Originally posted by Desmondho12345:remind me of 2 incident too. The CSM conduct change parade and my bunk is at the most top floor. One of my bunk mates rushed down and fall down from the stairs and fractured his legs. But the whole incident was covered up then. I tot change parade need a medic and safety rover on standby? Another was we kana pumped jialat with FBO. Tink got at least 100. One of my platoon mates pumped until fractured arms and his chin also hit the ground. Was given dunno hw many stitches on his chin too. Last time ppl scare so nv say out but now cannot covered up liao..!!
wah kena pump until fractured arms? first time i hear of this.. haha.
Like any armed forces in the world, soldiers are destined to die in the SAF every year. This time it's the turn of LCP Eugin. Zero deaths are a utopian mentality. This begs the question, raise my son for what? So that he can serve NS and die? Surely that's what his parents will think.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Like any armed forces in the world, soldiers are destined to die in the SAF every year. This time it's the turn of LCP Eugin. Zero deaths are a utopian mentality. This begs the question, raise my son for what? So that he can serve NS and die? Surely that's what his parents will think.
Many of these vehicle accidents can siam one
Just like how come hardly SBS buses collide when they reverse at bus interchange. I can add on SBS was runned by MINDEF & SAF command staff back in its inception days.
u have filter out human errors
Originally posted by sbst275:if you ever get wind of SAF polices on driving, you would realise it's way beyond common sense.
Like wat I mentioned abt SWD. Just over SWD beep and subsequent braking, create accident and massive jam on expressway. Who to blame? SAF. Why? How come vehicle no engine brake, no situational awareness (poor training), so harsh on SWD still.
Outside we just let go of accelerator... Even TP dun book at 61kph.. They give u like +10kph tolerance.
Implementing policies is something those scholars are willing to do it themselves (the instruction itself).
What nonsense, if its a military vehicle and the sticker sticks 50km/h then it will travel consistently at 50km/h, so will the vehicle behind it. Even if the vehicle brake due to SWD/Transponder beeping it will still be around 50km/h. No reason why the vehicle behind will ram into it.
If u are behind the vehicle and end up ramming into it, its YOUR own fault for tailgating and not paying attention. No one driving any vehicle be it MID or not will brake till a standstill unless due to breakdown on the e-way.
The punishment guidelines for a count of SWD jump is only 1x extra or a confinement, how is that harsh? And most of the time it is justifiable and waived unless u go more than a count.
RIP to the poor soldier.
Originally posted by sbst275:
Many of these vehicle accidents can siam oneJust like how come hardly SBS buses collide when they reverse at bus interchange. I can add on SBS was runned by MINDEF & SAF command staff back in its inception days.
Thats because u have something LOUD to warn the other driver reversing. Like a horn.
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:What nonsense, if its a military vehicle and the sticker sticks 50km/h then it will travel consistently at 50km/h, so will the vehicle behind it. Even if the vehicle brake due to SWD/Transponder beeping it will still be around 50km/h. No reason why the vehicle behind will ram into it.
If u are behind the vehicle and end up ramming into it, its YOUR own fault for tailgating and not paying attention. No one driving any vehicle be it MID or not will brake till a standstill unless due to breakdown on the e-way.
The punishment guidelines for a count of SWD jump is only 1x extra or a confinement, how is that harsh? And most of the time it is justifiable and waived unless u go more than a count.
RIP to the poor soldier.
wa lah.. army so cock up n bakward arh..........
now truck can travel 60 mph, army still 50 mph zzzzzZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzz oridi behind the wheel.
SAF cares only about protecting the nation, what welfare does it have??
maybe people will be happy if all the saf drivers go to db evry single time the swd jump. Like evryone really want to go db we are humans to im sure nobody want to waste their life following regimental rules and get charge evry sgl time mistake were made. Maybe one day when you guys get married and conceived a son and in time to come he will go to army and then you know what nsf are really going through waking up evryday counting to you ard date thats all we do evry sgl day. And yes thanks fr bringing up the tailgating matter is was great to know someone do really understand.Welfare wise i guess its true but i cant really say its totally true maybe partly but i do really think public should really know whats happening in SAF .
i think alot of u misunderstand the why SAF truck still travel at 50km/h.. given by the duration, as per compared to civilian driving lesson and test, and further more the young and inexperience NSF drivers, they have to drive such a big truck, tonner etc. and therefore the safety limit of 50km/h is there, not to hog the road but to ensure that the vehicle is always under control by the driver. like what the other guys said, unless u tailgating, if not u wont hit the back of the military vehicle..
can u imagine a big truck travelling at 70-80km/h?? i have seen those commercial truck travelling at way beyond that speed in the morning, and it is weaving in and out of the traffic.. super dangerous..
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:What nonsense, if its a military vehicle and the sticker sticks 50km/h then it will travel consistently at 50km/h, so will the vehicle behind it. Even if the vehicle brake due to SWD/Transponder beeping it will still be around 50km/h. No reason why the vehicle behind will ram into it.
RIP to the poor soldier.
Obviously you are not a driver. Vehicles will speed up when going down slopes, it happens even if you have perfect knowledge of the roads.
How can such a punishment be reasonable for something so normal? I fully encourage all drivers to siam this punishment. Jam the brakes, since as you say it's the fault of the driver behind.
outsource truck drivers
Originally posted by alize:Obviously you are not a driver. Vehicles will speed up when going down slopes, it happens even if you have perfect knowledge of the roads.
How can such a punishment be reasonable for something so normal? I fully encourage all drivers to siam this punishment. Jam the brakes, since as you say it's the fault of the driver behind.
MINDEF dun care, tat's why I said those scholars in SAF makes policies tat they themselves would not be made to be subjected to. It's just to cover their ownself.
but seriously depending on e slope, a good car would have e max +2 kph in speed varience. Notably Braddell Rd underpass will see a significant speed increase.
RIP to the poor soldier.
wat abt having e SWD triggered? wun natural reaction being to brake?
Seriously which cv vehicle would brake for no reason i.e. nothing in front? These days they would investigate the factor of fault as well.
Hence it does not mean you knock ppl from e rear means you're wrong. There's cameras at some locations (if lucky) to trace what happened.
Another thing
Esp if cars are exiting... They could be travelling at 70 - 80kph, filter left.. They would have to brake in order to avoid knocking those MID vehicles...
But if cars behind does not notice, collision does occur.
Tat's why being slow does not mean being safe to others either
Created an account just to tell you guys that the dude was crushed by a truck. Brake was released and the truck rolled back crushing him against the wall. My friend told me that he was still talking to his friend when he got crushed :O there wasn't any on site medic till 20 mins later?
Originally posted by alize:Obviously you are not a driver. Vehicles will speed up when going down slopes, it happens even if you have perfect knowledge of the roads.
Friend, yes, vehicle will speed up slightly when going down slopes, but the swd/transponder is there to alert you that your vehicle is speeding up and obviously the need to slow down. How is such a punishment not be reasonable?
Have you driven a military vehicle with swd/transponder? You have 9 beeps to slow down after hearing the first beep, each of them with a interval of about a second. The SWD count is only given when you exceed 10 beeps. Even if u are daydreaming and only hear the beep after the 5th beep, you have ample time to slow down and even come to a complete halt within that 5 sec. How is that not reasonable? Most incidents where someone gets a count that i know of is due to the driver trying to push the limit (i.e. let it beep 7 to 8 times before braking)
Originally posted by sbst275:
wat abt having e SWD triggered? wun natural reaction being to brake?Seriously which cv vehicle would brake for no reason i.e. nothing in front? These days they would investigate the factor of fault as well.
Hence it does not mean you knock ppl from e rear means you're wrong. There's cameras at some locations (if lucky) to trace what happened.
If its on a straight and level road, and driving smoothly, you just need to let go of the pedal and it will drop to 50.
Yes, i do agree that no one will brake for no reason. But the point is not to tailgate, you'll never know what road conditons are ahead. And for alize who suggests to Jam brakes to slow down, you can do that, no one will stop you, but do note that the actions are being closely monitored.
Originally posted by FBFIce:outsource truck drivers
So the outsourced truck drivers will defend the nation in times of need? Or before that even happens, will the outsourced truck drivers be willing to go ATEC with you?
R.I.P...
In any case, CV speed limit tolerance is usually +10 because of slope and overtaking.
or else more accidents would occur.
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:Friend, yes, vehicle will speed up slightly when going down slopes, but the swd/transponder is there to alert you that your vehicle is speeding up and obviously the need to slow down. How is such a punishment not be reasonable?
Have you driven a military vehicle with swd/transponder? You have 9 beeps to slow down after hearing the first beep, each of them with a interval of about a second. The SWD count is only given when you exceed 10 beeps. Even if u are daydreaming and only hear the beep after the 5th beep, you have ample time to slow down and even come to a complete halt within that 5 sec. How is that not reasonable? Most incidents where someone gets a count that i know of is due to the driver trying to push the limit (i.e. let it beep 7 to 8 times before braking)
Ok sure. If you drive a car, try slowing 10kph in 5 seconds. It seems gentle but the driver behind still needs reaction time. If he bang you, he must be a daydreaming cock but chance of an accident still increases. If he is going down slope, higher chance too.
But that's the way SAF wants it, we should jam brake. Even if we are willing to take the punishment, we should try to follow the law as much as possible.
Experience: I have been v-com countless times.
Originally posted by alize:
Ok sure. If you drive a car, try slowing 10kph in 5 seconds. It seems gentle but the driver behind still needs reaction time. If he bang you, he must be a daydreaming cock but chance of an accident still increases. If he is going down slope, higher chance too.
But that's the way SAF wants it, we should jam brake. Even if we are willing to take the punishment, we should try to follow the law as much as possible.
Experience: I have been v-com countless times.
Lets do some math here, slowing 10kph in 5 secs.
At 60km/h you would travel 83.3 meters in 5 secs.
60km/60mins = 1km/min
While at 50km/h you would travel 69.4 meters in 5 sec.
50km/60mins = 0.833km/min
The gap between vehicles would have to be Less than 14meters in order for the rear vehicle to hit your rear if he did not react at all.
Seems pretty likely for an accident? But wait, thats not all.
Dont forget that you need time to Acclerate to 60kph. You already spent 5 secs slowing down, so that means you only have 4 secs to acclerate.
4 secs is quite alot of time to acclerate, but what about the rear vehicle? Unless you are tailgating (which means you are already paying attention to the front vehicle), otherwise you would simply have not reacted within in that 4 secs to even catch up with the MID vehicle infront to 60kph.
Basically, what im trying to say is that a momentarily increase of speed from 50kph followed by a momentarily decrease of speed to 50kph within 9 seconds would not be enough to create rear-end collision because the driver behind would have have seen your brake lights faster than he can catch up.
Thats the way saf wants it? Follow Law? Good soldier, saf has taught you well!
You have correctly proven, and I already said, that the driver cannot be paying attention in order to bang it.
I'm saying it still makes accidents more likely when civilians speed up behind the MID vehicle. They don't expect them to brake later because its not normal civilian behavior. They don't know about the whole SWD thing.
Originally posted by alize:You have correctly proven, and I already said, that the driver cannot be paying attention in order to bang it.
I'm saying it still makes accidents more likely when civilians speed up behind the MID vehicle. They don't expect them to brake later because its not normal civilian behavior. They don't know about the whole SWD thing.
Well, to be honest with you, its true that this is a problem limited to vehicles with transponders. The old SWD used to beep faster the faster you go, but the transponders beep constantly at a beep per sec.
This tends to end up with drivers who arnt bothered with the speed until few beeps later, where as the old SWD you wouldnt want to go faster, because it will beep even faster.
And as sbst275 mentioned, the newer OUVs lack some "rolling resistance" especially when going down a grade.
This tends to end up making drivers stepping on the brakes only at the last moment which creates a "jamming the brakes effect" you mentioned.