Erm.. I'm just curious about the sword bearers in a wedding ceremony which i've witnessed from my cousin's wedding, 2 days ago.
there are 8 sword bearers from the armed forces, all are officers... so is my cousin's husband who is also an officer in the SAF, graduated from OCS and received a sword... The wedding looks very nice.
1. I'm just wondering if there are sword bearers in the Singapore Police Force?
2. Are the police in SPF eligible to have a sword with them when they are the groom?
3. In what circumstances will they be able to have a sword?
Thanks for clearing my doubts...
lol... 2x ppl read.. non replied... just hope that some one will drop by and help out...
thanks.
I wasn't kidding.
- Fudgie
zichuan, you have 5 minutes to remove that post, or I'll do it for you.
To prove that I'm not kidding, your five minutes started four minutes ago.
-deleted due to trolling-
Originally posted by zichuan:ur mother die. officer mother die.
A normal human lives until the age of 85 for female and 82 for male. When its time to go, it time to go...
-deleted due to trolling-
isn't this off-topic? i just need some info and here you are spamming? ...
Originally posted by AmandaMS:isn't this off-topic? i just need some info and here you are spamming? ...
That zichuan fella is just spamming.
Trolling, actually.
Ignore the guy. I'll handle all trolls who walk in here.
answering all 3 qns in 1,
basically such stuff [or equivalent] is only available for Senior Officers [police officers with commission]
Originally posted by collinnxk88:answering all 3 qns in 1,
basically such stuff [or equivalent] is only available for Senior Officers [police officers with commission]
I see.. how do they get commissioned? Does commission = Officer (Inspector and above)?
All commissioned officers of Armed Forces, Police Force and Civil Defence Force (havent seen swords from other Uniformed Services yet) will recieved a ceremonial Sword. That is to say ranks of Lieutenant (for SAF and SCDF) and Inspector (for SPF) and above.
There marked differences in the swords. Instead of the gold/black handle that SAF swords have, SCDF and SPF swords have a silver/black handle. Another area is the sword tassel, yellow/orange (SAF), blue/white (SPF) and red/orange (SCDF, i think).
Another area is the sword guard for SAF (have no memories of the SCDF/SPF swords), where officer's sword bears the nation arms, while the Warrant Officer (WO) sword bears the warrant officer insignia while Military Experts (ME) swords bears a national arms on a pip.
Having said that, WOs (and Station Inspectors for SPF) do carry ceremonial swords during parades. But there doesn't seem to any stated protocol for them to draw their swords (There bears a exception, but we arent going into that.)
That is your answer to the first question. Your next 2 questions, a military style wedding means that you are own your own, to find your officer kaki (usually, the NSFs are arrowed) to do this job. Which means the drawing of Number 1 and its accessories is subjected to availiability and approval. Not every senior officer in the force wants a military style wedding, it looks cool, but it is a hell of a job. Anyway, yes Police officers can opt for a military style wedding too.
ANd your 3rd question has been more than satisfactorily answered, i suppose.
hmm.. oh.. so means senior military experts oso gt receive ceremonial sword after their training? cool sia...
gd4u,
Thank you for your detailed description which were really helpful. Cleared all of my doubts :)
Rgds,
Amanda
SPF also got
SPF officer will have sword as well.
Originally posted by Blitzzace2:hmm.. oh.. so means senior military experts oso gt receive ceremonial sword after their training? cool sia...
I am not sure about that yet, but according to their advertisments, I guess so.
Ceremonial swords only bear the State Arms. Warrant Officers are not entitled to any, with the only exception being the Parade Sergeant Major for big events like the NDP. Even then, they have to draw out the sword for the event and the sword is returned afterwards. (An advertisement is just that, I dun believe the corvettes can transform into a giant robot that shoots missiles from its arm.) ;)
As for Military weddings, all Regular Commissioned Officers are entitled to hold one. For NSFs, I suppose they have to write in to MINDEF to seek permission. I suppose this should apply for the SPF although I can only assume for their case.
Basically a military wedding is reserved only for commissioned officers of the three services (SAF, SPF, SCDF).
There're protocols and procedures to follow, like an official ceremony/parade. So its pretty rigid in the way it can be held.
Obviously, all sword bearers must also be commissioned officers. So you gotta find enough officer friends/NS buddies to help. They got to draw ceremonial uniforms, with the right badges/rank/size, all by themselves and arrange for the return of it.
That's the troublesome part and explains why most people don't do it.