Your son may hate the guy now.
At the end of the BMT, he will be grateful to him as this guy pushed him to be more strong.
Nowaday, the son is soft and even the father is also soft.
100 pushups is tekan? Wtf?
I'm not much older than your son but even my toes are laughing. Who are you going to try to protect him from next the moment he farts something? His boss? The police?
Did some1 change the TS's title? Ts never mentioned about complaining to MP?
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Your son may hate the guy now.
At the end of the BMT, he will be grateful to him as this guy pushed him to be more strong.
Nowaday, the son is soft and even the father is also soft.
Really!? I met my ex-BMT sgt who ORD in my uni years. He met a RTA and broke his legs. I greeted him sarcastically, and congratz him for being not dead.
Originally posted by Gohmatthew:Hi,
Recently my son did his BMT training at Tekong. There was this over enthusiastic NSF Sgt who goes around punishing recruits for the slightest mistakes they made and even coughing during fall in will get you 40 push-ups as punishment.
He usually rotates his victims and catch them for slightest mistakes made and minimum punishment from him is 40 to 100 push ups. Once my son was caught for a mistake and told to do 100 push-ups. Despite trying his best to complete the 100 push-ups, he was accused for not trying and given another punishment which is lifting the rifle over his head. Already so tired from doing the push-ups, he now lifted his rifle overhead and despite that was accused again for not trying his best because he bended his arm and the Sgt punished the entire platoon with more push-ups.
Don't they have check and balance system to make sure that all trainings are contained within certain set perimeters instead of whims and fancy of individual Sgts.
Matthew,
It is all part of the training. There is reason why instructors go around punishing, it is part of the training to get them into shape and part of the getting them use to stress and push their limit.
What system you want - you want sgt to say - recurit today we need to do 400 push-up in total - let us plan nicely, divide them in to 8 set of 50 push up, so you don't stress or tired out.
This will not train them for war time.
They may look to you like enthusiastic NSF Sgt who goes around punishing recruits, but they are training them combat stress. Human are like that - you ask them nicely to push themselves - they will not. Only with the excuse of punish and force it , then they will push. Human nature.
Originally posted by Lokey:Really!? I met my ex-BMT sgt who ORD in my uni years. He met a RTA and broke his legs. I greeted him sarcastically, and congratz him for being not dead.
Whats RTA?
You should have given him a push and let him break the other leg too
Originally posted by single_alone:
Whats RTA?You should have given him a push and let him break the other leg too
Road Traffic Accident.
Good idea.
We don't even have checks and balance for PAPist ministers.
should be road traffic accident..
guys, no doubt the instructor is doing his job by enforcing the right ways [unless it is shown that he has alot of bias by 'picking' targets], but dont u all think he has crossed the guidelines? storywolf is theoretically right, although we have to realise where the limits are and know how to 'agar'. the example he mentioned is only suitable for training/pt planning.
Hi. There's a directive regarding informal punishment, Sgts are allowed a max of 20 push ups, Platoon Sgt 30 and PC 40. If i remember correctly, anything excessive can result in the commander getting into serious trouble.
Originally posted by JimmyZ:Hi. There's a directive regarding informal punishment, Sgts are allowed a max of 20 push ups, Platoon Sgt 30 and PC 40. If i remember correctly, anything excessive can result in the commander getting into serious trouble.
in the army nobody really cares about directive
During war, do you think soldiers with the big red cross on their helmets don't get shot because of some directive from the geneva war convention?
Originally posted by charlize:During war, do you think soldiers with the big red cross on their helmets don't get shot because of some directive from the geneva war convention?
Do you think Singapore Soliders will be able to fight in a war?
during war
singapore soldier to enemy : "eh wah lau eh stop eh. water break time!!"
I remembered my BMT: to do 100 pushups was really nothing, in fact I did 300 a-day, on the average. Oh, I was in a "tough cookie" BMT, but I dun complain. Your son is already lucky that he only gotten 100 pushups a day..... If he can't take it, go get a specialist to downgrade him lor....
If u really want to complain, go directly to the Orientation Officer. But I warn u, dun be surprise that he will say the same thing I say to you here.
Originally posted by JimmyZ:Hi. There's a directive regarding informal punishment, Sgts are allowed a max of 20 push ups, Platoon Sgt 30 and PC 40. If i remember correctly, anything excessive can result in the commander getting into serious trouble.
I think its 20 to 40 pushups "per" punishment. If got 10 punishments a day how? U do the maths....
Originally posted by Lokey:Did some1 change the TS's title? Ts never mentioned about complaining to MP?
you first time here meh? fudgesteresterter have itchy balls, likes to edit titles.
Originally posted by sinicker:during war
singapore soldier to enemy : "eh wah lau eh stop eh. water break time!!"
good one.
Originally posted by trolol:you first time here meh? fudgesteresterter have itchy balls, likes to edit titles.
He has come out before to say that it isn't him. Besides his English and his comprehension skills are way better than that.
Sorry, I had to laugh when I read this so I popped in to add my 2 cents.
I recently went back for my reservist and had a chance to see the new batch of recruits in Tekong. Wah! Their attitude and behavior ... let's just say my peers and sgts/officers would roll over in their graves (if they were dead) at the sight of how soft so many of them are.
I even took a walk around with a few officers during their training and they were explaining why they were doing certain things. Like several others here said, their intention is to push the boundaries of soldiers' limits. Make them more fit. Better able to perform under pressure. Build up that all for 1, and 1 for all spirit that makes you willing to support your buddy through thick and thin.
BUT, I saw that this was lacking in so many recruits. Even the officers admitted that there's only so much they can do. Their only hope is that these recruits would join a good vocation after BMT and continue to build this up over there.
So, I would advise you not to take things too seriously. Sgts and officers not there to kill your son. Let him endure, overcome adversity, earn his stripes and become a man.
Soldiers shouldn't ask questions. If you're given an order, no matter how stupid it sounds, just shut up and do it.
Parents these days should realise that their kids are tough enough to carry parangs when they go on dates. So, what is 100 push ups? Parents should just relax and stop worrying about trivial issues like whether their sons have a church to attend while on overseas detachment... true story and I still could not believe my ears to this day.