how can messboy be considered a duty,to be put in the same line as arms guard and cmsf?they stay in the aircon decor n not even have weekend duty.they gota be insane calling that duty
wrt http://sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/253313?page=4 even if thats the naval dive unit n theyve to undergo a prisoner's torture course,thats quite overboard,not to mention if its sth totally uncalled for.if it isnt under training necessities the sadist trainer should be caned 10 times n jailed 10 years.i cant believe all those trainees accepted that kind of torture instead of disobeying.when someone,ur boss,tells u to jump off a building,do u obey that too?i just cant believe any of it.is it made up?
Because when you a lose a can of beer can kena DB. Happen in my unit before.
Spill the beer when pouring into chill mugs, also can kena DB.
Ocifer dirty the place, you clean.
Ocifer stay until 3-4am because he off tomolo, u also LPPL have to stay until he leaves even though, tomolo u have to work also.
Tibits and beer sell finish liao, Ocifer demand, LPPL, u have to run to HQ buy tibits and beer using your own pocket money, come back, KNNCCB, the ocifer go home liao.
Ocifer vomit, you clean.
Encik drunk, swear at you, say tomlo u are going to be charge for no apprant reason. Then u cannot sleep, worry like hell, then tomolo come, the encik act like nothing happen. U also LPPL.
Some cock ocifer hold wat stupid new year party or other crap party, they NATO, all use eye-power, u lan lan suck thumb do all the work so that they can enjoy, lagi best, they f**k the whole place, u clean.
Encik no money pay for beer, say put on credit, u lan lan have to pay for him, then tomolo go and ask him to pay u back, he can tell u that he didn't drink beer. U LPPL.
U clean the whole place until super gilat, RSM still can find fault with you and give you extra 10 more mess boy duty.
Reservist ocifer the worst during out-pro, knn dunno how many mess boy kena cheated money, clean up vomit, etc.
U whole day sit the mess like a gong kia, sometimes cannot go for lunch/dinner or toilet because no one want to help to take over because of the above reasons.
Mess boy where go very relac.
well...my unit's messboys apparantly got none of that.they seem to have had quite an easy time.the officers wont do that to them.those u describe sound more like gangsters
Originally posted by octega:Because when you a lose a can of beer can kena DB. Happen in my unit before.
Ocifer stay until 3-4am because he off tomolo, u also LPPL have to stay until he leaves even though, tomolo u have to work also.
Tibits and beer sell finish liao, Ocifer demand, LPPL, u have to run to HQ buy tibits and beer using your own pocket money, come back, KNNCCB, the ocifer go home liao.
Ocifer vomit, you clean.
Encik drunk, swear at you, say tomlo u are going to be charge for no apprant reason. Then u cannot sleep, worry like hell, then tomolo come, the encik act like nothing happen. U also LPPL.
Some cock ocifer hold wat stupid new year party or other crap party, they NATO, all use eye-power, u lan lan suck thumb do all the work so that they can enjoy, lagi best, they f**k the whole place, u clean.
Encik no money pay for beer, say put on credit, u lan lan have to pay for him, then tomolo go and ask him to pay u back, he can tell u that he didn't drink beer. U LPPL.
U clean the whole place until super gilat, RSM still can find fault with you and give you extra 10 more mess boy duty.
Reservist ocifer the worst during out-pro, knn dunno how many mess boy kena cheated money, clean up vomit, etc.
U whole day sit the mess like a gong kia, sometimes cannot go for lunch/dinner or toilet because no one want to help to take over because of the above reasons.
KNN, æ— å½± bo?!!
Don't know mess-boy so cham.... always tout they are the most song ones....
I do believe octega is talking about the "older days" of NS?
Back then these kinda things did happened, altho most ppl dont know or dont talk abt it.
Well, each duty also sucks lah, haha, when u could be outside...
Yeah those seems extreme but, believable lah, last time they alw do this to men.
Sorry to say this cliche but nowadays army is unarguably more "welfare", more reasonable- with rules, guidelines, checks, and more and more of the "old guard" retiring...
Originally posted by AdamLyon:I do believe octega is talking about the "older days" of NS?
Back then these kinda things did happened, altho most ppl dont know or dont talk abt it.
Well, each duty also sucks lah, haha, when u could be outside...
Yeah those seems extreme but, believable lah, last time they alw do this to men.
Sorry to say this cliche but nowadays army is unarguably more "welfare", more reasonable- with rules, guidelines, checks, and more and more of the "old guard" retiring...
Hey, my NS days from 1995----1997, but never heard or know mess-boy so jia latb de wor.....
SAF so dirty....
Originally posted by Fabrizzo:well...my unit's messboys apparantly got none of that.they seem to have had quite an easy time.the officers wont do that to them.those u describe sound more like gangsters
probably bcos the base rules of the mess are powerful enough and that there is a strong committee to oversee all aspects of mess operation and events. which means whatever rules set, they got power. anw, spill beer also db? that's lame. beer stock discrepancy, of cos will be logical to press charges.
seriously, got any mess in the SAF is like 'bo cheng hu' like what octega claim?
@.. err.. Night Kids :p
Hehe then ur abt same age as me! Yeah, maybe we personally nvr witness to THAT extent, but surely uve heard frm your encik, or some lao jiao somewhere, the real crap that was the norm in those days... Combat or non-combat, also got their selfish n unreasonable superiors, tho i tend to think in combat units abit more.. sadist
But i have seen officers and specialists, err.. 'doing as they please', esp when "low-key periods" and nobody important around. Better not say any more heh.
The most common saying is also the wisest- Finish yr time and get out, unless u also into "S"or"M" ahahaha :)
If u guess it, the mess is in reservist handling unit where the standing active unit men count is less than the enciks (trainers, about 3 ocifers/enciks to 1 men (3SG and below). Most of the trainers are from the early hokkien peng sign-on.
Plus because the unit was not occupied by reservist not all the time, most of the senior officers/enciks from the nearby unit like to visit the mess rather than their own so the men got more sh*t compared to other mess.
And yes, I have to admit, that was 10 years ago, dunno the condition now. Ok, other than the spill beer that was told by a senior, the rest I standby what I wrote. During that time, the chill mugs hold exactly one SAF approved tiger beer filled to the rim, although spill beer should be common, but most enciks just take advantage of this "charge you if you spill beer" story, threatening the messboy to pay for the beer if it got spill.
I would just like to say, any good system is only as good as the people running it. You can have wonderful rules and regulations with tons of punishment,etc. But if the ppl running it always boh chup close-one eye, u still got the same sh*tty situation.
Originally posted by Fabrizzo:how can messboy be considered a duty,to be put in the same line as arms guard and cmsf?they stay in the aircon decor n not even have weekend duty.they gota be insane calling that duty
wrt http://sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/253313?page=4 even if thats the naval dive unit n theyve to undergo a prisoner's torture course,thats quite overboard,not to mention if its sth totally uncalled for.if it isnt under training necessities the sadist trainer should be caned 10 times n jailed 10 years.i cant believe all those trainees accepted that kind of torture instead of disobeying.when someone,ur boss,tells u to jump off a building,do u obey that too?i just cant believe any of it.is it made up?
Yah! it should be considered as work shift as more appropriate terms for the mess boy.
For the NDU part the answer is that the diver cannot make mistake. It is not that there is a choice of the trainer or the trainee. Because it will really cause you your life if you fail to do so. The vocation risk is high. And believe that they are one who cannot make mistake, not even once.
I dont think the diver undergo POW training. Only scout does. They undergo the so "team-building" week which is called "hell week". Which is actually nothing much in reality? Most people have diarrhea and have not eaten and dehydrated for days, dengue fever in a near death experience, insomnia have not slept for weeks, run a 42km marathon, or triathlon. So it is the mind that you cannot coped, but the body physically can coped.
Originally posted by octega:Because when you a lose a can of beer can kena DB. Happen in my unit before.
Ocifer vomit, you clean.
sureeeeeee or not ? .......
all the mess boys I know were fat and oily from waking up late and drinking too much free beer and munchies leh ...... they were also pool and dart experts by the time they ORD .....
where and when were you mess boy ? .....
Originally posted by Fatum:sureeeeeee or not ? .......
all the mess boys I know were fat and oily from waking up late and drinking too much free beer and munchies leh ...... they were also pool and dart experts by the time they ORD .....
Ya loh ya loh..... that's wat i see and know.....
I tot Messboy is good job. It's one of the best job in NS.
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:I tot Messboy is good job. It's one of the best job in NS.
It is. but it is boring.
Originally posted by Fatum:sureeeeeee or not ? .......
Haha, I dunno for the other camps and for those doing mess boy now, maybe it is more relac. For around a year, before moving to COS after I got promoted. The camp was in S. Gedong, old camp 1 (i think now no more), the camp was also famous for rat problem and mess contains the glass case containing the sand brought back from Isarel by the first batch of trainees. We also help the HQ cateen operator (Ah Goh) to sell food.