Hi,
Recently my son did his BMT training at Tekong. There was this over enthusiastic NSF Sgt who goes around punishing recruits for the slightest mistakes they made and even coughing during fall in will get you 40 push-ups as punishment.
He usually rotates his victims and catch them for slightest mistakes made and minimum punishment from him is 40 to 100 push ups. Once my son was caught for a mistake and told to do 100 push-ups. Despite trying his best to complete the 100 push-ups, he was accused for not trying and given another punishment which is lifting the rifle over his head. Already so tired from doing the push-ups, he now lifted his rifle overhead and despite that was accused again for not trying his best because he bended his arm and the Sgt punished the entire platoon with more push-ups.
Don't they have check and balance system to make sure that all trainings are contained within certain set perimeters instead of whims and fancy of individual Sgts.
SAF is a forever junk organisation. 10 years ago is like this, 10 years later is still like this.
If he is coughing, he is sick. So he should report sick.
Anyway 100 push-ups is not alot to me.
This BMT Sgt probably last time kena tekan before, so now becum Instructor his turn to tekan back recruits...
It's a vicious cycle, this world...
Your son should pretent to faint. Than at the medical centre tell the MO he fainted because of excessive punishment from the SGT.
The MO will shoot arrow to the CO, CO to OC than OC will punish the Sgt until he cry
Ai ya dont too worry lah.....that nothing.
he only train your boy to be a man......
u want your boy forever be a boy? or u want to turn him into a man?
dun chao keng, there will be even more excessive punishment if got caught
like that also want to complain. How come the SGT aim your son? no reason to purposely aim arrow unless your son like to chao keng or got qian bian face, if that's the case better go plastic surgery.
I heard my friend ptp batch can use laptop, play paintball gun. simi lanjiao now so slack still want complain tough.
The SGT train your son to be a man so you need to thank him instead, if cannot tahan ask your son to sex change also can.
Originally posted by Gohmatthew:Hi,
Recently my son did his BMT training at Tekong. There was this over enthusiastic NSF Sgt who goes around punishing recruits for the slightest mistakes they made and even coughing during fall in will get you 40 push-ups as punishment.
He usually rotates his victims and catch them for slightest mistakes made and minimum punishment from him is 40 to 100 push ups. Once my son was caught for a mistake and told to do 100 push-ups. Despite trying his best to complete the 100 push-ups, he was accused for not trying and given another punishment which is lifting the rifle over his head. Already so tired from doing the push-ups, he now lifted his rifle overhead and despite that was accused again for not trying his best because he bended his arm and the Sgt punished the entire platoon with more push-ups.
Don't they have check and balance system to make sure that all trainings are contained within certain set perimeters instead of whims and fancy of individual Sgts.
This is like, I dunno what to say though, Training kids to adulthood shouldn't be in this manner, I feel for your son.
Originally posted by Gohmatthew:Once my son was caught for a mistake and told to do 100 push-ups. .
How come standards drop now in BMT? Only 100 push ups?
It's like year by year the training standards keep on dropping. Should complain to MP.
wtf?
this type of "tekan" is what my whole bloody company went through as normal training...
it's no wonder the youth in Singapore are now mostly spineless
Hiyah, BMT tekan is chicken feet lah, wait till he get posted to armour. A new meaning of stand by cupboard.
Originally posted by the Bear:wtf?
this type of "tekan" is what my whole bloody company went through as normal training...
it's no wonder the youth in Singapore are now mostly spineless
I feel so disgraced when I read the so called "tekken".
If my former BMT platoon sergeant or PC reads above post, they will vomit blood at the rubbish level of training.
Last time got no such thing called "complain to MP". Parents usually couldn't do shit about what their sons went thru in NS. Most of the time its just LL suck thumb.
Now I really hope your son get posted to armour, learn the true meaning of tekan. Hohoho, standby bed and cupboard, but not in bunk.
technically nth is wrong when instructors are doing their job to educate and train. although the really slightest things like coughing isnt a big hoo-ha in the 1st place. even going by stricter [but with reason] standards, any slight movement is a knock it down 20 for the fellow... those who are not so anal maybe would ask him to take 5, 10 only.
however there are 2 fishy things spotted.
1. pumping in tekong is limited to 20 at a go. officially there is a limit to physical punishment... even if need 40 60 100 [during my time 2 years ago, was meant for serious mischief kind of acts], the fellow will do 20 pumping, then 20 starjumps, 20 situps and so on. meaning to say no 1 person should be doing more than 20 counts of the same thing at a go. only exception would be stand by area/bed.
2. that instructor as mentioned by TS seems to be finding diff ppl to whack... signs of over-sadism. we may or may not buy TS's claims, but giving the benefit of the doubt, the sgt in question is abit too much. as an instructor, he should be reasonable but not show favour or biasness towards/against anyone.
Well, for one thing, all this info from the father is gathered from his son. Who knows whether his son has put in an exaggeration factor into the things he tells his folks. When you want pity, you will put in more sob into your stories. Fact.
That's the way SAF function... tekan recruits...
thats not how u build soldiers really.....tekan is meant only to produce slaves n future prisoners of war.
best son pretend to faint......just take a short nap..everyone would kill the sgt after that .
i remebered those days a sgt one of them used to yell n scream like owe them $$$$...dunno why .but most were alright...only 1 or 2 were nut case.
that's how PAP train their citizen what..... accept all the bullshit without any complain... no meh?
i came into the army...all good at shooting and the best in jungle warfare without training.even the chief trainer there thought i was some suspicious intelligence officer embedded in the midst of recruits.even the way i placed my boots was too military for them.
most of the stuff from making a good sandbag,shooting etc seemed natural and i was neber thought about it even.nor was i ever interested in any of thise stuff
but what annoyed me was the tekan treatment from one or so sgt from some other platoon.perhaps the sgts arent good at leadership as they used to be.
didnt even know what came after corporal or what came before or after a lta or captain even....
*sniffs ......
any of you guys caught that male bovine smell as well ? .....
perhaps sgt is really insane...maybe watched too much band of brothers tekan movies.normally if a guy in the SAF screws up...the whole platoon does not get group punishment in tekong.
so thing is where did the sgt gets his army indoctrination from????the SAF or from steven spielberg movies??
.............normally the platoon commander should be watching n seeing if its harsh or not ....as those are his men and the sgt will only tire the commanders men and ends up performance will suffer n commander will look bad in the end.
if sgt is nasty the platoon commander will normally knock sense into the sgt if anything goes wrong.that plattooon after all belongs to the platoon commander n not to the sgt....the sgt is just a caretaker....
it is important to distinguish between approved training and tekan (which is illegal if the motive is personal or bias based). How to prove it?
The only way is first to make a redress through proper chain of command...modern day army is unlike past times where redress makes it worst....monitor on any mental disturbances/ physical bruises of your son...You could also redress to the MP who will send a petition to SAF for a thorough investigation along with other recruits and witnesses....If your complaints keep piling, i think the SAF commander would change his methods of training....
however such a redress system is in place, parents are also to note that some amount of pressure is common and necessary to be combat fit in times of war...a stronger and tougher man to adapt to harsh conditions of life
Originally posted by Gohmatthew:Hi,
AH GUA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YOUR SON IS AH GUA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YOUR SON IS A BLOODY CHAO AH GUA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!