hi i am abit confused abt the different intakes, what does it mean? mono intake means stay there forever? difference between tekong and mono its just tat tekong got change go ocs? when are the intakes? will medical checkup dates affect the intakes?
i am abit interested in cdo as i tink tat pilot/wso(ftr) is 10% chance of getting in.
pilot/wso(ftr) = tekong? go in mono = gg no pilot/wso(ftr) ?
if for cdo, which intake is better? mono = all the way man?
i am diploma holder graduate next yr, spec better or officer better? pay wise.
officer really alot more xiong? how xiong?
thanksssssssssss.
i will make my choice after bmt, or maybe after getting a feel of army life.
but lets say i get posted to armour, i wan sign cdo, can one right? or kena armour but i wan pilot/wso(ftr), or other airforce officer vocations?
thanks alot
Originally posted by The King Of Kings:hi i am abit confused abt the different intakes, what does it mean? mono intake means stay there forever? difference between tekong and mono its just tat tekong got change go ocs? when are the intakes? will medical checkup dates affect the intakes?
i am abit interested in cdo as i tink tat pilot/wso(ftr) is 10% chance of getting in.
pilot/wso(ftr) = tekong? go in mono = gg no pilot/wso(ftr) ?if for cdo, which intake is better? mono = all the way man?
officer really alot more xiong? how xiong?thanksssssssssss.
but lets say i get posted to armour, i wan sign cdo, can one right? or kena armour but i wan pilot/wso(ftr), or other airforce officer vocations?thanks alot
Mono-intake you'll be taken in by Unit and stay there forever. Most of the time, mono intake are men so they won't get to go OCS. If u sign on...then you'll go to your vocation you sign on.
Originally posted by The King Of Kings:hi i am abit confused abt the different intakes, what does it mean? mono intake means stay there forever? difference between tekong and mono its just tat tekong got change go ocs? when are the intakes? will medical checkup dates affect the intakes?
pilot/wso(ftr) = tekong? go in mono = gg no pilot/wso(ftr) ?if for cdo, which intake is better? mono = all the way man?
but lets say i get posted to armour, i wan sign cdo, can one right? or kena armour but i wan pilot/wso(ftr), or other airforce officer vocations?thanks alot
Mono intake means you are with the unit for the rest of your NS.
A better way to put it is that the chance of getting to OCS from mono-intake (Except Commando and such) is lower than striking the toto.
And yes, medical checkups do technically affect which intake you enter. You can't expect to enter an intake which is just a few weeks after your medical checkups.
As for pay, clearly officers have better pay than specs.
as in if a diploma signing for specs and officer, which is better?
seen from replies in this forum saying specs is better for diploma holder as starting pay is higher. Officer are more for degree. but in the long run, officer's pay will be higher, yet for a diploma, is it possible to hit that rank for that 'higher' pay?
diploma holder, is cdo spec gd enuf, pay wise. or officer better? as in if choose officer, i trade in extra xiongness, fitness, time ... etc
thanks for the replies btw!
Why are you so positive that you can get into cdo? Or ocs and spec. You do know that we do not have a choice right?
i dun really know why ppl keep writing no choice, cant choose, wait bmt, blahblahblah. i understand all these.
im just trying to find out more. and if i wan to sign on, i do have a choice, its just a matter of if i can get in anot, which is another case. but signing on most prob ok de, except cdo officer, which i feel that its almost like being a pilot.
its like you take olvls, you anyhow choose a polytechnic or jc? no right? if you finding out abt the courses in the sch, and replies you get is like "come on lah, you really tink you can get in? you put first choice, the sch dun choose you, you also like tat" ...
or uni, ppl keep saying get a degree get a degree, but ppl know they cant get, thats why they dun bother, and then other ppl try to say 'you nv try you nv know' =.= so weird.
if ppl nv try uni, others say those things, if ppl try uni, others reply can get in then say.
im not saying you are one of them, just trying to let you know my point. and prevent others from replying anymore, i just wan to know my choices.
The point is you may not like the life. So it is better you "experience" it before you sign or think about it. Let me give you some scenarios.
-Suppose you are in a prone down position in the jungle at 3 am, and a 5 cm spider is crawling on your hand. Do you like it? Can you remain calm?
-Spend 2 hours digging a trench, which at the end the commander decide to change location, how do you feel?
-You look at the destination and it is obvious that you know that it will take 15 mins to walk to the location. But your boss say he wans to camo and decide to cut through the jungle. At the end, the whole team is lost. And finally get back to the main road and took 2 hours instead.
-This is the most common. The whole company is asked to fall in at 5 am to be on standby. But the commanders are still eating breakfast at 7 am in the canteen. The reason is: Actually, the commanders plan to start at 8 am, so he ask PC to get the men ready by 7 am. PC tell the sgt to be ready by 6 am. And the sgt in fear of errors, get the men to be ready by 5 am.
-And there is more.. let the other guys fill it up for you.
-there are many other things such as poor leadership, lack of satisfaction, administration cock up, and blah blah, that make your career "challenging" and "exciting".
if you're a dip holder it's less likely that you will get into a mono intake enlistment. Mono intake enlistment basically are guys who go in directly into the unit itself and do BMT there, which is tougher than usual. Some of the camps that I know of that will have mono intakes are the infantry and armour camps, (but I maybe wrong).
Whether or not you will stay there depends on your performance on fitness and you as a person; the interaction with people. If your superiors find you lousy; can't pass IPPT, lousy attitude, etc, then there might be a chance you will get posted out cause most probably they wouldn't want you with them, or they will internally post you to support coy. If you very good, and they like you; your fitness is great, IPPT gold, etc. You're more or less going to stay in that camp for two years, unless the OC recommends you to become a specialist/officer which you will be posted to Pasir Laba camp for training.
As for whether Spec or Officer is better depends on yourself. For me I see specialists as being caught in the middle. A spec is treated a "dog" by an officer but can treat recruits like "dog" as well. But of course it depends on situations. There can be situations where your officer and you as spec have no difference at all due to good relations, or your men climbing over your head and asking you to do things instead of the other way round. So really, there's no real definition of which one is better and which one is not, unless for pay wise an officer receives allowance up to 1k plus.
Originally posted by loki_chaos:if you're a dip holder it's less likely that you will get into a mono intake enlistment. Mono intake enlistment basically are guys who go in directly into the unit itself and do BMT there, which is tougher than usual. Some of the camps that I know of that will have mono intakes are the infantry and armour camps, (but I maybe wrong).
Whether or not you will stay there depends on your performance on fitness and you as a person; the interaction with people. If your superiors find you lousy; can't pass IPPT, lousy attitude, etc, then there might be a chance you will get posted out cause most probably they wouldn't want you with them, or they will internally post you to support coy. If you very good, and they like you; your fitness is great, IPPT gold, etc. You're more or less going to stay in that camp for two years, unless the OC recommends you to become a specialist/officer which you will be posted to Pasir Laba camp for training.
As for whether Spec or Officer is better depends on yourself. For me I see specialists as being caught in the middle. A spec is treated a "dog" by an officer but can treat recruits like "dog" as well. But of course it depends on situations. There can be situations where your officer and you as spec have no difference at all due to good relations, or your men climbing over your head and asking you to do things instead of the other way round. So really, there's no real definition of which one is better and which one is not, unless for pay wise an officer receives allowance up to 1k plus.
from your reply, you mono-unit?
but you storeman or clerk?
Originally posted by trolol:from your reply, you mono-unit?
but you storeman or clerk?
yup. I'm from mono intake. im lucky to be posted out from my BMT unit to another unit to another vocation.
mono-intake = 少壮�努力,�大徒伤悲
Originally posted by trolol:mono-intake = 少壮�努力,�大徒伤悲
You make it sounds so bad.
mono-intake focus more of physical endurance, being tough and unbeatable by fatigue etc.
leadership at Tekong, focus on military studies, the science of how a grenade work, deployment, logistics, how a gun work, trajectory motion, topography etc (hidden prerequisite geography, history, physics, mathematics, and chemistry). If you cant do well in your O level, well... you be a man loh. And of course, you need leaderships, fitness etc.
IF you failed your geography and dont know how to read map, you dont even think about becoming an officer. Dont lead your men to nowhere.
Originally posted by loki_chaos:if you're a dip holder it's less likely that you will get into a mono intake enlistment. Mono intake enlistment basically are guys who go in directly into the unit itself and do BMT there, which is tougher than usual. Some of the camps that I know of that will have mono intakes are the infantry and armour camps, (but I maybe wrong).
thank you very much for you reply. btw i am asking becos i intend to sign on. so pay wise is looking for regulars, not nsf. if i intend to just serve ns, i tink i wont bother which vocation or wad or wad lol. i tink i will just serve and, like everyone says, f off lol
Advert
guards also got mono intake :)
Don't worry so much.
If u are planning to sign on as combatant. If you go armour or arti or combat engineer I think the toughness is just like BMT.
If you are planning to sign on infantry, guards, commandos(Only if u Pes A i heard), then the trainings will be more siong than BMT itself, maybe you can compare it to SCS aka SISPECs daily standards.
I only know that if u are in guards or commandos or in OCS, the punishment are oftenly inhuman(in my eyes la, cus I pes C), they got rifle and field pack overhead punishment T.T
Armour and arti ok. Their vocation training are more of how to drive and form formations and move in battle. Very interesting one.
So see how lo. Anyway, if you got vocation trained in army, aka you got posted to guards for eg. You cant sign other vocations le. So think twice.
My preferance: Occifer, Men, Specialist. Reason? Spec is caught inbetween and to me a half F occifer.
Well for CDO, each men has a speciality, namely, leader, medic, signaller, small boat, demo and the rest weapon man. So for the leaders job, all will attend SCS first, the top 25% will make a cross over to OCS. Do note that CDO do thing differently, that includes their SCS and OCS. They are usually in 1 special wing that no others join them. Same goes for the medics and signaller at the respective institutes.
Well, like my other thread that I started, army teaches you that life is never fair. So even if you try hard to move into a certain direction, like to be a pilot, learn all about aerospace etc, you might be given a 180 turn.
But I can say MINDEF did not open all the various jobs and vocations to you, tell you what are they about etc. As compared to after O Levels, you have this this JC to choose from. Sci or Arts class etc. This this poly to choose, 100+ courses to choose. You must score A2 in _____ to enter etc.
you mean if i bmt finish, kena posted to say, armour. but i dun wan, i wan commando, i cant sign on and choose to go to the vocation? means after bmt must straight away make a decision ahhh?
and i heard commando regulars must go sof selection course or something, aka hell week. need use shit as camo!?
Originally posted by The King Of Kings:you mean if i bmt finish, kena posted to say, armour. but i dun wan, i wan commando, i cant sign on and choose to go to the vocation? means after bmt must straight away make a decision ahhh?
and i heard commando regulars must go sof selection course or something, aka hell week. need use shit as camo!?
yes, since my friend read the contract before and said that it is stated in black and white that "whilst there are vocations that you can sign on to choose from, yet depending on vacancies and critierias such as your performance and appraisal, you may however be assigned to a vocation not of your choice."
anyway, can see that u want to sign on just for the sole purpose of money...
do u know that there are people despite high well paid jobs, they just quit due to high stress, OT too much, work-life balance imbalanced and lost interest to job satisfaction...