old soldiers are no more of use to army other than cannon fodder.
cannon fodder....hmmmm..chopped liver....dead mouse..rubbish...dead cat..old reservist.....broken old computer with a: drive......broken mattress ...etc
Originally posted by Terminator Hitman:old soldiers are no more of use to army other than cannon fodder.
cannon fodder....hmmmm..chopped liver....dead mouse..rubbish...dead cat..old reservist.....broken old computer with a: drive......broken mattress ...etc
I look at it as more political than monetary..becos 60-80% of these people will vote PAP whereas most of these youngster will most likely to vote opposition. So it's a kinda of pre-election tactics.
They have the population distribution at hand.
Youngsters have not much of debt and carrying more anger when they are disadvantaged by the flocks of foreigners.
For old soldiers, they are too timid to vote out as they know that they will faced lots of obstacles when they need to make any application.
Those that are not happy with the existing system would have migrated.
The one remaining will not be able to create any issues as they are more concerned about paying their debts.
The 2010 national day rally song is as follows:
http://www.mrbrownshow.com/2010/09/03/the-mrbrown-show-oh-army-music-video/
Life comes in a cycle.
When u reject and kick away the old, the cycle will come back double hard on you when you turn old.
Dun forget it is because you have a "old" man, then you are in control.
Without that "old" man, you are just a ordinary joe fighting for place in a crowded MRT day in day out. (It is disgusting how you can mocked people by asking them to take the next train if 1st and 2nd train are overcrowded. What if all of them are overcrowded ?)
You will find out very soon how powderful you are.
It's backfiring liao, if anything since the announcement of the 9K and all the conditions, if anything it seemed to have raised the disgruntlement on the ground.
If this is the way the "non-retroactive" policies they come up with can treat our old soldiers, imagine what happens when you become the old soldier next time? And how much does it help the new soldier anyway? Most of the money can't really be used with all the terms and conditions.
Seriously, want to buy votes, at least don't be cheap about it lah. Now it's becoming a truckload of fail.
Or worse an insult, some of us take it almost as if "Ohhh you not happy with FT ah? Ok here's 9k... oh wait it's not for you hahahahaha..."
Good job man, seriously good job. I know who I'm voting for liao.
People can see the great difference between the incentive provided by Mr Peanut's team and Mr Dunno-who's team.
One team knows the issues and the ground sentiment and tackled it with appropriate solution.
The other team only care about themselves, ignored ground sentiments and expected all issues will be settled by throwing some cash incentives around and asking the ground to live with their incompetence and ignorance.
The other team reeked of pure arrogance and stubbornness when faced with critical and strong feedback.
The recent unresolution of the floodgate and YOGate are the proof.
Today we got called up for mob, during the free time, we chatted about this incentive thing. So apparently, my batch if they stuck faithfully with their ICTs right after ORD, they would get only the 2nd milestone, but for some of us, whom deferred a year or 3 in between, will meet both 2nd and 3rd milestones.
To technically speaking, some batches of NSmen will get more money because their deferred from their annual ICT. So it doesn't pay to faithfully attend ICT when you're supposed to in some cases.
Please learn your lesson so that you dun have to re-learn the lesson every time an incentive is given.
The incentive will come out of you as there will be more fee hike next year after the erection in the name of improved economy.
So, you will be paying 5 dollar and getting 5 cent back.
This is just a distraction for the press to write and the internet to roar about.
It is still your hard earned money.
I think the scheme is generally good for singaporeans. those who missed the payments are being disadvantaged definitely, but it shows that govt do try to reward soldiers.
I only get 3000. $9000 is super alot to me, even if it is in CPF. It is still real money. It is damn alot. But it is fair in general to soldiers because it a professional job to defend the country and do all those training. but also, in another perspective, it is still not say alot of money for doing a professional job of soldierings, for those combat side.
Younger generations are getting more and more of perks as times passes.
The scheme has a back lash... the backlash is because the money they give to young generation is too large. If they give $1000 dollars to them.
I am sure those older generations will not complain so much.
This must have been the lack of hindsight from those managers..... too stupid i think, shows you that the new chief of Arm forces is cork up. If I am chief, I surely will only give them $1000.
But to add good words to govt, its hard to give older generations because every old man, will say he got serve army and give army before, so how are you going to verify by digging up old data files....??? which are probably thrown away.
That is why the general policy of army is forward looking. They ex-soldiers just had to live with it. But for this one, they really cork up by giving too much $9000, that is why there is so much debate from the ex-soldiers and public.
ex soliders who have guy children should be less complaining because their children will benefit in the future also. It is those ex-soliders who have only girls children, or who are singles that will complain the most.
my conclusion, " The intention is good, but the effect is not"
It really unfair to those born and serve in the eariler generation.Don't forget our fathers uncles etc serve NS in a much more tedious NS than us.