you need time to train occifers and section commanders and 1 yr is enough?
NS conscripts dun need to be officers or sect comds. Conscript army just need the critacal manpower enough. Leave the officer and sect comd positions to the career soldiers, regulars who wanna sign on as a career, for the money.
As an exception, conscripts may volunteer extension for an extra half year i.e. 1.5 yrs NS, if they wanna be officer or sect comd.
Perfect arrangement. Win-win situation for everyone.
Politicians, please take this topic for evaluation & debate in parliament asap b4 elections. Take it seriously & implememt asap please!
Cheers & Merdeka!
Initial military service in NATO and some other countries (months)
Austria 1)> |
army - 7 mths |
No Navy |
Air Force - 7 mths |
Belgium |
Voluntary |
||
Bulgaria |
Voluntary, |
||
Canada |
Voluntary |
||
China 2)> |
army - 48 mths |
Navy - 48 mths |
Air Force - 48 mths |
Czech Republic |
Voluntary, |
||
Denmark 3)> |
army - 4-12 mths |
Navy - 4-12 mths |
Air Force - 4-12 mths |
Finland |
army - 6-12 mths |
Navy - 6-12 mths |
Air Force - 6-12 mths |
France |
Voluntary, |
||
Germany |
army - 6 [9 prior to |
Navy - 6 [9 prior to |
Air Force - 6 [9 prior to |
Greece |
army - up to 18 mths |
Navy - up to 21 mths |
Air Force - up to 21 mths |
Hungary |
Voluntary since 2004 in peacetime |
||
Israel |
army - 36 mths men |
Navy - 36 mths men |
Air Force - 36 mths men |
Italy |
Voluntary, |
||
Iceland |
Has no military forces |
||
India |
Voluntary |
||
Luxembourg |
Voluntary |
||
Netherlands |
Voluntary |
||
Norway 4)> |
army - 6-12 mths |
Navy - 6-12 mths |
Air Force - 12 mths |
Poland |
army - 9 mths |
Navy - 9 mths |
Air Force - 9 mths |
Portugal |
Voluntary |
||
Rumania |
Voluntary |
||
Russia |
army - 18-24 mths |
Navy - 18-24 mths |
Air Force - 18-24 mths |
Slovakia |
Voluntary |
||
Spain |
Voluntary |
||
Sweden |
Voluntary |
||
Switzerland 1)> |
army - 15 weeks compulsory recruit school |
Navy - has no Navy |
Air Force - ? |
Turkey |
army - 18 mths |
Navy - 18 mths |
Air Force - 18 mths |
UK |
Voluntary |
||
USA |
Voluntary |
1)>In these countries the short period of national service is followed by compulsory refresher training at frequent intervals.
2)>Selective conscription.
3)>Up to 24 months service in certain ranks.
4)>Service in the Coastal Artillery is 12 and 6
months. Those assigned to military service in the Home Guard may get 6
months initial service in the Army. Chaplains, doctors, psychologists
and dentists have 12 months of service.
Many countries have refresher training in addition to the national
service, particularly in the Army. Moreover, in some countries the
period of service is differentiated, so that certain specialists have a
longer period of national service than other conscripts. In several
countries, including Sweden and Denmark, persons most suitable are
chosen to be officers, and thus do a much longer period of service than
others.
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/world/conscription.htm
It has become so bad that.....even if you reduce NS duration, people will still vote opposition. Otherwise you face issues like higher ministerial salaries, GST, prices etc.
Originally posted by Itedino:i hope it extend to 3 years like israel. :> we need more active cheap troops next time can take over the regular police job also. ask them to walk here and there at the MRT. Be proud of Army man.
Are u out of your mind! 2 years of wasting my youth is already enough!
By the time I ORD,
Most of my female friends were already in their final year of uni or completed their study!
Originally posted by shinkansen:
Are u out of your mind! 2 years of wasting my youth is already enough!By the time I ORD,
Most of my female friends were already in their final year of uni or completed their study!
ya lor ya lor. Hope Itedino gets banned..
If cut down NS would help win votes, I think it would be the reduction of reservist. Most of the voters already finish NS (22-40 years old), as compared to those who are (21-22).
Unless you are saying the parents of the recruits... urmmm.... which oso isnt as much as those in the reservist group.
yes, as a NSmen myself, i will vote for any party that reduce reservist liability...it's a spanner thrown in to the cogs of NSmen's life, be it working or doing further studies beyond mainstream.
So gahmen, pls consider.
Huh.....?
reduce NS period can get your vote liao?
So easy......?
Cheap leh........
Originally posted by Ä«Õß:¸ïÀë:Huh.....?
reduce NS period can get your vote liao?
So easy......?
Cheap leh........
Why not. I will vote any opposition party if they can really do their job! Reduce the numbers of ICT.
Reduce ICT, my frenz always go back.
He's in armour unit.
Very active unit.
I think gove / mindef will shut their ear off.
2 yr for them is good. Dont change, continue to be in 2 yrs for another 50 yrs.
Cut down on NS duration is good.
Originally posted by Taiyaki:Reduce ICT, my frenz always go back.
He's in armour unit.
Very active unit.
I also from armour unit. Reducing the numbers of ICT is out of question but if got less mob call up better. My CO is from Singapore Technologies. He's very on and told us not to siam the ICT. He is very strict for approving of deferment.
This is a strong weapon tools for opposition party to put the message across.
And mindef should allso study ways to reduce the ns serving.
Mindef....dont stay put , sit and sleep on the same spot for many years. You need to wake up and move forward.
ICT maybe make it 1 wk per annum should be good enough; just like the Swiss Army & the US National Guard.
But Fulltime NS definitely must reduce to 1 year with immediate effect!
Politicians please be sensible & hear the cries of citizens!
Merdeka!
Girls like to talk about gender equality.
So Girls should be conscripted too !!!
Why not. I will vote any opposition party if they can really do their job! Reduce the numbers of ICT.
wah lao...... isn't reservist years reduce from 13 years to 10 years liao....?
Every year call better, faster finish the darn thing and sua liao...... i completed my reservist and i only mid 30s....... though i miss ICT....
Originally posted by Culture counter:ICT maybe make it 1 wk per annum should be good enough; just like the Swiss Army & the US National Guard.
But Fulltime NS definitely must reduce to 1 year with immediate effect!
Politicians please be sensible & hear the cries of citizens!
Merdeka!
If NS reduce to 1 year, wat about those ppl who served 2 years?
Fair meh.....?
Can't please both parties leh.......
For a nation to progress & move forward, you must let go the historical baggage of the past. Onward March towards Progress & Prosperity ?
Dun look back & feel depressed. Think of the Bigger Picture! Think for Others! Be Altruistic!
Originally posted by Ä«Õß:¸ïÀë:If NS reduce to 1 year, wat about those ppl who served 2 years?
Fair meh.....?
Can't please both parties leh.......
if they can change from 2.5 yrs to 2 yrs without a blink why not?
Originally posted by Ä«Õß:¸ïÀë:wah lao...... isn't reservist years reduce from 13 years to 10 years liao....?
Every year call better, faster finish the darn thing and sua liao...... i completed my reservist and i only mid 30s....... though i miss ICT....
it's never about the length of service, it's more about the meaning of this whole NS thing. the purpose of NS is being effectively defeated since PR is like lelong lelong kind and citizenship being given out like toilet papers. Jobs, houses, everything bring taken away from us bit by bit by foreigners..
I also from armour unit. Reducing the numbers of ICT is out of question but if got less mob call up better. My CO is from Singapore Technologies. He's very on and told us not to siam the ICT. He is very strict for approving of deferment.
this one i dun find it surprising though, being a reservist CO doing ICT, his KPI is also counted during reservist time since he's in a GLC, a;beit semi-govt company, but is still a civil servant to me.