Nobody said clerk is without stress.
But think about combat stress with the same clueless Officers and WOs overworking you like you are cattle and then at the same time treat you like some lesser human being, you try to imagine what that does for your state of mind. I've seen perfectly able minded people breaking down in that kind of environment.
Go figure.
There's nothing shameful about PES F.
But I think its screwed-up if you're an able-bodied PES A wanting to throw yourself into the sea under such conditions. Its the military we're talking about here.
Originally posted by hiphop2009:it is nt v correct to say clerk in SAF do not have stress and they just shred paper.
Most of the combat fit soldiers will think this way but it is not true.
Clerk is just like working in office, and they do have to deal with politics and some have to deal with heavy workloads
clerk also gt stress. I can understand this.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Nobody said clerk is without stress.
But think about combat stress with the same clueless Officers and WOs overworking you like you are cattle and then at the same time treat you like some lesser human being, you try to imagine what that does for your state of mind. I've seen perfectly able minded people breaking down in that kind of environment.
Go figure.
There's nothing shameful about PES F.
But I think its screwed-up if you're an able-bodied PES A wanting to throw yourself into the sea under such conditions. Its the military we're talking about here.
It depend what you are Pes F for. If so seriously then that cannot help, but if trying to keng until F, then u are not a man..even clerical job also cannot handle.
Originally posted by talktome:I don't know where you got your info about PES E NSFs shredding paper in the army. we do real work and that means actual hands on clerical work. Most of the times it's even more than what you see the camp DXOs and chief clerks doing. so 'mental' problems don't just trigger while we're 'snoozing' at camp. When you have clueless Officers and WOs overworking you like you are cattle and then at the same time treat you like some lesser human being, you try to imagine what that does for your state of mind. I've seen perfectly able minded people breaking down in that kind of environment.
I'm sure employer would ask in which case just be honest. which someoen earlier pointed out is the best thing to do rather than hide it. at the end of the day it comes down to what your value is in the real world.
i think too manny people have been brainwashed into thinking taht if you are highly regarded in NS you will be equally 'big-shot' in the real world. I know more officers who are working in handphone shops and hawker centres than fellow PES E enlistees most of whom are doing well. I know one who is a lawyer now.
With so many FTs around you think superior NS status has any value in your job prospects? imagine ur an employer who has to lose your employee for several weeks in a year for reservist etc. you know how detrimental that is to productivity? What are your thoughts on this?I think realistically it's time to reduce NS to just 1 year or 6mths. 2 years is not helping our men stay competitive. for us guys who enter university it's even worse cos we go in feeling like sotong having forgotten everything we learnt. then by the time we graduate and start working and stabilise our career we are nearing 30. how to even think of marriage?
well, I suppose if your "perfectly able minded people" were to be placed in a combat unit, they would probably blow their brains out at the next live fire exercise already. Remember kid, while you're sitting behind your desk in an airconditioned office, being stressed out by "clueless clerks and warrants" others are out there sweating in the sun and mud and rain, sleeping on the ground, feeding mozzies, running around shouting bang bang bang for days on end, all the while under a cloud of shouted instructions and hokkien expletives. You think you're stressed ?
And of course, you are absolutely correct, being a big fark in NS doesn't mean you'll be a big fark in the real world, it is certainly true that plenty of NS small farks made it bigger than the NS big farks of their time too.
However, you've totally missed the point. What, do you think, are the real ingredients that enables people to make it big outside, in the real world ? Do YOU think you have it ? You, who've cracked under the strain of an NS office environment ? Do you think you've got what it takes to survive out there in the real world jungle out there ? Office politics out there are played for real stakes you know, your job, promotion, salary, bonus, career, etc. And you're right, how can you even think of marriage ? A relationship can be a very stressful thing too you know, would you crack under the strain ? And I've always imagined that women would want, if not a physically tough man, then definitely, at least a mentally tough one, cos which woman would want a feeble minded partner that needs taking care of, instead of taking care of them in turn ?
So really, if that's your real condition, my sincere condolences to you, I think you're pretty screwed.
However, just in case you were chao kenging, let's look at things from another perspective shall we ? You are PES E9L9 now, which means you're already excempted from IPPT and reservist duties, the two biggest bane of NSmen. So what, really, do you want to downgrade to PES F for ? Just for the sake of a few months off your remaining time left in NS ?knowing how slowly the wheels of the SAF turns, it would probably be around your actual ORD date before you'd get your PES F anyways. So it would be a waste of time anyways. But meanwhile, you'd get no certificate of service, and you'd have to deal with uncomfortable questions from employers in the future. Of course, that means no civil service jobs for you as well. Do you have this feeling of being taken for a ride ?
so think about that kid. who's really having the last laugh here ? ...
good luck on getting your pes F.
you have so many assumptions there, i don't think there's any point in explaining them all.
no one said combat soldiers are having it easy. you said PES E clerks spend time shredding paper and snoozing which is of cos a very badly ill-informed statement. so i pointed out you were wrong.
As for your queries on not being able to survie outside. in case you haven't realised the real world is NOTHING like NS. for your info i have and am doing very very fine right now on the outside. i've already done pretty well in some govt linked jobs and already have job offers from several places. if you even THINK that NS is anything like the real world or is easier than the real world then you my friend have been very badly brainwashed by the system.
i think what this really is, is envy. that you've given your time and effort in NS and someone else is getting off. which in your eyes seems unfair and easy. we all take different paths in life my friend. i've taken mine and i'm doing just fine.
Fatum brought up how 'easy' PES E clerks had life so i pointed it out. everyone has it tough in NS. just don't point fingers and say someone else you know nothing abt is having it easy.
Originally posted by talktome:you have so many assumptions there, i don't think there's any point in explaining them all.
no one said combat soldiers are having it easy. you said PES E clerks spend time shredding paper and snoozing which is of cos a very badly ill-informed statement. so i pointed out you were wrong.
As for your queries on not being able to survie outside. in case you haven't realised the real world is NOTHING like NS. for your info i have and am doing very very fine right now on the outside. i've already done pretty well in some govt linked jobs and already have job offers from several places. if you even THINK that NS is anything like the real world or is easier than the real world then you my friend have been very badly brainwashed by the system.
i think what this really is, is envy. that you've given your time and effort in NS and someone else is getting off. which in your eyes seems unfair and easy. we all take different paths in life my friend. i've taken mine and i'm doing just fine.
but I think I can certainly assume that my points have hit home, haven't they ? Especially about you wanting to get married, perhaps it's best that you remove yourself from the gene pool. I mean, c'mon dude, for sure, you'd not hesitate to proclaim that you have "mental problems" to the SAF to keng from your service, but YOU know, that this would not be something you'd proclaim to the outside world, no ? If a girl you've just met knows you're a bit of a mental whacko, do you imagine that she'd want to take things further with you ? And of course, YOU know, that this would be something that may just bite back at you in the civvy street, don't you ? Isn't that why you've started this thread in the first place ? To seek affirmation for yourself, to want other guys to tell you that hey ! maybe "my future employers won't find out I was discharged from NS with mental problems", no ?
of course, NS is nothing like the real world outside, just as an internship with some goverment linked concern, is nothing like a real job my boy. And since it's the goverment sector you seem interested in, here's a further point for you. the pay scales are different for those who have completed NS and those who haven't.
envy ? lol, no dude, I feel sorry for you. You're the one with "mental problems" after all. But have you given some thoughts to my second point ? You have already served two years before you disrupted your service. Under the new service scheme, you'd have ORD'ed already. But no ! You'll be getting discharged from NS after serving same length of time as the newer batches of kids, but you won't be getting a certificate of service for your time, you won't be marked as having completed your NS, and you'd be marked as someone with "mental problems" in your records ....all that despite having served the same two years as the other kids .... it's your own life boy, but like I said, who's really being taken for a ride here ?
So, are my words aggravating your mental condition ? Are your bananas going off ?
Clerk can have huge mental stress. I known a clerk who broke down.
I'm very happily attached :) . she's starting work as a stewardess next week, and its my third gf since JC.
i have a couple of job offers already :). and they know of my condition.
thanks for your concern :)
I am not sure if I am right, TS correct me if I am wrong.
TS is having social stress disorder. That is in layman terms prefer to be alone, does not like to interact or socialize with other people. Some people is in fear of being alone, so they like to stay with friends, they express themselves, and feel comfortable with others, like herd animals, such as school of fishes, horses. On the other extreme, some people like to be alone, dont like to interact with people, cannot work in team, like praying mantis.
So the combat stress/working stress as a clerk or soldier has nothing to do with the problem that TS is having or facing.
Social stress disorder can be corrected slowly is not a terminal illness. It is just that some people like to be loner, hermit living in a mountain.
Most saints, seers, great wise man, high level master usually have this problem. They like to live in the high mountain.
@Lokey
u are absolutely correct. phew. so relieved someone here actually understands this. thanks.
Social anxiety disorder not social stress disorder.
I lastime social phobic too.
Threadstarter u have social pobia or social anxiety disorder?
U have social phobia or social anxiety disorder?Yah lor no social stress disorder dun have this medical term. It's social anxiety disorder.
Originally posted by talktome:Fatum brought up how 'easy' PES E clerks had life so i pointed it out. everyone has it tough in NS. just don't point fingers and say someone else you know nothing abt is having it easy.
Its "easy".
I still stand by my point that whatever you went through, us combatants went through plus the added baggages.
That said, I need to say once again, you can't deny what fatum says is rather true. But there isn't anything to be ashamed of either.
And KNN, you clerks ate 2 days of my leave. Thats pua cb inexcusable. Did stress do this to you guys?
After reading all these. I presume TS is not chao keng or something. If really is chao keng, then sorry i look down on you. Anyway between pes A and E/F, who is really more stressful, we all can see that. But if really is a illness, then no point to keep insulting just because of that.
Originally posted by talktome:@Lokey
u are absolutely correct. phew. so relieved someone here actually understands this. tthanks.
Then I assume that the MO just downgrade you to discharge you from NS as he see that there is no point for you to fulfill your remaining months. They just want "get rid of you" by giving you Pes F so that you can continue your life. It is more of an administration issue then.
I understand this, because I am more or less there. I dont play soccers/basketball with other kids since pri school. The whole class is playing, except me, simply because I don't like staying in groups.
Originally posted by Lokey:I am not sure if I am right, TS correct me if I am wrong.
TS is having social stress disorder. That is in layman terms prefer to be alone, does not like to interact or socialize with other people. Some people is in fear of being alone, so they like to stay with friends, they express themselves, and feel comfortable with others, like herd animals, such as school of fishes, horses. On the other extreme, some people like to be alone, dont like to interact with people, cannot work in team, like praying mantis.
So the combat stress/working stress as a clerk or soldier has nothing to do with the problem that TS is having or facing.
Social stress disorder can be corrected slowly is not a terminal illness. It is just that some people like to be loner, hermit living in a mountain.
Most saints, seers, great wise man, high level master usually have this problem. They like to live in the high mountain.
well .... if you think about it, his "social stress disorder" didn't prevent him from "completing internships" and "getting a girlfriend", did it ? .... so what does it imply ? *snorts
I rather suspect schizophrenia is part of the problem too .....
Originally posted by TTFU:After reading all these. I presume TS is not chao keng or something. If really is chao keng, then sorry i look down on you. Anyway between pes A and E/F, who is really more stressful, we all can see that. But if really is a illness, then no point to keep insulting just because of that.
U think SAF MO so dumb cant tell who keng who din? They got degree one leh. If mental illness so easily faked then want MO for?
Originally posted by Fatum:well .... if you think about it, his "social stress disorder" didn't prevent him from "completing internships" and "getting a girlfriend", did it ? .... so what does it imply ? *snorts
I rather suspect schizophrenia is part of the problem too .....
erm social phobia not equal cant have gf.
Originally posted by Lokey:Then I assume that the MO just downgrade you to discharge you from NS as he see that there is no point for you to fulfill your remaining months. They just want "get rid of you" by giving you Pes F so that you can continue your life. It is more of an administration issue then.
I understand this, because I am more or less there. I dont play soccers/basketball with other kids since pri school. The whole class is playing, except me, simply because I don't like staying in groups.
i have this problem when i am in pri and sec school poly also gt.
Now recovered 95 percent le.
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:
erm social phobia not equal cant have gf.
You missed the point.
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:
U think SAF MO so dumb cant tell who keng who din? They got degree one leh. If mental illness so easily faked then want MO for?
I am surprised that you dont know... in fact there are many cases...
its social stress disorder which leads to anxiety. this one is inevitable. if you have it you'll know what im talking about.
this kind of thing is not easy to keng btw. you have to see pscyhs after psychs. and no one can spot kengers better than psychs. SAF psychs are no slouch.
Originally posted by talktome:its social stress disorder which leads to anxiety. this one is inevitable. if you have it you'll know what im talking about.
this kind of thing is not easy to keng btw. you have to see pscyhs after psychs. and no one can spot kengers better than psychs. SAF psychs are no slouch.
if so all murderers keng mental illness to avoid jail term/ life sentence.
Mental illness is reflected by ur body language. MO see ur body language 80 percent words and speech 20 percent.. How u keng mental illness easily?
Originally posted by talktome:its social stress disorder which leads to anxiety. this one is inevitable. if you have it you'll know what im talking about.
really gt this medical term?
Mental illness is hard to fake. SAF PSYCHIATRIST is not dumbies.