Do you think its easier?
Virtually all the obstacles seem to be easier. Especially the Corridor, the Dodging Panels and the Rubble. Seems to be less emphasis on upper body strength with the removal of the dip bars and the monkey swing stations.
That's why the new passing timing is lower.
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/this_urban_jungle/450308/new_army_obstacle_course_is_super_siong.html
Dodging panels no cake sia.. ns guys nowadays so good..
it seems so much eaiser than wad we had in our time..like all of it are focused on lower body strength..yet pple still kpkb over it...
The new SOC course look much relax now...btw still need to run down?
Originally posted by PicsCollector:The new SOC course look much relax now...btw still need to run down?
Yes..but shorter.
apparently carry own section weapon riao... today's paper pic
Haha, all the unfit regulars will welcome this, since its a group test, easier for them to squeeze through the system. Anyone who been to unit and seen the regulars try and clear the old SOC will know what i am taking about.
Its not lower body strength either, its more of dodging and changing direction...
Originally posted by sbst275:apparently carry own section weapon riao... today's paper pic
Wah, like that the 84 RR, and the GPMG section all suffer liao lor. LAW1 and LAW2, also salute with the matador.
thread title is misleading
cos it only affects those newly trained from Sept 10. lao jiaos never trained on tis will not be affected
Originally posted by ditzy:Wah, like that the 84 RR, and the GPMG section all suffer liao lor. LAW1 and LAW2, also salute with the matador.
i thought 84mm has been phased out already. i was told by my reservist unit mate who is an 84 gunner in active times?
The new obstacle is more injury prone.
You have more personnel knocking their helmets over the obstacles.
Not forgetting people getting stuck in crawling the channel.
The window obstacle was also injure people.
You have to put the focus on there are more unfit and wider recruits now.
This obstacle will be a nightmare for the medic and PTI.
Originally posted by sbst275:thread title is misleading
cos it only affects those newly trained from Sept 10. lao jiaos never trained on tis will not be affected
lau jiaos ORD already, still want to play SOC? Even in unit, clear SOC 1 or 2 times, no need to do anymore already, unless you seow on. Now only 2 years, unit hard to find time for people to clear even.
Originally posted by kengkia:i thought 84mm has been phased out already. i was told by my reservist unit mate who is an 84 gunner in active times?
I dunno leh, my unit all the 84 still active leh, atec still got test leh. The only thing that got phased out are the tanks.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:The new obstacle is more injury prone.
You have more personnel knocking their helmets over the obstacles.
Not forgetting people getting stuck in crawling the channel.
The window obstacle was also injure people.
You have to put the focus on there are more unfit and wider recruits now.
This obstacle will be a nightmare for the medic and PTI.
Sooner or later they have to clear the windows, I'm pretty sure BUA area windows are higher.
The low ramp nowadays is a joke, instead of a leap into the sandpit, its a 2 step jump now. I think got budget cut on con wire.
The new obstacle course seems to be designed by a bunch of scholars who have not done the SOC but just want to change the course to achieve their KPI.
The timing set seems to be impossible and even the obstacle itself is ridiculous.
It is just like the SAR which is still not being fully implemented.
Not surprising, thats what the scholars are paid for mah. Like the ERP for example, you think MBT so genius meh? He's just the approving party lar.
e ppl who does policy and planning many a times dun even know wat's going on e ground.
Hmmm should not be too fast to judge, the change in the SOC is also reflective of the added emphasis on needing to accurately model the obstacles an SAF soldier needs to face in battle, especially given the additional weight given towards urban warfare now.
Personally I won't judge it till I've run it. Had fond memories of the old SOC thou...