Originally posted by timkek:hi there eac (and friends)
following my previous queries, i have went to see a pyschiatry/sleep problem specialist and he wrote for a memo stating my sleepwalking problem and that i be excused from fieldcamp and stay-in. i am currently b2l2 for an unrelated injury. what would be the likely cause of action? will i get downpessed or just a excuse stayin and field camp?
would like a rough idea before i go to cmpb as im really caught up this few weeks, thanks.
Yes submit your memo to CMPB MO.
They will scheduled an appointment with CMPB psychiatrist before your enlistment.
You should get excuse stay in and outfield/field camp permanently.
Maybe downgrade to PES E and go top a stay out unit straight away.
What would be the purpose of the pyschiatrist examination?
Originally posted by timkek:What would be the purpose of the pyschiatrist examination?
Only psychiatrist can grade u mah.
Normal MO can only grade pysical problems.
Sleepwalking is considered mental disorder.
Originally posted by timkek:What would be the purpose of the pyschiatrist examination?
U in army or haven't enlist.
In army gt to go MMI to c psychiatrist, haven't enlist can return to CMPB.
Alright bro. I haven't enlisted yet, though i have gotten my enlistment date. Will head down to CMPB in the next few days.
Originally posted by timkek:Alright bro. I haven't enlisted yet, though i have gotten my enlistment date. Will head down to CMPB in the next few days.
Good.
Originally posted by timkek:Alright bro. I haven't enlisted yet, though i have gotten my enlistment date. Will head down to CMPB in the next few days.
I have severe insomia in camp due to anxiety.
I hardly have sleep in the camp.
I was stay-out personel too.
I was downpesed due to anxiety too.
Hi all,
I am a NS-Man and I was recently diagnosed with
May I ask, is it a Down-pesable condition?
Originally posted by Kakuna:Hi all,
Diverticulosis
Yes.
Please refer to www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/392446 for more information.
Originally posted by Kakuna:Hi all,
Diverticulosis
Bring your specialist memo to show the camp MO.
Camp MO will decide.
Hi, i need some help from the gurus here.
Im currently B2L2 perm for a shoulder impingment.
Recently, diagnosed with hallux valgus.
Will both of the condition lower my PES below B2L2?
Originally posted by unknowing:Hi, i need some help from the gurus here.
Im currently B2L2 perm for a shoulder impingment.
Recently, diagnosed with hallux valgus.
Will both of the condition lower my PES below B2L2?
Get your specialist memo and endorse it at medical centre.
The MO will refer to the secret PES bible to work out your PES status.
Hey guys,
My brother is currently in the last 3 weeks of BMT , going to POP on the 9 of APR. Recently , according to him , when there is an increased physical activities since all of his high key events are over (field camp , SIT Test etc) to train for the IPPT , he has been complaining that his knees and ankles have this unbearable pain espcially when he squats and kneels. I helped him search for previous checkups that he had, and i found that he had bilateral genu varus and was diagnosed with bilateral Osgood Schlatter's disease with fragmented tibular or something 2 years ago (which he did not declare). He also has weak ankles and constantly sprains them. He has booked an appointment with a private specialist on the 11 of Apr to check on his condition. What are the chances of him being able to down his PES and what PES will he be? He is now in PES A.
Originally posted by limahwoo:Hey guys,
My brother is currently in the last 3 weeks of BMT , going to POP on the 9 of APR. Recently , according to him , when there is an increased physical activities since all of his high key events are over (field camp , SIT Test etc) to train for the IPPT , he has been complaining that his knees and ankles have this unbearable pain espcially when he squats and kneels. I helped him search for previous checkups that he had, and i found that he had bilateral genu varus and was diagnosed with bilateral Osgood Schlatter's disease with fragmented tibular or something 2 years ago (which he did not declare). He also has weak ankles and constantly sprains them. He has booked an appointment with a private specialist on the 11 of Apr to check on his condition. What are the chances of him being able to down his PES and what PES will he be? He is now in PES A.
Get a specialist memo to prove.
Endorse at medical centre.
MO will knows what to do.
i have a winged scapula since young, which is giving me shoulder pain. the specialist wrote a memo to the mo, but simply wrote that "patient has shoulder pain due to winged scapula, pls give 3 months light duty" is that enough for a down pes? or do i have to get more supporting documents besides just a simple memo only
Hi, I just went to CMPB on friday for the medical checkup ... they put me PES D ... this coming friday extra checks ... Just to ask, thelessemia minor, exercise induced/ smoke induced asthma and sublexation of spine (spine not straight) and red-green colour blind will likely kena wad pes and posting ah?
And if i dun get silver/gold for NAFPA will kena extra time ah?
Oh and PS : Im like super underweight ... BMI of like ~16 does that affect?
Originally posted by cnblue111:i have a winged scapula since young, which is giving me shoulder pain. the specialist wrote a memo to the mo, but simply wrote that "patient has shoulder pain due to winged scapula, pls give 3 months light duty" is that enough for a down pes? or do i have to get more supporting documents besides just a simple memo only
usually is only attend B (light duty) as mentioned above lor...
not every little 'sesame green bean' thing can ask for downgrade one... sometimes light duty is deem fit enough for proper rest and recovery...
but since you want to ask for downgrade, no harm go for more medical appointments with the hospital specialist and ask for more stronger worded specialist memos lah...
Dear friends from the forum
I have just gotten the memo from my specialist for my condition. However i have only 2 weeks left before i POP. What will happen to me if i submit the memo and the medical board coincedentally meets up and my pes status is revised and downgraded within these two weeks? Will i have to recourse even though i passed every test for my enhanced BMT?
Hey guys, have a few questions regarding my situation right now - I was hoping you guys may be able to provide me with some clarification with regard to this matter because it's all been very confusing.
I am currently an NSF serviceman in an active unit. I was diagnosed with Exercise-Induced Asthma, confirmed by an EIA test which was done. It showed that my lung function decreased by almost 30% upon exertion. Ventolin inhaler ultimately was effective in controlling the onset of this asthma reaction.
I did not discover that I was asthmatic until recently, because prior to enlistment I was largely an inactive person who did not participate in much physical activity. However, while in the course of training in the army, I found myself feeling very breathless and faint upon exertion. I also verged on collapse several times because of what I presume were asthma attacks - yet I was never hospitalised for my condition. I was only given a Ventolin inhaler to mitigate the symptoms of my asthma.
I went recently to MMI for a medical board in presence to seek a downgrade for this problem. I was initially told by my camp MO that my condition is downgradable to PES C9L3. However, upon arriving at the medical board, I was told that because my asthma is responsive to Ventolin, it is not serious enough to warrant a downgrade. Despite this, I was asked to come back again in a month's time with more documentation so as to allow the medical board chairman to assess my condition again so he may downgrade me.
So my questions are these:
-I was told by my specialist that all forms of asthma are responsive to Ventolin as evidenced by clinical studies. In fact, the defining trait of asthma is its response to Ventolin as a bronchodilator. This separates a diagnosis from asthma from a diagnosis of say, lung disease caused by excessive smoking. So that being said, how is it that I am not being allowed to downgrade based on the fact that Ventolin works for me? It is completely contradictory.
-Also, if the medical board chairman has indeed decided that my condition does not warrant a downgrade, why is it that I have to return for another medical board for re-assessment?
Dear all
I would like to ask if it is possible for one to go to CMPB for a medical review during the one week block leave after POP.
Thank you
Originally posted by limahwoo:Dear all
I would like to ask if it is possible for one to go to CMPB for a medical review during the one week block leave after POP.
Thank you
Ok, your case is simple, you can submit your memo to the medical centre now and go on medical board but you maybe OOT, which you maybe required to recourse BMT. I think the best option for you is to go to new unit, then you report sick at the medical centre there, the MO there should be able to board you. But you did not state what's your problems are and so it's up to you, whether can you tahan the remaining training or not?
Originally posted by kalibre:Hey guys, have a few questions regarding my situation right now - I was hoping you guys may be able to provide me with some clarification with regard to this matter because it's all been very confusing.
I am currently an NSF serviceman in an active unit. I was diagnosed with Exercise-Induced Asthma, confirmed by an EIA test which was done. It showed that my lung function decreased by almost 30% upon exertion. Ventolin inhaler ultimately was effective in controlling the onset of this asthma reaction.
I did not discover that I was asthmatic until recently, because prior to enlistment I was largely an inactive person who did not participate in much physical activity. However, while in the course of training in the army, I found myself feeling very breathless and faint upon exertion. I also verged on collapse several times because of what I presume were asthma attacks - yet I was never hospitalised for my condition. I was only given a Ventolin inhaler to mitigate the symptoms of my asthma.
I went recently to MMI for a medical board in presence to seek a downgrade for this problem. I was initially told by my camp MO that my condition is downgradable to PES C9L3. However, upon arriving at the medical board, I was told that because my asthma is responsive to Ventolin, it is not serious enough to warrant a downgrade. Despite this, I was asked to come back again in a month's time with more documentation so as to allow the medical board chairman to assess my condition again so he may downgrade me.
So my questions are these:
-I was told by my specialist that all forms of asthma are responsive to Ventolin as evidenced by clinical studies. In fact, the defining trait of asthma is its response to Ventolin as a bronchodilator. This separates a diagnosis from asthma from a diagnosis of say, lung disease caused by excessive smoking. So that being said, how is it that I am not being allowed to downgrade based on the fact that Ventolin works for me? It is completely contradictory.
-Also, if the medical board chairman has indeed decided that my condition does not warrant a downgrade, why is it that I have to return for another medical board for re-assessment?
Most asthma cases are Pes B, but if your case is so serious next time you see your doctor, ask him to write a stronger letter, but of cos the final decision still depends on the chairman of the board, if they still cannot decide on your case, they can always referred you to a specialist board.
Originally posted by tarutaru:Most asthma cases are Pes B, but if your case is so serious next time you see your doctor, ask him to write a stronger letter, but of cos the final decision still depends on the chairman of the board, if they still cannot decide on your case, they can always referred you to a specialist board.
Hey, thanks for the quick reply.
I understand that standard, run-of-the-mill asthma that manifests itself during childhood is downgradable only to PES B - this is the condition that most have. The condition I have however, is Exercise-Induced Asthma, which my Camp MO had initially said I would be downgraded for, to PES C9L3. I still experience the symptoms of this respiratory condition, so in that regard it is probably more serious than childhood asthma which people usually get only PES B for.
I highly doubt a more strongly-worded letter is the answer to this, because I already possess the full test results which confirms a working diagnosis of this problem. The numbers and lab results are all there. I suppose, the most I can do is explain to the board chairman that my symptoms are worsening and that I have had several episodes of asthma attacks since enlistment.
Does anyone by any chance know how it is decided whether or not your asthma is severe enough to warrant a downgrade? Is there a particular figure that your lung function has to decrease by, or is it simply up to the discretion of the medical board chairman at the time of review? Apparently the guidelines only stipulate that the patient must be unresponsive towards the use of an inhaler. What then, constitutes "unresponsive"? Just as in any other form of medication, your milage may vary from time to time does it not? Taking panadol for a headache, for instance, may not be optimally effective everytime I decide to take it. And as far as I know, nobody at all is completely unresponsive to Ventolin.
Originally posted by kalibre:Hey, thanks for the quick reply.
I understand that standard, run-of-the-mill asthma that manifests itself during childhood is downgradable only to PES B - this is the condition that most have. The condition I have however, is Exercise-Induced Asthma, which my Camp MO had initially said I would be downgraded for, to PES C9L3. I still experience the symptoms of this respiratory condition, so in that regard it is probably more serious than childhood asthma which people usually get only PES B for.
I highly doubt a more strongly-worded letter is the answer to this, because I already possess the full test results which confirms a working diagnosis of this problem. The numbers and lab results are all there. I suppose, the most I can do is explain to the board chairman that my symptoms are worsening and that I have had several episodes of asthma attacks since enlistment.
Does anyone by any chance know how it is decided whether or not your asthma is severe enough to warrant a downgrade? Is there a particular figure that your lung function has to decrease by, or is it simply up to the discretion of the medical board chairman at the time of review? Apparently the guidelines only stipulate that the patient must be unresponsive towards the use of an inhaler. What then, constitutes "unresponsive"? Just as in any other form of medication, your milage may vary from time to time does it not? Taking panadol for a headache, for instance, may not be optimally effective everytime I decide to take it. And as far as I know, nobody at all is completely unresponsive to Ventolin.
If it's severe enough yes. But your case is with Ventolin, your asthma is still controllable. So whenever you do some exercise, take ventolin 1st just to be cautious.
Originally posted by kalibre:Hey, thanks for the quick reply.
I too have exercise induced asthma. During the pre-enlistment check, ias was made to run the track-mill. Ventolin does not stablize my asthma. It's the same during my school days when i do the 2.4 run. So i was down to C9L2. That was more than 10yrs ago. I dun know if they changed any criteria for accessment of this type of asthma.