu!!!
u can visit all countries but dont come back to singapore.all spore passports expires in 5 years.
arrested at singapore airport is quite an issue......upon presenting yer paspport at customs they would handcuff u immediately and 6 soldiers with rifles and batons would march u in unison to a cell nearby. u would be handcuffed so its hard to break out unless u elbow the guy whos about to handcuff u and make to the nearest plane...and fly yerself outa changi airport.
So he is traveling with an expired passport? I wonder what is the punishment for that.
this is a reply in sgforums in the year 2006:
If you are in SG and didn't show up for reservist, sure
DB.
But being overses with a valid visa is a good
first step for
leniency. You will not escape being charged,
just try to avoid
DB.
You have to first plead guilty, but must prepare
some kind of
document to prove you are employed during the
time that you were
called up. And then say that your family members
can't understand
English, didn't open your mail or something...
I don't know your situation, but does this help?
I was charged for AWOL and fined when I first
left the country to
work overseas 10 years ago.
When I reported back to MINDEF to face charges,
there was at first
an interview. The officer was firm but very
polite and I was given
a chance to explain the reasons:
...when I first left the country, my battalion
HQ clerk told me no
need to apply for Exit permit from MINDEF, just
write a letter to
the Bn S1 or something, which I was dumb enough
to believe
him.
I also handed over my documents proving my
employment status
overseas.
After that, they had a conference amongst
themselves.
Later, I was loudly marched in and formally
charged and fined
SGD400 after pleading guilty to AWOL and not
contesting the charge.
If you contest the charge and the punishment
(fine), you can go for
higher court martial. If you lose that one, MP
will "love you long
time" in DB.
I believe there are many reasons I was not
thrown into DB:
* Firstly, I made contact with my unit and
MINDEF while
still overseas to explain that I
screwed up by not
applying for Exit Permit etc.
* They gave me a date to report for charges and I
showed up on time
- very important.
* I had the necessary documents to prove my
story and they believed
it.
* My passport stamps proved I was away all the
while even before
they sent out the ICT call-up letter.
* Excellent service record throughout also
helped. If you had ever
been in trouble with army law, then bad news for
you.
Oh, when you report, dress smartly in No 4, kiwi
your boots and
remember to address NCO's by their rank and
officers as
"sir".
Good Luck
http://lahcc.sgforums.com/forums/1164/topics/224077?page=1
i think this is only when u step back into SG
the expired passport is another issue
Originally posted by RoyFang:So he is traveling with an expired passport? I wonder what is the punishment for that.
Assuming TS had a brand new passport when he ORD. But even that, he cannot travelled around for 10 years, that's the old passport. 9 1/2 years most of the countries will reject your entry liao.
Thank you Terminator3000 and Kopiosatu.
Passport was expired. Applied online and new passport was mailed to country of residence (outside of Singapore) last year.
Person is aware of the consequences and will not be stepping into Singapore.
So the new Sinagpore passport wil allow you to travel to neighboring countries with no problems?
Please advice.
You should not have any problems travelling to any other countries with this new passport. Your NS status means nothing outside of Singapore.
Originally posted by Dionylicious:Thank you Terminator3000 and Kopiosatu.
Passport was expired. Applied online and new passport was mailed to country of residence (outside of Singapore) last year.
Person is aware of the consequences and will not be stepping into Singapore.
So the new Sinagpore passport wil allow you to travel to neighboring countries with no problems?
Please advice.
strange...wouldn't ICA be notified of your AWOL status by MINDEF, and they still proceed to sent you your new passport?
Thanks Bcoy2.
Kengkia: Of course paying the S$75 helps. Yes, they did issued the new passport with 5 years validity. What is ICA?
Originally posted by Dionylicious:Thanks Bcoy2.
Kengkia: Of course paying the S$75 helps. Yes, they did issued the new passport with 5 years validity. What is ICA?
u frog in a well is it?
Originally posted by Dionylicious:Served 2 years in the army. AWOL from reservists since day 1 for the last 10 years or so. Have been out of the country (SIngapore) and now planning to visit Malaysia, and some other Asian country with SIngapore passport. Will this person get get caught at the immigration customs in Malaysia? Or any Asian country (e.g. Japan, Thailand, Hong Kong)?
It is a very strange post. you just need to give an overseas notification, that you have been to overseas,you will settle about the reservist part. they will not call you for reservist. My friend have been overseas and they have not called him back since.
In any case, you can just claim that you have already given the notification it is the SAF who failed to take noted of that. Beside you have no seen the SAF100 because you have not seen it. You will not charged for being misinformed.
Beside, when I am overseas, I would not expect SAF to provide me a two-way ticket to return Singapore.
You just have to give notification that you are overseas and the fact that they issue you a new passport means they have not issue a warrant of arrest for you yet
But well, since you live your life freely, why bother about asking all this. Just go to any country you like 'freely', the most you kena catch 'freely' and then just go to DB 'freely' lor
gasband,
how is threadstarter goin to come back with unusable expired passport to get arrested???its airport computers thats only linked up with all army cases in spore it so seems.i know that as i have read from internet and from reliable sources of singaporean reservists being arrested upon coming back to changi airport in the open at customs checkpoint for military related offences .