1 year? It took me 10 months on course just to get from recruit to specialist. 3 mth bmt, 3 mth sispec, the remainder in school of something something.
If 1 year, all your sergeants will just finish course and enter unit to join the mono intake, all those men under mono intake would have more experience training in unit than their sergeants.
Do you reckon it sounds logical?
1 year ? you wait longer....
ok, but I don't want to serve 1 year ns, and 15 years of reservist.
first year tough, but the 2nd year is where all the key exercises are held..you have to seperate training and ops..
its unfair for those who serve 2.5 years and 2 years of NS right. in fact cutting from 2.5 years to 2 years is considered good already. dun push your luck too far.
I propose a controversial plan for BMT in order to cut down NS time.those waiting for O levels results right, get them to go thru the 3 months BMT and then when BMT finishes, O level results are out, then they go to study either A's, poly or ITE. can at least cut down by 3 months. when they go enlist, no need to go thru BMT, just go straight to their unit.
Originally posted by Rooney9:its unfair for those who serve 2.5 years and 2 years of NS right. in fact cutting from 2.5 years to 2 years is considered good already. dun push your luck too far.
Comapre to Taiwan and south korea. It's quite long.
ESPECIALLY Taiwan has China and south korea has North korea as enemies.
Their NS still shorter.
Originally posted by Rooney9:its unfair for those who serve 2.5 years and 2 years of NS right. in fact cutting from 2.5 years to 2 years is considered good already. dun push your luck too far.
The ns i served 2 years is unfair to my father.
Hanor, if they cut another 1 year, I am going to demand annual income tax NSman relief be raised to $30000!
yeah right...the training schedules are already quite packed.. have you been to command schools?
NS should be cut to 1 and half years.
Whole island flooded with aliens, schools, uni all flooded with aliens, workplace all flooded with aliens, serve so long but PAP all take it all for granted.
The only place in Singapore that is not flooded with aliens is SAF camp.
Still got 10 years RT and reservist.
The Govt will want to fully Utilizes the CHEAP Labour provided by the NS men... furthermore.. the male birth rates are dropping (like the stock market, fall faster than raising), ... hence, you will be lucky if min 2 years of service stays....
NS is tough. I am a clerk I have mental stress from chief clerk everyday.
Originally posted by Vote PAP OUT to Save SG:NS should be cut to 1 and half years.
Whole island flooded with aliens, schools, uni all flooded with aliens, workplace all flooded with aliens, serve so long but PAP all take it all for granted.
Still got 10 years RT and reservist.
those converted to PR need to serve also, even if they are in their 30s. if they are unfit, can assigned them to be clerks, storeman, RP, drivers etc.
national service isnt worth it!
after u finish it ....u get all those unkind foreigners rude india and china dudes and dudettes at work with a demanding look like u owed them $$$$.
then u get the resr4vist duties and the athelete remedial trainings that goes on for the entire year until u reach 40 years old
basically after werking with CPF and housing cost in question theres still great doubts about place needed to build up things u want.
although the above highlights the majority of problems,we still have to contend with neighbours hammering above your flat at 2am which seem to be continuously for 24hrs for many years..with police not having any clear way of evicting these sort of nuisance characters.
in conclusion, there are more factors involved and i doubt all the problems would be fixed in 20 years which i then would be too old and too weak to think about it.
Yeah, 15 years of 1 week annual ICT. Wait long long. Provided your reservist unit is super duper low key types.
Then I must be really suay that my unit is super operational, of 10 ICTs, 8 are high key (2 weeks or more).
And not all units operate the same one. I don't think commando units need to t/o and h/o OVM + A vehicles like armour does. Some logistics take already a day or so to settle. When the weekend is over, have not even draw arms.
Maybe by next decade, the females need to do a part for the nation too... Males birth rates are decreasing.....
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Maybe by next decade, the females need to do a part for the nation too... Males birth rates are decreasing.....
their national service is to produce more babies.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:The Govt will want to fully Utilizes the CHEAP Labour provided by the NS men... furthermore.. the male birth rates are dropping (like the stock market, fall faster than raising), ... hence, you will be lucky if min 2 years of service stays....
you male or female? you served NS before?
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Maybe by next decade, the females need to do a part for the nation too... Males birth rates are decreasing.....
Isreal females serve NS, Singapore next?
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Males birth rates are decreasing.....
That has much to do with policies of PAP.
Originally posted by stellazio:their national service is to produce more babies.
U dun treat women as child bearing tool. My female frenz dowan children de. She said even when she marry also dowan. She scared of babies crying. The voice of crying babies.