goretex or leather? and btw whats the difference aside from material?
Originally posted by saintnsinner94:goretex or leather? and btw whats the difference aside from material?
The design is the same. But the goretex cost more. But I think the goretex is more comfy whereas the leather more durable.
goretex is more comfortable.. difference is the price lor. goretex more expensive.
hmm both are waterproof ah?
Originally posted by saintnsinner94:hmm both are waterproof ah?
aiyar when u go into the jungle and step into a deep puddle of water, nothing is really waterproof anymore.. LOL
LOL! but i heard goretex quite hard to polish right? or is it leather? goretex i think use liquid kiwi wont die off so fast?
Originally posted by saintnsinner94:LOL! but i heard goretex quite hard to polish right? or is it leather? goretex i think use liquid kiwi wont die off so fast?
usually ppl wear the goretex one for chiongsua cos more comfy, and the leather one for parades.
but now dont seem to find leather ones alre luh. friend gimme one pair in the end i donno put whr sia.
same same lah....goretex also like that anyway, if u used credit, would care how much more the goretex cost? it's unless u don't have enough credit.
Originally posted by saintnsinner94:but now dont seem to find leather ones alre luh. friend gimme one pair in the end i donno put whr sia.
e-mart got sell ah.. wait, are u even enlisted into the army yet? sounds like you haven't.
Originally posted by weymas:
e-mart got sell ah.. wait, are u even enlisted into the army yet? sounds like you haven't.
Sound like it...also i think he's comparing to the older version of leather boots than the goretex look alike.
havent go inside yet. but next month only. abit sianzz feeling like the "back to school" feeling. so must ask ask and know abit la. haha
Originally posted by saintnsinner94:havent go inside yet. but next month only. abit sianzz feeling like the "back to school" feeling. so must ask ask and know abit la. haha
lol in tekong you'll have to wear the standard issue leather boots.. im not sure if they've relaxed that rule though to allow goretex boots.
actually leather boots can be comfy too once seasoned and i actually resisted changing to goretex. when i finally transited i actually felt more uncomfortable initially. but to me it seems that the soles of the goretex boots wear out more easily. my leather boots lasted me from through all the BMT route marches till BSLC pop route march (30km?) and still in good shape while my goretex only gone through 24km and 32km plus normal daily walking.
Originally posted by Simply.90:actually leather boots can be comfy too once seasoned and i actually resisted changing to goretex. when i finally transited i actually felt more uncomfortable initially. but to me it seems that the soles of the goretex boots wear out more easily. my leather boots lasted me from through all the BMT route marches till BSLC pop route march (30km?) and still in good shape while my goretex only gone through 24km and 32km plus normal daily walking.
true true.. i also wore my leather boots all the way till ORD.. used to it already, and its so seasoned that it feels quite comfy.
Originally posted by weymas:
true true.. i also wore my leather boots all the way till ORD.. used to it already, and its so seasoned that it feels quite comfy.
and the best part of it is that it shines easily after a little touch-up overtime while goretex still looks dull.. less prone to cuts and scratches too
sounds cool. then i guess i'll stick to the leather boots that bites. oh! any tips for a gng in nsf? the more i think of it the more i get sian of it la.
Originally posted by saintnsinner94:sounds cool. then i guess i'll stick to the leather boots that bites. oh! any tips for a gng in nsf? the more i think of it the more i get sian of it la.
haha nothing much one la. whatever u're told to do, just suck thumb and do. in the army, as long as u keep a low profile and do as u're told, ur 2 years will pass easily and smoothly.
eh just try to accept things as they come lor. try to know your buddy and section mates well so that you will feel better / be more motivated when you train as a group. this way chances are things are done better and you just do "one times good one" rather than doing things over and over again and not to mention getting effed by sergeants. haha just my 2 cents worth..
LL ah! wah. seriously must learn to control my temper lo! dont feel like chao keng yet pes a =.=
Originally posted by saintnsinner94:LL ah! wah. seriously must learn to control my temper lo! dont feel like chao keng yet pes a =.=
NS ok one lah...nowadays everything seem so softer, even vulgarities seem no so much liao. U never chao keng of cos pes A lah, anyway take everything with a positive attitude, you'll find NS more enjoyable. But if u wanna go to command sch, u need to have a higher profile and of cos luck.
As for your boots, just wear the one issue lah. No need to get extra.
yepp! and i just intend to get into sispec or ocs la. command school? haha i must be out of my mind. im not that duper fit can.
Originally posted by saintnsinner94:yepp! and i just intend to get into sispec or ocs la. command school? haha i must be out of my mind. im not that duper fit can.
haha fitness isnt THAT important, although it does help u abit in getting to OCS. most important is the leadership ability especially during the situational test (a.k.a SIT test) during BMT.. and also must display leadership skills during ur BMT also.. must act enthu and helpful etc.. lol.
Originally posted by saintnsinner94:yepp! and i just intend to get into sispec or ocs la. command school? haha i must be out of my mind. im not that duper fit can.
you no need to be super fit, but at least must be able to pass IPPT, anyway you need to show leadership quality 1st. It's ok to set a target, but just be prepared if you don't get in.
lol. act helpful aye! later meet those siao on sg. act helpful become bring more trouble. possible right! i heard of those before!